We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, but completely inattentive service”
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice staff, but completely inattentive service”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went for our honeymoon, and booked a honeymoon package. While all the staff were very friendly, getting the pool and beach staff members' was difficult. Moreover, had we not taken the initiative to remember the parts of our honeymoon package that were unique to that package (such as the couples' massage and beachfront dinner), we fear the hotel would not have let us know that these were amenities we had paid for. Finally, for a hotel that should be service-based (given its location on an island known for its beaches), we sat at the pool and beach with flies in our water and had to search out restaurant staff to find pool staff so that we could merely look at a menu. (Also, the hotel's practice to have its customers sign a receipt for each separate order shows a lack of trust--in my mind--that the guests will pay their tabs).

Breakfast was included and though the food itself was good, there were fruit flies all over the fruit and flies swarming around the indoor dining room.

Overall, folks are friendly but their execution of their duties was poor, and far inferior to that of any of the other hotels we stayed at on our 2-week Asia trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REL513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBenischke, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your important comments with us. Be rest assured that we have taken the right actions in terms of internal communication and organization in order to prevent such incidences in the future.

We truly hope to get the chance to welcome you once more at Napasai in order to showcase you the changes made.

Wishing you a beautiful start into your marriage.

Yours
Stephan Post

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    151
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
209
502
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at napasai in Mai 2013. excellent infrastructure, top service minded staff, lovely rather small hotel ressort. good but gastronomy. ideal for travellers in search of romantic, silent vacation. beach not very convincing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBenischke, General Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing such nice comments which has been a motivation factor for our team to continue in this mind set.

We hope very much to be able to pamper you soon at Napasai once more.

Yours sincerely
Stephan Post

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is perfect - to the extent that it feels a bit artificiall, not of this world, especially if you have been travelling through Thailand before.
We booked a beachfront villa. The villa is beautiful, very comfortable bed, nice terrace, huge bathroom. The service could not be better.
Beach and pool are very nice.
If you rent a scooter it is also easy to get around on the island; without the scooter you are a bit cut off of the "real" world (but may be that's exactly what you want?).
I can highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet, out-of-the-world stay and do not mind an artificial setting.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M_OnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Napasa is situated at the Maenam area, some 20-minutes from Samui Airport. Upon our arrival at the airport, we were greeted by a friendly rep from Napasai who took us straight to the hotel. The hotel lobby is in an open area with a fantastic view the entire 360degree. Check-in was short, sweet and simple and we were immediately escorted to our private villa/suite over looking the beach. The villa is spacious with a large living area fitted with 2 large day beds, and a 4-seater square dinning table. The adjacent bedroom is also large with a walk-in wardrobe and bath area, complete with shower and tub. There is also an open-air shower area connected to the guess-bathroom. Together with this luxurious accommodation, also included are round-trip airport pick up, 60-minute Thai massage for 2 plus a romantic candlelit dinner, so befitting our 17th anniversary getaway. All these for less than 20,000Bht. Just to add the beach area at Napasai is very shallow, suitable for family with children. Note that I mentioned 2 large day-beds in the living room, well that could serve as sleeping area for those who brought their kids along. All in all, it is a great .....or should I say, perfect anniversary getaway for my husband and I. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didikualalumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights at the start of April and were in a beachfront villa, which was beautifully appointed and has a fabulous view from the full room sized window.

The level of service at the Napasai is wonderful and everyone we came in contact with was clearly well engaged in creating the best experience possible for guests.

The levels of efficiency and standards throughout our stay were outstanding.

We took dinner in all of the three restaurants during our stay and each one had their own unique atmosphere as well as distinctive menu. We also asked to have some dishes that were on the dinner menu served for lunch and that was not a problem.

I would recommend taking the half day island tour which the front of house will arrange, we had an excellent driver / guide who spoke good English and took us exactly where we wanted to go. Time was not an issue as we extended the trip by an hour at the last minute.

My only negative is mainly out of the management's hands, as they are reflective of some of the other residents behaviours which we experienced during the first half of our stay.

As we were visiting over the Easter period there was a high proportion of families with young children staying and whilst that is to be expected, some of the noise levels in the pool area prevented my wife and I from using the pool area to swim or relax. The boisterous behaviour of some was just too much and I was surprised that parents don't exercise more skills in teaching their children to respect other people's holidays.

The other annoyance was that, even if I had wanted to use the pool area, all the sunbeds were reserved by 8.30am in that first week, an annoying practice which was mainly the trademark of UK and US families.

However, this meant that we always relaxed on the beautiful beach, which was well serviced by the resort staff and they brought a welcome complimentary ice cream or fruit plate each afternoon, as well as providing a drinks service at your sunbed throughout the day.

Overall a tremendous resort, in a beautiful, secluded location with amazing service from a happy team. I'll avoid weeks when there would be a high level of young children staying next time I stay.

Stay - you will be absolutely delighted.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redpaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Napasi Resort was a wonderful experience! We were greeted in the beautiful open air lobby with ice cold green tea and cool, wet towels and were sat comfortably over looking the ocean while the staff checked us in. The beachside cottage was beautifully appointed in the Thai style, with floor cushions were you could relax while listening to the waves and looking out at the gulf of Thailand. The pool area was absolutely perfect and the staff were very attentive. In fact, they even surpised my boyfriend with happy birthday wishes written in orchids on our bed and a birthday cake, even though I never called in advance or even notified them of his special day.

My one criticism would be that there wasn a lack of easy food (hamburgers, etc) unless you ordered room service. When at the beach, it's nice to be casual and I thought the fare was a little too formal for the beach experience. But then again, I'm not a foodie.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayouMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Napasai in April at the end our our trip after traveling throughout Asia for two weeks. We were excited and looking forward to a great place to get some sun by the beach. We had our 29 year old son with us. We were picked up from the airport by a driver who did not speak a word of english which I found discouraging. Usually in the past we would have had a driver and and english speaking guide. We went to happy hour during our first night which I thought was pricey. They had a drink special for $10.00 and a 20% discount on the rest of the bar drinks. Our room was at the far end of the hotel which was beautiful and tastily decorated. Our family stayed in 5 star hotels throughout our entire vacation. Napasai was the only hotel that the our backs hurt in the morning. Due to the location If you have problems walking I would not suggest this hotel there are no elevators. During our last night we decided to go into town. It's about 30 minute drive which cost 500 baht. The town is busy with a lot of good restaurants catering to a wide range of food. The hotel is very private with amazing views. During our entire stay it rained off and on. One evening we tried to eat at the restaurant "Hot Pot" down by the beach with so many bugs on the tables from the rain we decided to eat at the Thai restaurant inside. We all agreed the food was not outstanding for being a 5 star hotel. The pool was a little cool which would have been nice if the weather was better. My husband and I both had 2 1/2 spa treatments which were very good the cost was $7,900 baht ea. Our family agreed this is a hotel for honeymooners and not families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny77Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
10.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#19 of 185 in Bophut
922 reviews
7.4 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Property: Belmond Napasai
Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing