We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay in 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our stay in 2012”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was perfect, it was the quiet time, so maybe different when packed,but still the food was fab, even though we only had breakfast, and a couple of meals, as we ate at the beach resturant along the beach 5 mins walk away, the staff were polite and very helpfull,the rooms clean and big, the gardens lush, fee bus to the towns which was nice, will stay there again when we go back to go koh Samui!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Kitwit

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are felicitous to see, that we could made you a perfect holiday experience at Paradise.

We are glad to here that you wish to visit us again once you will come back to Samui and we are looking forward to welcome you at Paradise again.

The Paradise Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    214
    45
    23
    11
See reviews for
171
327
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Paradise Beach is a lovely resort for the more mature traveller - quite a distance from Chaweng 'strip' so no nightclubs or parties here - just peace & quiet & the perfect place to relax - which was exactly what we wanted!
Nicely landscaped gardens, you're right on the Gulf of Thailand (though not much sandy beach), there are two pools & friendly staff. Restaurant makes great buffet breakfasts but we preferred to eat dinner at local Thai places - cheaper & more authentic. There's a free shuttle to 'town', night markets etc.
Rooms/bungalows with seaviews are great but the majority of rooms don't have views of the sea - request one in advance! We had a great stay & would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a calming, tropical place to unwind.
Tip to snorkelers: don't bother bringing your snorkeling gear to Koh Samui - the snorkeling is VERY average indeed. But maybe the diving is better???

Room Tip: Book a room with a seaview well in advance - they are very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Jan B

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor

We are grateful, for all the nice compliments on your comment and we are glad to here that you could take advantage from our quiet location.

We hope you visit us again soon on Koh Samui.

The Paradise Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is located away from main villages and resorts, but they are within easy reach and the hotel has a free shuttle bus (that must be booked in advance) to the main resort of Chaweng. The hotel is located on the waters edge, the beach is a narrow strip of sand. The sea is warm and inviting and was calm whilst we were on holiday. There are also two swimming pools. The staff are always smiling, helpful and friendly. The bar overlooks the sea and is a pleasant place to relax. The restaurant has Thai and western options and overlooks the sea, the breakfast buffet caters for most tastes. There is 'gentle' entertainment every evening - musicians, dancers - usually at the time of the evening meal. The guests we met included Germans, Swiss, Australians, Brits and Russians, all very friendly. The rooms are located within a tropical 'woodland' of palm trees and shrubs. Seek out the pond with the fish and the turtle. This is an ideal place to be lazy.
Jenny and Tom, Taunton, England

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Tom
Dear jenny

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor

It is nice to see, that we could make your stay with us to your expectation.

Thank for choosing the Paradise Beach Resort as your Holiday Location.

The Paradise Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the airport to the hotel is about a 15/20 minute drive, from the high street the hotel connecting road is a ribbon of concrete twisting and turning for about 3/4 mile terminating at the hotel reception. The reception is in a single story open plan, open air structure.
Room allocation is swiftly dealt with by the manager and his staff over a welcoming non alcoholic drink. Following registration we were accompanied to our rooms through the tropical gardens.
Accommodation comprises deluxe bungalows and rooms set in two stories. We were allocated rooms on the upper level facing the tropical gardens and the garden pool.
The room was large enough for a King and Queen size bed, there was ample storage space with a large wardrobe half a dozen draws each. The TV rested on the dressing table above the tea making facilities. The bathroom was more than adequate for our needs with a basin, w/c and a two person shower ,culminating with a shaver point and hair drier.
The balcony had two chairs and a small table, there was also a clothes/washing line.
A short walk through the gardens brings you to the second pool, bar, restaurant and beach frontage. However, there wasn't much beach when we arrived, but, as the day went on the beach grew as can be seen from the photos.
The bar catered for almost every kind of drink imaginable with over thirty named cocktails available as well as local spirits and beers.
Food in the restaurant was of a consistently high standard with innumerable choices at all meals. The staff were remarkable nothing was too much trouble, in fact they would literally bend over backwards to ensure that your every need was met.
For the fitness fanatic the facilities were adequate, a very small outdoor gym, a permanent table tennis area.
A PADI dive school is also located on the premise, for those who like to stay above the water there is the opportunity to sail or canoe, this equipment is located at the far end of the beach front close to the restaurant.
Overall the initial disappointment of this tired looking property was soon overcome, the service staff are exceptional, the setting is tranquil during the day and idyllic at night.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are brighter and give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grafix65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear grafix65

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor

We apprichiate that you have spent so much time for such a detailed comment about your experiannce at Paradise not missing any point of the Resort.
We do understand and are aware about you comment regarding the tired looking Resort as a first impressioon and are happy that you could oversee this during your holiday due to the exellent work of our staff.
Investment plans are under consideration and we all all look forward to realize them soon.

Thank you for all your compliments.

The Paradise Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel, we last visited it in 2008. We stayed there for four nights on a Saga Island Tour. We were welcomed back with the same room we had stayed in previously and a welcome back letter in our room which was lovely and typical of the Thai hospitality at this hotel. The staff are always smiling and very helpful. The hotel is very clean and the food is great. It is situated on a lovely beach, unfortunately at high tide you cannot walk on the beach as the sea comes up to the hotel. At low tide you can walk quite a way around the bay. The hotel has a line of sun beds outside the restaurant which is about six feet above the beach with access to the sea down a short flight of stone steps. On our last visit there were sun beds on the beach as the tides were not as high. In the beautiful tropical gardens there are two very pretty pools, one warm, one cold with comfortable sun beds. The warm pool is very quiet and is surrounded by lovely flowers and trees it also has a jacuzzi . There is a bar facing the sea which is lovely for an evening cocktail. The restaurant is open at two sides so that you can enjoy the wonderful view. There is a free shuttle bus to Fishermans Village, Tesco and Cheweng. The hotel also has some evening entertainment, there was a fire eating show whilst we were there which was very good. I would recommend this hotel to couples who would like a relaxing holiday in a lovely setting with comfort and good food.

Room Tip: Our room was 718 with a lovely pool view. There are only two levels ask for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle504201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Michelle504201

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor

We are delighted that you visited us again on Koh Samui and we are pleased to hear, that we could made you another lovely holiday at Paradise.

We hope to see you soon again.

The Paradise Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The approach drive off the main circular road around the island is not impressive, but do not be put off by that. The hotel reception, overall layout of the hotel and grounds is very tropical and relaxing and we met people who had holidayed there from the UK for many years. We had travelled from the UK and met up with our son and daughter-in-law plus 2 young granddaughters. The staff were magnificent and regularly entertained the 2 youngsters, allowing their parents and us to eat in peace. Breakfasts were excellent in the open air dining room with a magnificent view on to the Gulf of Thailand and the island of Ko Phangan. The cocktail bar was good, evening meals varied and local entertainment different each evening. The hotel strives to be environmentally good and the layout of the 2 swimming pools and grounds reflects that with interesting birds and butterflies if one is prepared to look for them. We also took advantage of the free hotel taxi into nearby Fishermans Wharf, the on-site good value massage and tailor. My wife and I also had a very enjoyable Thai cookery lesson with the very friendly hotel kitchen staff. As stated in other reviews the bathrooms are in need of updating but are perfectly adequate. Overall a very relaxing and good value family holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms and cabins are around the 2 pools. No particular recommendations here from us. We choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barkers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Barkers70

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We estimate that you have choosen our resort for your holidays and we are pleased to hear that you could enjoy your family vacation on Koh Samui.

Thank you as well for your comment about the bathrooms, we are considering redevelopment of our rooms/facilities.

The Paradise Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

When we arrived at Paradise Beach Resort, we were a little taken back by how dated it was. The rooms were quite old, the bathroom was small and the furniture definitely old, the safe had a key which is inconvenient (we had to hide it in the room for fear of losing it if we took it with us) and the bed was super hard (which we also found out was common amongst the rest of the resorts in the area from friends that were travelling too). We had a garden room on the lower level.
The beach is hardly there, especially during high tide but we heard the area has been having uncharacteristically high tides lately (our friends were getting married on the beach a few resorts up so we had to keep an eye on it)! We found photos from a while back and there certainly should be one during low tide. My partner swam but I didn't, it was clean though and did look inviting.
A special mention to the breakfast staff - they were always willing to help us and were really quite kind. My partner had a masage at the spa and I had a mani & pedi - again, staff were lovely there too. There is a courtesy bus that takes you directly to Chaweng (check with staff for times), we found this service prompt and very useful - getting taxis in the area proved to be difficult as they often ripped you off (no meter - had to negotiate fare and then the driver changed the fare when you arrive at your destination) so yes, I recommend the bus. Even the resort staff tell you to be wary of the taxis.
The resort is a fair way off the main street, perhaps a 10 minute walk and there isn't much in the way of shopping. If you want shopping, you may need to head to the Fishermans Village markets.
The fitness area is just that, an area with a rusted bike, treadmill and a bench from memory. As per Thai custom, you are required to take off your shoes in there which I thought would be quite hard when exercising. A swim would probably be the best form of exercise here or walk everywhere like we did.
We didn't use the pools either (we went to our friends villa most of the time) but they looked rather clean. Plenty of sunbeds (also quite old) and room to move.
There is also a pond near the tailor, and in the pond is a gorgeous pet turtle. As soon as you walk over, he/she spots you and swims over straight away! Possibly a highlight of our stay here and we always went out of the resort that way to say hi!
If you are looking for a clean, safe place to stay, this is it. It's not fancy but it's nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Kat H

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you mention the good as well as the things you did not like in a very fair way. Greatly apprichiated!

Management is aware about these points you mention and we are going to make some changes soon.

The Paradise Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
10.2 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
4.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
3.1 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
4.9 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Property: Paradise Beach Resort
Address: 18/8 | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low rise, Thai style, landscaped garden, unspoiled beach, warm clear waters of the South China Sea; 12 km from Phangah Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Paradise Beach Koh Samui
Paradise Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing