We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Pro: gardens around the property. Nice pools, small beach and not the clearest water. Staff friendly. Free shuttle to Chaeng

Con: shuttle driver easily agitated with changes in destination drop off. Charges for front desk to make dinner reservations for you.
Overall positive experience, and would recommend. Remember this is a beach resort, not a plush 5 star resort.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Ladyren

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Paradise Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback such as yours. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am discussing your improvement satisfaction comments with our Chief Engineer, thank you for sharing this with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the hotel.

Ekprasert K (Resort Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    221
    46
    24
    11
See reviews for
179
343
42
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Positive:
We had a renewed suite bungalow that was next to the pool that was of a very good standard.
The morning buffet was extended and the personnel helpful by all means.
the view from the restaurant and pool are definitely a big plus.
The personal was helpful with all the small mishaps.

Negative:
The front desk is a mess and accounting is not much better. They served themselves on our credit card with no authorization. They use the information provided to them by booking! I do not understand this practice.
The pool tiles are a bit dangerous as all our kids (4) got cuts from them.
we also regret they abandoned the herb garden and green awareness efforts put in place before,... We saw some of the remains and they even got an award for it,... a pity they where in an abandoned state.
The driveway up to the hotel dogs not look much and also here some effort could be rewarding.

Conclusion:
good deal money - quality, the kids had great fun around the pool, the view is nice,... the beach is very small and narrow. Not really suitable for a beach holiday.
we enjoyed it but will try out another resort next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a renewed room! we had 2 suite bungalows and a standard room. The standard room was not rene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koenraad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Koenraad P

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Paradise Beach Resort,Samui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 4 nights after 10 days in Thailand. The first impression was good, but soon it turned out to be a nightmare. It's in the middle of nowhere, so you need a scooter or take the scheduled shuttle bus.
The rooms are old and very brown and the beds are hard as rocks.
The worst thing though was the food poisen we got from their breakfast. We were sick and trapped in our room for 2 days like many other guests.
When we finally were to leave the hotel we had to insist that we would not pay for the water and sodas we used from the mini bar while being sick in our beds. There was no "we are sorry, you got sick or anything like that". Luckely none of us got so sick we needed to see a doctor, but we had to drop another guest of at the hospital on our way to chaweng. Don't go there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank libberlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My fiancé and I had a wonderful 2 week stay at Paradise Beach Resort, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I loved the tranquil rainforest setting of the gardens, scattered with banana trees, palms, and gorgeous flowers. There are two pool areas, fish ponds, and it is right on the beach!

Our room was lovely, yes it could do with a little maintenance, but I thought it added to the character and charm of the resort. On entering the room we had a fresh bowl of tropical fruit and orchid flowers scattered around everywhere. The balcony was a lovely place to sit and take in the garden surroundings while listening to nature. The cleaning staff came through everyday and did a very good job.

The buffet style breakfast was lovely; fresh tropical fruit, rice soup (congee), eggs done however you like, bacon, sausages, stir fry veg, croissants, danishes, nuts, cereals and yogurts. What more could one ask for? The lunch and dinner menus were faultless, each dish we tried we loved, and the dishes were also reasonably priced. There were a several nights that we were entertained during dinner with fire twirlers, Thai dancers, Thai traditional musicians, acrobats... And more. I just wish they had better advertising on what is happening at the restaurant every night so no one misses out on anything they'd like to see (or eat, for the Asian buffet night).

We took part in a Thai cookery class at the resorts restaurant and I would strongly recommend it to anyone staying here. There was too much food at the end of it for my fiancé and I to finish, and everything was so delish.

All the staff at the resort are so friendly, and helpful. Some of them don't know much English, but they try very hard to please, and anyway, this is Thailand!

The spa was great we had many visits there for massages, manicures, etc, the ladies that work there are very professional, and we were sad to go and leave them behind.

The resort is 20mins drive from Bo phut and Chaweng, where all the markets and night life happens, but the resort has a free bus to take you to and from these places, so there are no taxis needed. It was good having a quiet, peaceful, tranquil place to stay, away from the hectic main streets and noise.

Thank you to all the staff at Paradise Beach Resort, we will definitely be back again soon!

Room Tip: We were in room 517. It was just upstairs from the spa, very handy after a good massage. Nice tranqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJJettGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

we stayed at the Paradise Beach for 5 nights, the staff were all lovely no complaints there,
breakfast was good,
great looking across the sea having breakfast, the rooms were OK
The bed hard as a ironing board even with the extra mattress, to soften things,
the safe was older style with a key, to lock, what does one do with the key while sleeping?
Nice and peaceful though great food nearby.

Not sure if I would return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramas52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Before choosing this hotel we, as always, looked at the other reviews and therefore were led to believe that this was an awesome hotel.
The initial reception was very nice with friendly staff and a welcome cocktail for all of us. After that we went to the rooms (two deluxe rooms) to find them in average conditions. Average in the sense that they felt very old and hadn't been renewed in a long time. The shower for instance had very little water coming out and the temperature was very difficult to adjust. The hose broke on the second day and the A/C was working on one day and not on the next. The service staff was very friendly and would repair it right away but than it would break again the next day.
The furniture were very old and the pillows way too hard. The cleaning staff would change the big beach towels every day but not the small towels.
There are two swimming pools and one (near the reception) is newer than the other one (near the beach). The beach is small and the water is never clear and the bottom is muddy. This, of course, is not the hotel's fault but its just a clinical description of the overall environment.
The breakfast buffet is varied but you can tell that the equipment they use has seen better days. During the 6 nights that we stayed the breakfast buffet was always the same.
The a-la-carte menu was quite pricey and the portions were a bit small. Being in Thailand you expect the local food to have a nice taste but I have to say that we have better thai food in Hong Kong (were we live).
The wi-fi is free but only for one phone/tablet/pc per room so if you are a couple and each has its own tablet you have to purchase an additional unlimited account from the front desk.

Overall I am sorry to say that the price does not match the value of the place. It could be a real paradise if it was better kept and if they were not trying so hard to make a profit out of everything.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and it was average. The bungalows near the beach looked in better conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidowb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd time in Samui. First time we stayed at The Renaissance at Lamai which is a 5 star experience. That was perfect.
This time .. Since we were taking our kids with us.. (Ages 6 & 9) we didn't want to break the budget... So we chose a 4 star place & chose Paradise at Maenam. I had mixed emotions first .. Having read mixed reviews about this place.. But came here with an open mind :)
With 8 nights here (this being our 7th day) .. This is our experience that I'd share with you ..
Hotel staff are very hospitable , lovely & helpful. Rooms are adequate but don't spend much time there as there are so many things to do.. Like swim in the 2 beautiful pools, or at the quiet & peaceful beach or catch the hotel shuttle bus to nearby Bophut or chewang ..
The overall experience has been lovely. We will come back again next year :)
A pleasant experience overall :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parismikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
5.1 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 185 in Bophut
980 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
768 reviews
4.9 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Property: Paradise Beach Resort
Address: 18/8 | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low rise, Thai style, landscaped garden, unspoiled beach, warm clear waters of the South China Sea; 12 km from Phangah Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Paradise Beach Koh Samui
Paradise Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing