We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury! We loved it!”
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed at Napasai in January 2010 and loved it! its a beautiful place with nice villas and amazing pool!
i really like the lotions (girls will understand)! Pity u cant buy them in their boutique (really nice one as well)
our villa was situated on the hill and we had a great view of the sea and surroundings.
we didnt always eat dinner at their restaurants, we wanted to see more than just the hotel but the free dinner that was set up for us at Napasai was very good (Thai food, not spicy). we often had lunch there, they have a wide range of snacks and not only. the only minus i would mention is the location. its quite far from cafes, bars and shops, so we had to take a 300 or 400 B taxis almost every day.
there is a lond beach with white sand and lots of activities! staff is realy friendly and helping! u feel like a staaar! :)
i would definitely recommend it to a friend!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhannaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 889 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2010

We had a great time.. The hotel grounds are fantastic and the rooms are well maintained... Make sure to take the boat trip to the Angthong marine park using the hotel service..they are contracted with 100 degrees east dive company which provides exclusive service to the hotel and does not take more than 12 people onboard/trip (compare this to 30-40 people with other companies on board)....The owner, Ivan, and his staff are professional, fantastic and will make sure you are happy.. definitely we had the times of our lives

The only criticism we have with regards to the set down menus at both the Christmas and Thai eves... The Christmas eve had French menu at an exorbitant price and that was it ..we would like to have more variety and therefore decided to skip this one. The food at the Thai night was not of good quality.. Its interesting that the Thai food served during regular days was much much better than this one!!

All in all we loved it and will surely come back!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Running_rambutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We had our Wedding at Napasai on Dec 20th 2009. We chose this place although we have both never been to Koh Samui and Napasai. It was the best choice as our wedding turned out to be a perfect event. During the whole wedding process, the wedding planner/resident manager & General Manager were more than helpful in accommodating our needs and requirements. We were amazed when we finally arrived at the hotel a couple days prior to the wedding. Honestly, the hotel website couldn't capture the real beauty of this resort. I work in hotels and this is the BEST resort I've ever been to. The landscape is huge with natural tropical gardens. The buggy transportation service from our villa to the lobby was more than helpful and our parents who needed assistance as they can't walk too much also enjoyed the buggy service from their Beach Front Cottage's doorstep to the restaurants or lobby. The swimming pool is definitely the nicest I've ever seen and very well maintained. They even served complimentary sorbet in the afternoon at the pool area. I've had a facial and a massage at the spa and the treatments were very relaxing and the environment was perfect. The villa where we stayed at was unbelievable. The interior & the exterior were both perfect. The pictures of the villa on the hotel website actually didn't manage to show how large the whole villa is. We stayed in a two bedroom villa with a large livingroom and open kitchen. A outdoor pool table, a good size (not those really tiny) private pool with a huge outdoor terrace. and our bedroom and the bathrooms were amazing. The bathroom amenities were so nice that I couldn't help but take a set home with me. We had various meals during our stay here. The food was incredible. I've had Pad Thai every day in Thailand and the one in Napasai was the BEST. The food at our wedding was perfect; from fresh seafood to bbq meat sticks, to tasty Thai salad...and the desserts were so good!
All our friends and family kept asking us how we've managed to find this GEM in Koh Samui. Everyone from couples to families all enjoyed their stay. The service during our stay, the wedding was amazing. Everyone really went out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant one. Not just because we were married there...we definiely plan to return to Napasai one day.
THANK YOU to all the staff...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kohsamui_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We visited the Napasai on our honeymoon for 7 days of peace and quiet after an eventful trip.
We were stunned by the beautiful surroundings and the seclusion of the hotel and the room was gorgeous. We had a couple of lovely meals and all was well. After a few days what had been sold to us as a romantic couples only resort was filled with children and families and as a result the 12 sunbed which were round the pool were taken as were the others in the grounds and on the 'beach'. As a result we had nowhere to sunbath short of lying a towel on the ground - Which to be honest at over £100 per night I was not willing to do.
It was at this point that the reality of the total seclusion kicked in and we realised that had we been staying somewhere further down the beach we could just have gone on to the next set of sunbeds.. However at the Napasai it was not an option ..
It was at this point that we decided to move hotels.
We couldnt fault the staff or the hotel its self but for us we felt that we were somewhat at the mercy of the hotel in that there was no real choices about where you ate and subsquently as it was bed and breakfast you were paying the price either the hotel prices for their food or the taxis on the 15-20 mins to civilisation and other resturants.
All in all the Napasai was a beautiful hotel which we were very impressed with however everybody wants different things from a holiday and we wanted more options.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyALancshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We spent the christmas feasts with our three kids (10, 8 and 4) in a suite. I must say that the Napasai is one of the best beach resort where I staid. The villa is decorated with good taste, the dark wooden floor gives a japanese touch, the bathroom is large , although the two-places bath tub seems very attractive, we did not have the opportunity to test it. Very good quality flat screen with DVD available at the lobby. We enjoyed the fruits provided every day in the room. The air con is quiet and efficient. No mosqitoes thanks to the anti mosquitoe plug that is supplied and the lemon balm that is heated under a candle every evening.
We noticed that the staff was very well trained, understood much more english than the other places we were before in Thailand and the service is impeccable.
The Napasai is built against a hill full of tropical vegetation. The more you go up the hill ( for breakfast or even higher on the sundeck) the more astonishing the view over the lagoon is. The pool is so spendid that you nearly forget to go and swim into the sea.
When the night comes the whole place turns into a kind of enchanting garden with light in the trees everywhere. I strongly recommand to have dinner on one of the isolated table on the beach and to taste their juicy tuna steak under the moon light.

In the morning, the breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever tasted : the "viennoiseries" are warm and crispy like in a French "Boulangerie", the pan cakes delicious, the dimsums one of the best I have ever tasted ( and we live in Hong Kong !)...Nothing to say against this buffet. All the family really enjoyed it.
I think the hotel restraurant might be one of the best of Samui thanks to the French Chef who has given a 'gourmet touch" to the menu. The christmas eve dinner was simply delicious.
If you want to practice water sport (for free), you can borrow the trimarran ( like a Hoobycat but easier) or the beach manager will give you a windsurf lesson because windsurf is what he likes. You can also borrow the mountain bikes ( very well maintained) for a ride in the nearby countryside and hevea forest where the local Thai collect latex from the trees.

I stongly recommand the kayak trip along the coast to the next beach on he east side ( 20 min to go there). The coast is wild and the cliff is impressive and beautiful.

To cut a long story short, the Napasai was really the hotel we needed to spend a few relaxing days in Thailand. An experience we will not forget.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cypio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Our stay at this hotel was fabulous and met our expectations in all areas. We were on honeymoon and the moment we entered the establishment we were made to feel very welcome and special, being presented with garlands, complementary wine and a beautiful sarong. The room was also beautifully decorated with flowers.
The room was spacious with plenty of areas to relax and enjoy the fantastic sea views. The attention to detail was exemplary, from the daily selection of fresh fruit to the aromatherapy burner that was lit every evening during turn down service as well as the candle on the balcony that warmly greeted you on your return after dinner.
Breakfast was a sumptuous buffet that catered for all tastes, the cappuccino was excellent! The restauraunt service and quality whatever time of day was exceptional. We would highly recommend the Thai set meal. An opportunity to sample a variety of wonderful Thai dishes, expertly prepared but with not too much chilly! The Chef has definitely taken into consideration the less spicy needs of some of its overseas visitors. An excellent opportunity to sample excellent Thai cuisine!
As for other facilities, there was definitely something for everyone, from cycling to kayaking and windsurfing, to relaxing in the Spa, to simply relaxing on the beach or by the pool.
There are so many wonderful things to share about this hotel, I think it just needs to be experienced to be believed. Definitely a holiday to be remembered.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estes08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Napasai is the unique place in a fabulous island.
I spent 3 days in this hotel. Certainly one of the best in Asia.
As always, Orient Express did a great job making this place the most beautiful and peaceful in the whole island.
Private terrace, private beach, huge swimming pool, restaurant 2 meters from the sea, magnificent view... everything is there.
Kindness and joy of living of the staff will certainly make you want to stay longer.

It was for my fiancée and myself and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpleveillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
9.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
3.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 184 in Bophut
1,687 reviews
10.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: $272 - $731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing