We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gentle relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the airport to the hotel is about a 15/20 minute drive, from the high street the hotel connecting road is a ribbon of concrete twisting and turning for about 3/4 mile terminating at the hotel reception. The reception is in a single story open plan, open air structure.
Room allocation is swiftly dealt with by the manager and his staff over a welcoming non alcoholic drink. Following registration we were accompanied to our rooms through the tropical gardens.
Accommodation comprises deluxe bungalows and rooms set in two stories. We were allocated rooms on the upper level facing the tropical gardens and the garden pool.
The room was large enough for a King and Queen size bed, there was ample storage space with a large wardrobe half a dozen draws each. The TV rested on the dressing table above the tea making facilities. The bathroom was more than adequate for our needs with a basin, w/c and a two person shower ,culminating with a shaver point and hair drier.
The balcony had two chairs and a small table, there was also a clothes/washing line.
A short walk through the gardens brings you to the second pool, bar, restaurant and beach frontage. However, there wasn't much beach when we arrived, but, as the day went on the beach grew as can be seen from the photos.
The bar catered for almost every kind of drink imaginable with over thirty named cocktails available as well as local spirits and beers.
Food in the restaurant was of a consistently high standard with innumerable choices at all meals. The staff were remarkable nothing was too much trouble, in fact they would literally bend over backwards to ensure that your every need was met.
For the fitness fanatic the facilities were adequate, a very small outdoor gym, a permanent table tennis area.
A PADI dive school is also located on the premise, for those who like to stay above the water there is the opportunity to sail or canoe, this equipment is located at the far end of the beach front close to the restaurant.
Overall the initial disappointment of this tired looking property was soon overcome, the service staff are exceptional, the setting is tranquil during the day and idyllic at night.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are brighter and give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grafix65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear grafix65

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor

We apprichiate that you have spent so much time for such a detailed comment about your experiannce at Paradise not missing any point of the Resort.
We do understand and are aware about you comment regarding the tired looking Resort as a first impressioon and are happy that you could oversee this during your holiday due to the exellent work of our staff.
Investment plans are under consideration and we all all look forward to realize them soon.

Thank you for all your compliments.

The Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 742 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel, we last visited it in 2008. We stayed there for four nights on a Saga Island Tour. We were welcomed back with the same room we had stayed in previously and a welcome back letter in our room which was lovely and typical of the Thai hospitality at this hotel. The staff are always smiling and very helpful. The hotel is very clean and the food is great. It is situated on a lovely beach, unfortunately at high tide you cannot walk on the beach as the sea comes up to the hotel. At low tide you can walk quite a way around the bay. The hotel has a line of sun beds outside the restaurant which is about six feet above the beach with access to the sea down a short flight of stone steps. On our last visit there were sun beds on the beach as the tides were not as high. In the beautiful tropical gardens there are two very pretty pools, one warm, one cold with comfortable sun beds. The warm pool is very quiet and is surrounded by lovely flowers and trees it also has a jacuzzi . There is a bar facing the sea which is lovely for an evening cocktail. The restaurant is open at two sides so that you can enjoy the wonderful view. There is a free shuttle bus to Fishermans Village, Tesco and Cheweng. The hotel also has some evening entertainment, there was a fire eating show whilst we were there which was very good. I would recommend this hotel to couples who would like a relaxing holiday in a lovely setting with comfort and good food.

Room Tip: Our room was 718 with a lovely pool view. There are only two levels ask for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle504201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Michelle504201

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor

We are delighted that you visited us again on Koh Samui and we are pleased to hear, that we could made you another lovely holiday at Paradise.

We hope to see you soon again.

The Paradise Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The approach drive off the main circular road around the island is not impressive, but do not be put off by that. The hotel reception, overall layout of the hotel and grounds is very tropical and relaxing and we met people who had holidayed there from the UK for many years. We had travelled from the UK and met up with our son and daughter-in-law plus 2 young granddaughters. The staff were magnificent and regularly entertained the 2 youngsters, allowing their parents and us to eat in peace. Breakfasts were excellent in the open air dining room with a magnificent view on to the Gulf of Thailand and the island of Ko Phangan. The cocktail bar was good, evening meals varied and local entertainment different each evening. The hotel strives to be environmentally good and the layout of the 2 swimming pools and grounds reflects that with interesting birds and butterflies if one is prepared to look for them. We also took advantage of the free hotel taxi into nearby Fishermans Wharf, the on-site good value massage and tailor. My wife and I also had a very enjoyable Thai cookery lesson with the very friendly hotel kitchen staff. As stated in other reviews the bathrooms are in need of updating but are perfectly adequate. Overall a very relaxing and good value family holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms and cabins are around the 2 pools. No particular recommendations here from us. We choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barkers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Barkers70

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We estimate that you have choosen our resort for your holidays and we are pleased to hear that you could enjoy your family vacation on Koh Samui.

Thank you as well for your comment about the bathrooms, we are considering redevelopment of our rooms/facilities.

The Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

When we arrived at Paradise Beach Resort, we were a little taken back by how dated it was. The rooms were quite old, the bathroom was small and the furniture definitely old, the safe had a key which is inconvenient (we had to hide it in the room for fear of losing it if we took it with us) and the bed was super hard (which we also found out was common amongst the rest of the resorts in the area from friends that were travelling too). We had a garden room on the lower level.
The beach is hardly there, especially during high tide but we heard the area has been having uncharacteristically high tides lately (our friends were getting married on the beach a few resorts up so we had to keep an eye on it)! We found photos from a while back and there certainly should be one during low tide. My partner swam but I didn't, it was clean though and did look inviting.
A special mention to the breakfast staff - they were always willing to help us and were really quite kind. My partner had a masage at the spa and I had a mani & pedi - again, staff were lovely there too. There is a courtesy bus that takes you directly to Chaweng (check with staff for times), we found this service prompt and very useful - getting taxis in the area proved to be difficult as they often ripped you off (no meter - had to negotiate fare and then the driver changed the fare when you arrive at your destination) so yes, I recommend the bus. Even the resort staff tell you to be wary of the taxis.
The resort is a fair way off the main street, perhaps a 10 minute walk and there isn't much in the way of shopping. If you want shopping, you may need to head to the Fishermans Village markets.
The fitness area is just that, an area with a rusted bike, treadmill and a bench from memory. As per Thai custom, you are required to take off your shoes in there which I thought would be quite hard when exercising. A swim would probably be the best form of exercise here or walk everywhere like we did.
We didn't use the pools either (we went to our friends villa most of the time) but they looked rather clean. Plenty of sunbeds (also quite old) and room to move.
There is also a pond near the tailor, and in the pond is a gorgeous pet turtle. As soon as you walk over, he/she spots you and swims over straight away! Possibly a highlight of our stay here and we always went out of the resort that way to say hi!
If you are looking for a clean, safe place to stay, this is it. It's not fancy but it's nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Kat H

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you mention the good as well as the things you did not like in a very fair way. Greatly apprichiated!

Management is aware about these points you mention and we are going to make some changes soon.

The Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 8 nights over the Christmas period. We were greeted very warmly and were given an overview of the hotel before being shown to our room. First impressions of the hotel did not meet what I had expected and wasn't bowled over by the room. As said previously, the furniture is dated and the bathroom (no bath - just a shower) could have done with some renovation (the tiles had been painted over which was peeling in places) but it had been presented with some care and attention with pretty orchids placed around. I especially liked the complimentary in-room safe as it needed both a key as well as your code and it felt very secure. The buildings are only on 2 levels and our room was on the upper level so we had a nice balcony and outlook over the beautiful tropical gardens. The rooms on the ground floor looked as though they could be very dark due to the bushes and trees so I would recommend you ask for one on the upper level if you can manage the steps. The room we had was a good size and had a double and a queen size bed but did not feel cramped. I would have liked to have had more storage space for clothes as I always seem to take so much on holiday. The hotel provided 2 complimentary bottles of water each day in your room but there was more in the mini bar should you wish to pay for it.
The hotel grounds are very much like a tropical forest with lots of insects and wildlife. All through the grounds we saw lots of birds, butterflies, frogs, giant centipedes etc. In fact you had to be careful where you stepped on the paths at night due to the giant centipedes.
As said in previous reviews, the beach was a disappointment but wasn't sure if this was because there always seemed to be a high tide. We didn't actually venture into the sea which is unusual for us - it did look clean though. There are a few sunbeds that overlook the beach/sea and are nicely placed to also take advantage of the pool/beach bar and restaurant.
We had paid for all inclusive and I think that it was probably a good move as a few people we spoke to said it was quite expensive. The all inclusive did have a good choice of drinks and cocktails at the bar and were always served very quickly. Lunch was the best meal as you were allowed to order from an extensive menu and it was cooked fresh to order. The evening meal on all inclusive only allowed us to eat from the buffet which was varied each evening and some meals were better than others. I would have liked to have been able to order from the menu at the evening meal rather than at lunch. I must comment that the chef and kitchen staff did a brilliant job and we had some very tasty and enjoyable meals.
Now onto the staff - the hotel have the best staff I have encountered. They made you feel so welcome and could not do enough for you. This includes the staff throughout the hotel and especially the restaurant staff. Some of the staff spoke better English than others but we were always able to make ourselves understoood. We were even approached by the restaurant manager who asked us for feedback and whether they could make any improvements. They are so eager to please and it made for a great holiday experience. We were also approached many times by the management who asked if everything was okay as well as stopping just to chat. Full marks!
I also needed to attend the local hospital due to an infected mosquito bite. I had to attend the hospital on a total of 4 mornings and the hotel provided the transport free of charge on each occasion (where else would you find this type of service?).
We did have some problems with no hot water in our room and at first thought that it was a case that it had run out. Maintenance was sent to sort it out when we reported it and ended up with no water at all!!! This was quickly sorted out once we made the receptionist aware.
We used the hotel tour desk who arranged for a private car and driver for 4 1/2 hours to show us around the island. It cost around the equivalent of £40.00 which was excellent value and we had a really good time. The driver spoke excellent English and took us to all the usual places of interest.
One must do whilst there is to visit Fisherman's Village on their market night (I think this was Fridays). The hotel provide free transport which is bookable in advance.
This hotel was not what we are normally used to (we normally go to larger hotels with choices of restaurants, bars etc) but it really was a lovely hotel that was made even better by all the friendly staff. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamNHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HENRYWIDLER, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear JamNHoney

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays at Paradise Beach Resort in Koh Samui. Thank you very much for you comment regarding our staff. We will pass this on...

Unfortunately, the beach is a little smaller at this time of year, due to the monsoon season (October –December).
We are aware of the problem regading the bathrooms in our upper floor rooms and consider a renovation of all rooms in our main buildings at this time.

Thank you for choosing the Paradise Beach Resort for your holidays and welcome you any time again on our Resort.


The Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We returned to Paradise Beach Resort for the umpteenth time this Christmas and find it as welcoming as ever. The staff are ever-attentive, the rooms are clean, the food is great, the pools are womderful, the beach is, literally, yards away from the property . . . I can't recommend it enough, for family, or, like us, groups of friends. It's quietly located on the beach away from the Chaweng busy-ness but a free shuttle bus gets you to the noise within 15 minutes if you so desire.
The staff and management are always ready to go the extra mile to make sure you get where you need to go, ever-ready to help with phone calls, reservations, or even lay on a car for you. I had to go to a hospital at one point and a personal driver was assigned to ge me there and back.I heard also, that other guests had a serious accident on a boat trip and there were daily trips to the hospital throughout their stay - all courtesy of the hotel.... again, I can't emphasise how good the service is!
Do not hesitate to choose Paradise Beach Resort as your destination!

Room Tip: We always go for a room near the pool but there are plenty of different choices and prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kobesamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HENRYWIDLER, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Kobesamurai

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and we are happy, to have the pleasure to welcome you regularly at Paradise Beach Resort.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again


The Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights (2 adults/2 children) in December and loved it.
Staff : absoloutley brilliant. The Thai staff didn't speak english very well, but we got by and they were most helpful and friendly.
Beach: not much of a beach, when the tide was in you access the sea by steps. But the water was shallow enough to walk in. When the tide went out, it was a narrow stretch of sand 1-2 meters wide perhaps but it was lovely to walk along. There is also a coral reef not far off but it's marked by bouys so you can avoid it. The sea was like bath water!! Lovely and warm
Room: Very dated bathrooms and could do with a refurb, and the shower had low water pressure which was a shame and wouldn't stay hooked up so you had to hold the shower head. We're pretty laid back so didn't bother us.But the rooms over all are lovely and the beds very comfortable. Had a tv but hardly needed it as we were outside all day.
Bar: situated at the beach and one of the pools. Excellent 'light' menu for lunch and prompt service. Prices are reasonable. A 'mini pizza' which isn't that 'mini' really cost about 80BHT - about $2.85 at today's rate. Small (but adequate) bowl of chips about the same.
Pools: 2 pools and very clean and nice. The one by reception was warmer. The other is refreshing which was great.
Location: beach front. Free shuttles take you in to and back from Chaweng. Took about 20 minutes by bus. Prompt service. Being low season we didn't have any problems with booking seats but in busier times, book it early.
Recommendations - pop into Chaweng about 4pm, walk along the beach, have dinner, shop a little then head back.
Over all : Lovely property, very well kept, clean and beautiful. Staff - both the Thais and Europeans - are soooo lovely. Very popular with Germans, Swiss and other Europeans. Lovely people, so friendly.
Will definatley go back. We can't wait!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRParadise, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Claire P

Thank you very much for your personal positive comment about your experiance with us on TripAdvisort.

We are glad to see, that you had lovely holidays and thanks as well for the positive comments regarding our staff and priecing of dishes at our restaurant. Quite often we get the comment that we are rather expenisve as 10% Service and 7% Tax are included in allour prices on the menus.
Leaving the resorts and having dinner along the street or other restaurants guests are not charged this extra what gives the feeling that hotels in general are overpriceing their dishes. The extras are for our staff and part of the law of Thailand. We prefere to show the exact amount our guests will have to pay and not let anyone having a bad experiance when being presented the final bill much higher as previously calculated. We belife that this would cause more confusion and disapointment and therefore take the risk to follow the official rules by Thai-Law

Unfortunately, during this season we have a rather reduced beach due to Monsoon season. Futhermore stong winds have been pushign more sea water into the golf of Thailand and high tide has been at its maximum during day time. As you comment sometimes it is possible to walk along the beach...even during Monsoon
We are aware about the points you mention regarding the room...

Thank you for choosing the Paradise Beach Resort as your Holiday destination and we are looking forward to welcome you again!


The Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
2.0 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#11 of 30 in Mae Nam
460 reviews
7.6 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#6 of 51 in Lamai Beach
718 reviews
5.1 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
4.9 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,092 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Address: 18/8 | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: $61 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low rise, Thai style, landscaped garden, unspoiled beach, warm clear waters of the South China Sea; 12 km from Phangah Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Paradise Beach Koh Samui
Paradise Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing