We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was really very nice. Myself and my family to a large extent picked this hotel off the back of good reviews posted on this site.
The hotel and its grounds did not disappoint. The hotel was right on the beach so you could literally have your breakfast and walk two meters onto a quiet and secluded beach reserved only for hotel guests. The hotel rooms surrounded a lovely and well maintained tropical garden, so the scenery from the room balconys was incredibly tranquil and relaxing. The rooms themselves were a lot larger than I expected and they were very clean and airy.
The hotel beach bar was quite small and slighty limited. Breakfast was included and was very good. It was an extensive buffet with lots of variety where you could get a traditional English, continental, or choose from a wide range of your healthy options. We ate at the hotel restaurants a couple of nights, it was probably a bit expensive for what it was though. The hotel did provide some good and interesting entertainment. We saw what ranged from traditional Thai dancers and musicians to young people doing impressive displays of fire poi.
The resort itself was a little out of the way which suited us. Bophut fishing village was ten minutes down the road and offered night markets, shopping and a range of bars and restaurants. Chaweng was about 20 minutes away and was much larger, busier, and more vibrant. The hotel offered a shuttle bus to transport guests there and back. It ran fairly regularly but I could imagine seats would be quite limited if you went at a busier time of year.
The guests seemed to be generally Eurpoeans; with only a few British. I am 24, but was with my family. I would not recommend this for young adults...it's not a party hotel by any means! If you are after that then look at Chaweng...that seemed to be the hotspot for groups of friends and younger people.
The staff were lovely and very accommodating. The only one bad point to mention is that their English was terrible! There were quite a few things that got lost in translation. Overall though our stay was extremely comfortable, peaceful and relaxing and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ccs186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 742 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our 4th trip to Koh Samui so was pleased to find our choice of resort was what we wanted. Older rooms but clean & friendly staff. Two pools & restaurant including a beach bar make this good choice for a relaxing holiday. If you want action & shopping a free shuttle to Chaweng leaves several times a day. Beach is a bit narrow but quiet not like Chaweng with music, touts & jet skis everywhere. Good breakfasts and a theme night with entertainment for dinner.
Tour desk booked us on a National Park all day boat trip which was great fun.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Collee481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 11 nights - very cheap package deal to stay with included buffet breakfast daily. As it was our honeymoon we were upgraded when we arrived to a Maenum suite which was luxury! separate lounge, bathroom, big bedroom, hallway, balcony with outdoor furniture etc....two tvs with dvd players - nice decor :) We were brought fresh fruit platters everyday too.
Beautiful grounds with tropical gardens, two good sized pools (fresh water), nice restaurants and very friendly staff. The beach infront of the resort is not the best (not like Chaweng), but if you turn left and walk for about 10 mins the sand and water gets a bit nicer.
The resort also provides a free shuttle to and from Chaweng and Fishermans village (and I think a couple of other places that I cant remember)....awesome!!
The main downfall is that there isnt much in way of shops and entertainment near the resort - although there is a good little dairy/shop across the road from the resort that we visited every day for cold drinks, but this wasnt too much of a big deal because of the free resort shuttle :)
Would definately return again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AskMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Maybe we(family with 2 Kids 11/14) had the worst 2 room that I ever seen, or we keep hitting on the wrong Rating in TripAdvispor, but what we had there have nothing to do with the good rating (or a hotel).
We arrived and after check in, they walked us to the room or Bungalow. As we came nearer and nearer from the beach I thought “great, right at the front” then we arrived to a big green net protecting a building site of the hotel, on the beach front…and our room/Bungalow with see view  was 1 Meter behind this net …so net view..very nice especially that they didn’t think it would be appropriate to inform us before (ok, it seem that the wall just went down and they had to redo it).
The Room: it was a, at most, 1-2 Star room. Very old furniture which looked like it staid under water for a while and fall apart, Rusty bed lamps, we couldn’t see (the net  ) through the window because they was disgusting. The bathroom had paint on the floor that peeled of the wall (but still laid on the floor), door dirty, shower dirty, and shower holder…it was so dirty that you couldn’t see the chrome anymore.
The beach: What Beach?? 1 Meter wide?? So no beach but a wall (or a green net again). Umbrellas which are destroyed.
After that we decided to book somewhere else (we booked for 10 days).
OK, the diner at the restaurant was ok but that’s it.
We had a horrible night on very bad beds and pillows.
The breakfast: Broken equipments every ware, we couldn’t open 1 of the warm holder because it was to rusty and dirty, by some of the Glass vitrine where they kept the pancakes warm, the Glass was broken all over.
They emptied the plates with all the rests in a bin just in the eating area...thanks for the flies
I mean WTF!!! a 4 stars, with such good ratings!!? As I said, we don’t understand what happened there. Are these ratings for real?? I use to laugh about the bad rating when more than 80% of the people were happy and thought that some people are not to be pleased but this time I wished I had took them seriously and look the Photos before.
To be fair, I must say that we could change hotel and the paradise made us only pay the one night we staid (thanks to Ramon from Tourasia)
But as we tried to explain to the owner, we had a lot of excuses like “the beach got washed out last year (what about new Photos?), we couldn’t make renovation because we was booked (what about not book so much to make renovation?) “and we know the eating area needs renovation” (what about the critics which had nothing to do with renovation but common respect for the guests?)
I go in a lot of hotels (for business as well) and can’t always choose good hotels, but that, I never seen. A hotel with swiss management, I felt ashamed to be swiss!!
Out of this night, thank you Thailand, wonderful holidays 

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kiedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Arrived after a long but excellent flights with Thai Airways no issues with luggage and the airport in Koh Samui is just so pretty. Hotel was clean and the pools were lovely if you like a quiet pool sit at the one near reception. Food was always excellent and the evening entertainment was nice. The hotel evening buffet was expensive take a few steps down the beach to the right and try Jins Restaurant fab price and fresh tasty food cooked by her in the kitchen where you can watch her cook. Alternatively book the shuttle bus and go to Chaweng loads of cheap meals a must is the Ark Bar on the beach excellent food and the experience is great my kids loved it.
If you have a room near the reception poor you as we had to move rooms due to the noise from the frogs and insects! When I asked reception to move us they refused saying the hotel was full so having not slept for four nights we decided enough was enough and asked our rep to move us in to another hotel. Our rep went straight to the management and we were moved that morning to a bungalow right next to the beach only one of two with a sea view. It pays to complain if you are not happy.
All the waiters were lovely and they were great with the kids special mention to Tik who always served us with a smile.
Activities - there is not much to do on the island once you have done the day trip that's it speed boat trip to the national park was awesome a must do. Market in Boput on a Friday night is great as they close the roads so very safe for the kids again a must do.
All in all a great holiday - hotel was more like a two star - no need to take clothes to dress for dinner as nobody does!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank welshtiger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

It is a very well organised hotel with friendly personals, looking for the satisfaction of the quests. The hotel is quiet, and of qood quality. We can recommend this hotel for everybody, who do not want to stay in the busy region of Samui.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

A quite nice little hotel in mid range, with good facilities, staff, excellent gardens etc. Has been maintained and updated in places ( ie new bathrooms), good pools. The 'beach' however was non existent (November) its just a sea wall facing often dirty water.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
2.0 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
460 reviews
7.6 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
719 reviews
5.1 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
4.9 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#9 of 30 in Mae Nam
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Address: 18/8 | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: $58 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low rise, Thai style, landscaped garden, unspoiled beach, warm clear waters of the South China Sea; 12 km from Phangah Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splitty, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Paradise Beach Koh Samui
Paradise Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing