We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel”
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing hotel”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 days and we loved this place. We had a very spacious and well equipped oceanfront villa with the amazing view. Perfect spot for relaxation, great pool and beach, very clean, beautiful landscaping. But most amazing are the people working at this hotel: pool attendants, waitresses, cleaning personal, front desk, security -all of them extremely helpful and polite.
We travel a lot, but we never saw a resort manager as Iolanda . It seems that she is on the floor 24/7 and may that is why the hotel is so well run. Iolanda and Guillaume(concierge) provide very personal service and we would like to thank them for the great vacation.

Alex and Marina Z, Boston

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zamaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    151
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
204
500
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent the the second to last leg of our honeymoon at the Napasai. We were very happy with our choice to stay here. We had an amazing villa with a beautiful view. They decorated our bed with flowers upon arrival. Brought us a bottle of wine (which we brought home with us - we plan on drinking it on our anniversary). Every day they brought us a different fruit that was from the island with a little description of what it actually was. It was very nice and thoughtful. The beach was a little small but the water was clear and calm. The pool was really nice. The only downside was that there were a lot of families on vacation with their kids and the kids were running around and jumping everywhere. I guess that is to be expected. Not sure what the hotel could have done about this. We lucked out weather wise. It did not rain once the entire time we were on the island. The hotel arranged a four hotel tour of the island for us. It was nice to be able to see everything. The only problem was that the driver did not really speak english and was not all that knowledgable about the places we were going. Breakfast was included in our rate. The breakfast was really nice. They had lots of different options. A omelet station, fresh fruit, pastries etc. Anything you could really want they had. We also ate dinner at the hotel one night. The food was good, maybe a little over priced for what it was. The hotel is a little out of the way so it is costly to leave for meals etc. We also ventured out with another honeymooning couple for a dinner at Barracuda. The hotel made the reservation for us. The food was amazing! The hotel staff were really great. They were able to help us with everything. They even gave us a late check out when they were really busy. We would definitely go back to the Napasai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

With a resort like this, I expect a lot more form the cuisine. The meat was undercooked and unseasoned, the fruit was not fresh, and the bread was stale. Very disappointing... for someone who enjoys food when they travel, this was a horrible experience. Furthermore, the prices were RIDICULOUS for the quality. I would definitely recommend another resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

A 3-4 rating for this hotel / resort may be a little harsh however I feel the negatives are big negatives.  Saying that, these would not necessarily stop me from staying here again, however I would consider other options before returning.  Negatives are

1. Guests need to pay over 70 Baht over$2 AUD, for a bottle of drinking water at the bar, beach and pool side.  In a country where you cannot drink the water this is insulting to guests.  All other places we've stayed give you bottled water.  There is bottled water provided in your room, 2 litres per day, however if you're in a sea view hill villa, trekking up the hill for water is hardly worth the effort.  Big negative!! For the 70 Baht I'd be expecting spring water nit your average drinking water.

2. The distance to Mae Nam, Bo Phut and Chaweng is another negative, however the seclusion of Napasai is a positive.  If you want to be in the action every night, you're looking at an $AUD 30 round trip to Chaweng.  In saying that Chaweng is a tourist hot spot and ful, of back packers and more low cost holiday options.  It's worth a visit but not everyday if you're looking for a private holiday oasis.

3. There are 3 restaurants here and not one of them is ever busy.  We ate here 3 times.  The food is of excellent quality but I agree with other trip Advisor travellers, they are trying too hard to provide a fine dining experience and not focussing on what most guests are most likely wanting. For us, we wanted simple Thai food cooked well at a reasonable price.  The prices at the restaurant are extortionate!! Prices are the equivalent of Australian fine dining prices and again is insulting to guests.  Instead, order a cab up to 400 Baht one way go to Mae Nam or Bo Phut and eat there for less than what you'll pay at the hotel.  You'll experience an authentic Thai restaurant and still spend less than at the hotel.  This is a massive Negative and really disappointing.  Dinner cost us more than $AUD 100 in the hotel for to people or less than $AUD 40 to eat out including cabs.

4. Thai massages at Napasai are also very expensive.  We paid 300 Baht for Thai massages in Chaweng and at Napasai we paid close to 3000 Baht.  No difference between the two, I guess you're paying for the convenience of having this at the hotel rather than travel into town.  Still it is disappointing that the cost is so high.  I hope the staff are paid considerably better than those in town. 

Positives
1. Service is excellent. Staff are mostly Thai, very polite and well spoken and their English is very good.  I do not agree with other reviews that English is not good enough.  If you are travelling to a foreign country anywhere in the world, if the locals speak English it's a bonus, not a reason to complain about a place. In saying this, we did ask to move from a sea view hill villa to a beach side view villa.  My husband asked on the first day and it was only on day 4 whe we asked the concierge to book us a taxi and we gave our room number that our request for acknowledged.  This was also disappointing and we could be bothered moving after that.

2. Cleanliness is a big plus.  Napasai is spotless!! Every room is cleaned daily.  The communal bathrooms by the pool and beach are cleaned regularly.

3. Secluded and away from the hustle and bustle.  If you don't want to be crowded by tourists and feel safe leaving you personal belongings at the beach  while you swim, Napasai is a great place.  The beach is lovely the pool inviting and it is quiet. 

4. Generally feeling of calmness and well being.  We loved returning to the hotel after being out and about all day.  It is so relaxing once you arrive back and you realise you're in your won little private oasis.

5. Breakfast is varied and caters to all.  Hot breakfast is your standard eggs cooked how you like with bacon, hash browns etc. lots of French pastries are delightful and there is plenty of fruit and cereal. 

Overall,  we loved our stay here but will look at other possibilities before returning.  It just doesn't quite tick all of the boxes.  If these things changed I'd definitely stay here again 

1. Paying for water at the bar and beside the beach and pool
2. Changed the pricing of the restaurants to something more reasonable.  There is so much food wasted here.  I hate seeing food go to waste especially when there are so many poor people in Thailand.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BAHMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent the last leg of our honeymoon in Koh Samui, Jan. 2012. After traveling all over Thailand, Koh Samui was our least favorite spot. Napasai is a pretty resort, but felt a little like Hawaii. It lacks the charming rock formations you find in Krabi. During the 5 nights we were there it rained for about 3 days straight, there is not a lot to do without the beach, it can drive you a little mad sitting in your room or in the open lobby. Each bungalow faces the water, but felt a little dated. I think if you are traveling this far across the world, there are prettier hotels and beaches to see. Don't get me wrong it is a pretty place, but after all the places we saw, we we're wishing we spent five days elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferSooKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ujjain india
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our trip to Thailand recently is still vivid in my memory and I wanted to review our abode there –
The Napasai Resort. Firstly a word about how we booked our commute and stay – we booked it through Thaitourister.com ( cheap rates nd decent service) and decided the Napasai based on reviews and pics available on the site.

The site was informative and the pics were supplemented with numerous reviews of this resort. Moreover the resort was recently accepted into the very prestigious 'Leading Hotels of the World' group and both my husband and I decided to give the Napasai a go.
The arrival was smooth from the airport as the travel agency had arranged for a cab and the entry to the resort was also grand. We were welcomed with a welcome drink and a cold face wipe. After getting ourselves refreshed, we were directed to our rooms. We got a sea view room. While going towards our room we walked across the swimming pool area which was flanked by the bar.
The room was very comfortable and spacious too. It was around 50 sq mt. Sitting in the balcony was a fascinating experience with the view of fishermen gnawing their way into the seas and the cool sea breeze acting as a perfect foil. The room was replete with most kinds of superb accessories and furnishings like large majestic Thai styled beds, LCD TV, large patio with privacy screens etc.

The food at the Napasai was a tad disappointing. The choices in the menu were very limited. One good alternative here is to visit Barracuda, around 15 mins away from Napasai which has a delectable menu and serves an authentic buffet.
The service of the staff though is noteworthy at Napasai and the manager is an informative fellow. So a recommended stay despite the food aberration.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monikasaxena194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just spent 6 days at the Napasai
The hotel is very nice and everything perfect, room, spa, pool, beach but the best was the food
The resort offers 3 dining options, a classic Thai, a fine dining soo good and a themed nightly generous beach buffet
The food was great and impeccable
Breakfast was my least favourite part of the resort
We hope to see you again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
10.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
6.5 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#17 of 186 in Bophut
916 reviews
7.4 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Property: Belmond Napasai
Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing