We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Retirement Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Recently I travelled to Koh Samui with my partner. A travel agent we used suggested we stay at Paradise Beach as it was the best hotel left avaliable in our budget range. When we first arrived we couldn't help but notice we may be the ONLY guests in the resort under 50. Every morning these guests would sit at the exact same pool lounge, and the exact same tables, and travel to the bar and restaraunt at the exact same time. After a while we became quite amused by this, but it did dampen our hopes of befriending anyone even remotely close to our age to have a laugh with.

It is located 20 minutes away from chaweng, which doesn't sound like much, but when you are there it feels quite isolating. I would definetely not reccomend this hotel for anyone wanting to experience the nightlife of chaweng in the 20-30 year age bracket, as you literally have to plan your whole day on when the shuttelbus leaves the hotel. And trust me, you will want to leave the hotel or you will die of boredom. Also if you're coming home late there is no shuttle bus and you constantly find yourself shelling out for a taxi home. (BTW we found the lowest we could get a taxi from Chaweng to the resort was 300 baht. You may have better luck but don't be tricked into paying more).

The buffet dinner at the restaraunt was quite expensive (500 baht each) but was definetly high in quality. Ordering off the menu however was a joke as the portions were so small. If you're after an afternoon snack we found ordering off the snack menu (which you have to specifically ask for) was super cheap and a lot better value.

Happy hour at the bar was good, buy one get one free, but otherwise a bit steep and adds up fast.

The staff were extremely friendly, we saw their faces sooo many times a day it felt like they worked there 24/7.

The rooms were quite dated, not 4 star at all. We had recently come from a different 4 star hotel and they were nowhere near as close on quality. Also i would regularly wake up to find 5 lizards crawling up and down the walls, which was horrible but impossible to avoid.

If you're after a relaxing, isolating trip away from absolutely everything go to Paradise Beach Resort. If you however want to experience everything Samui stay alot closer to Chaweng.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 776 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at Paradise Beach Resort in early January as part of our 40th Wedding Anniversary celebrations. If you want peace and quiet in a stunning location with excellent cusine and service, Daniel and his team will provide.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinM787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at Paradise Beach from 22nd nov 2011 until 21st dec 2011.We have stayed at this hotel over a dozen times and still love it.The setting is idyllic as its right beside the beach.Two excellent pools surrounded by beautiful gardens.There are plenty of sun loungers even when the hotel is busy.This hotel is very well run by Manager Daniel Ruprecht and his excellent staff.Very good service in restaurants,bar and reception and always with a smile.There is a good courtesy bus which takes you from the hotel into Chaweng or Fishermans Village.We cant wait to return for another month to our Paradise at Paradise Beach.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We returned to Paradise Beach Resort (PBR) in December for a three week stay ... for a change in late December, the weather was largely wonderful, although we expect some rain - it is the tail-end of the rainy season, after all. Many lovely days, great food as always, some great new "event buffets" for dinner, an amazing fire show, fireworks show and cultural dancing for New Year's Eve and the great service one has come to expect from "PBR". If you don't know it, the two pools, the fact that the beach is literally on the property (or the property is on the beach!>), the table tennis, newly-added Massage and Spa Treatment Centre and much more make it a must if you want to get away from it all.
And getting away from it all with the family is great but when you want the action, it's a free 10 minute shuttle bus ride to the action in Chaweng.
Small complaint about Internet reception was addressed immediately possible, as WiFi was important to me being able to work when being away so long! Can't recommend it enough for families with kids, couples who need a little rest/privacy and there were plenty of youngsters on the property too, who hit the town at night!
Anyway, you get the idea that I loved PBR and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms around the pool near reception (as opposed to restaurant) are great and very conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kobesamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

If you want to get away from the stress, this is the place, so quiet and so peacefull. The bingalows are perfect, so quiet, great sleep, just in front of the pool and meters away from the bar and the beach. The people are so nice. The massage there is also great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eManu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

A well run hotel with good staff & nice food. The rooms are a little dated but with comfortable & up-to-date bathrooms (albeit only with showers- and poor temperature controls at that). 2 pools both very clean & pleasant & excellent well established & maintained gardens. We stayed for 14 nights incl Christmass & New Year and the food including that for the special nights was always enjoyable .
Everything worked well from reception on arrival (thank you Nicole), the restaurant (Aom, Tom and co ) thro to the bar staff (Dom & co).
We used the tour desk & enjoyed there suggested outings.
The hotel runs a free mini bus down to Chaweng (20 min) via a number of other stops incl Fishermans village a nice little place any time but especially on a Friday night for the market.
Theres not much in the immediate area of the hotel, its a few minutes walk to the main rd where there is a chemists & a few other shops, there are no other hotels in the immediate area & so it is quiet.
The internet access & in room safes were free - had to pay for both in most other places.
So very nice quiet hotel but all the fun is not very far away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Recently stayed 1 week in the Paradise. Great location with a very beautiful beach. Not as crowded as Chaweng. Stayed in a Suite Room, very spacious and clean with WiFi too. Tried both of their Restaurants. Excellent cuisine, especially the Italian Restaurant Roma. Hardly to find also such a very motivated, friendly and very helpful staff under the guidance of a omni present General Manager. Dont miss out to try the Spa - just great! Will come back again!

Room Tip: All the Deluxe rooms are newly renovated. If your Budget allow it, go for the Maenam Suite. Very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
0.6 mi away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
273 reviews
2 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#14 of 30 in Mae Nam
484 reviews
7.6 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
1,684 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#9 of 30 in Mae Nam
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Address: 18/8 | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: $93 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low rise, Thai style, landscaped garden, unspoiled beach, warm clear waters of the South China Sea; 12 km from Phangah Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Paradise Beach Koh Samui
Paradise Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing