We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and luxury hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and luxury hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

For those who are looking for tranquil vacation in Koh Samui, Napasai is definitely a highly valued choice. My family and I spent 3 nights in a three-bedroom beachfront pool residence, which is actually a four-villa combo including three villas for bedrooms and one villa for living room. Views from all rooms are just so fantastic. Service is well valued and staff are quite friendly and accommodating. Great selection of breakfast and nice foods in the Thai restaurant Lai Thai. We had the pleasure to have late checkout at 2PM as our flight was 5PM.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this property in Koh Samui. I would like to come back for my next trip in Koh Samui.

In terms of tips for transportation, I would say if possible, just rent a scooter or car, which makes easier to get access to other parts of the island, even though staying back at Napasai and relax can be a good option for your vacation as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huan_1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    149
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
197
494
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Napasai is located quite far from main happening places on Koh Samui (25 min drive from Chaweng Beach). However, It can be a good thing, if you are looking to relax in a quite atmosphere. The beach is private, and you don't get disturbed by local sellers. Since hotel is located on the north side of the island you won't get clear water, which was disappointing for me. Also at this time of the year weather isn't very good, it's cloudy and raining occasionally. I really liked hotel rooms, they are very cozy and I recommend picking those that have a sea view. There are two restaurants on the site, Thai and barbecue. Both are very good, and with reasonable pricing. Hotel provides free wifi, and it has a good coverage, but speed could be better. Water sports are available at the beach. Also when on the beach, staff will bring free drinks and fruit, very nice of them. Overall staff is very helpful and friendly. I recommend to make use of spa, Thai massage is great there, and again prices are reasonable. Hotel also provides scooter and car rental. Scooter is very cheap to rent and fun to ride.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Adilzhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights at Napasai last week, and were sorry that we couldn't stay longer. Everything about the place is wonderful. The villas are spacious, well-designed and fit in perfectly with the surroundings. Given previous reviewers' complaints about the hard mattresses, I was pleasantly surprised that while they are on the hard side they are also perfectly comfortable (proof that this really is a matter of taste). The grounds are lovely, with a beach, pool, gardens, restaurants, etc. And the staff were, without exception, genuinely warm, helpful and accommodating. Amazingly, despite coming in the middle of the high season, the resort never felt crowded or overrun with guests.

Throughout our stay, the general manager was a friendly and helpful presence. I should add that, due to illness, we arrived one day late - I particularly appreciated that Napasai management decided not to charge the full amount for the late arrival, as the terms and conditions would have required. All in all, I can't imagine a better place to stay on Koh Samui.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nh1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We are likely very difficult to please as resort clients as our expectations are so high, however, Although it is not the four seasons or banyan, this resort was a wonderful experience for us, especially for the mid-price point we paid (~$300 per night) for a villa compared to the $700-$1,100 quoted by those other resorts

Set on the northern beaches of koh samui between the four seasons and the W Retreat, the beach is quite nice and isolated, the infinity pool quite beautiful and relaxing, the grounds are beautiful and well kept, and the staff all friendly and always going out of your way to provide good service

The resort is a bit on the quiet side with mostly German, English and Russian guests. Not many kids but some. Quietness was what we were looking for which was perfect fit

They have kayaks, wind surfers and other outdoor toys plus tennis courts, badminton, darts, pool table, croquet etc.

The villas were clean and nice, slightly dated but the resort is not new. Great view of the ocean from our villa which was in the second row of villas behind the ocean front ones but raised higher than they were to not be obstructed by them

The breakfast that was included was also excellent with good variety. Lunch was good if you stuck to the Thai menu in the main restaurant. We found the seafood BBQ restaurant by the beach very poor in terms of quality (had lobster BLT and chicken satay - lobster BLT was terrible and chicken skewers were small and over cooked). The quality of the restaurant for dinner was, at best, average, especially for the price. We found much better restaurant experiences for the same price, by taxiing to the other high end hotels and experiencing their superior kitchens with a different atmosphere all for the same price - not including the 600 bat in taxi costs

Overall we would recommend this resort to anyone, couples or even families with small children. May be a bit quiet for teens, or anyone looking for lively koh samui.

My only unsolicited advice to the resort, only if they want to compete with the other high end resorts - at least for a segment of their clientele - (Hansar, w retreat, four seasons, banyan etc) would be to update the entrance road and make more wow/impressive and do similar for the lobby/reception areas as it is your first impression and it currently doesn't read as 4 or 5 stars resort - I may be overly critical on this point. The villas could also use some minor updates including the bed mattress which was somewhat harder than normal. And the pool area should really use white towels vs blue (but that is a nit pick). More engaging staff would likely generate more sales of beverages and food by the pool and beach. The staff were almost too much in the background in this area, vs engaged with beach side and pool side clients

Overall, Great experience for us and thank you to all the staff who made our stay wonderful. Would recommend this resort for this price point to anyone looking for a quiet, beach side experience in koh samui

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was with SJTCA for 5 nights at Napasai over New Years 2014 and agree with everything she said. I just want to add that I find Nigel's bigoted rant (posted a week earlier) to be objectionable and am surprised Tripadvisor allows its contributors to post personal attacks.

Back to Napasai: the place was at capacity during our entire stay but never felt crowded. The staff is terrific and interacts closely with the guests. Our bungalow was really spacious and beautiful. I give this place 4 stars instead of 5 because the food was good but not great. However, 5 star places on Samui are much more expensive, so for the price Napasai is a great place. Also, I understand a new chef arrived the day we departed.

One tip: taxis charge 300-500 baht to get anywhere from Napasai, even to restaurants 10 minutes away. That was a shock after paying 75-100 baht to drive long distances in Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Matt,

Thank you very much for your support and your comments. Indeed Chef Sebastian has taken lead of our culinary offer and we are all looking forward to some new exciting dishes coming up soon.

Wishing you well from Napasai

Yours
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed 5 nights at Napasai over New Years 2014. Rooms are beautiful, private and spacious. The staff is exceptionally nice and take care to know your name and interests. Sabrina will help you plan your day, A will greet you with a big smile, Kit will make will make your favorite drink, Juan will seat you and the entire team will take care of you.

If you believe the beds are hard you haven't traveled much. They are actually very comfortable and standard for luxury hotels in Asia. The food could be better but breakfast is also comparable to other hotels and there are many low, mid and high end dining choices nearby.

Stephan, the GM, is easy to find and takes care to make his guests happy.

As for the children, day one I was surprised but it is the family holiday season and as the week progressed we enjoyed them.

A new chef on Sunday and Stephan has plans for many upgrades. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Check in online for Bangkok Airways and join their club and you will avoid airport lines and get ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJTCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear SJTCA,

Thank you for taking the time to write on our Tripadvisor page. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and that our team could make you feel comfortable. As you rightly mentioned we have some new exciting things coming up.

Until then kindly let us send you our best regards from our tropical island.

Yours
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were also disappointed by the hard king size bed, and we're shocked that we did not have hot water in our shower for two days.
The morning waitstaff were so kind and the pm dinner staff were rude and
Disorganized. We felt like we were in kiddy land with all the ill mannered
Children. The spa massages were exceptional and the front desk personnel were gracious. The General manager was not around during
Christmas ! Thank god for Juan and Saachi or we would have left!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kuma75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan P, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Kuma,

Thank you for letting us know your experience which I am sad to read that we did not fully satisfy you. Kindly accept my deep apologies. Please be rest assured that we will be looking closely at the points you mentioned.

We truly hope to get the chance that you visit us again.

Yours
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
7.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
7.4 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Property: Belmond Napasai
Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing