We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise! Ideal for family vacation.”
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We (family of 4 with 2 boys: 3 and 1.5 years) stayed in one of Napasai's Garden Villa Suites. Beautiful set in your own little garden you have a beautiful villa which is has lot's of Thai flair to it. The overall setting of the hotel is very spacious - far away from the main road you will hear only the sound of the nearby boats going out for fishing. As the beach is completely private you won't be bothered by any merchants.
Breakfast by beach hotel standards is very good in selection and quality. Thai restaurant is good - but best you sit at the beach side restaurant. Though they have theme dinners (Thai, french, italian..) you can also order a la carte - hence you can enjoy the breeze from the sea whilst being more flexible in food choice.
Only limitation: The gym is rather small and equipment a bit old.
Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ulrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Napasai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 863 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Twice in a year, might seem too much, but when you like the place and you want to share it with family members, you ought to go back.. It is a high standard hotel. Everything is the way you expect to be. We had a very nice Christmas dinner, with a unforgettable scenery..

Room Tip: Depending if you want to hear the see or not, go to higher distance cabanas..
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have travel throughout Thailand many times and stayed at the "best of the best" however I have never come across such an organised hotel. Seamless service, attentive to ones needs and care to detail without any fuss, casual chic. I would definatly come back to Koh Samui's BEST kept secret.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airbusa380300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We decided last minute to spend 8 days in Thailand and the myriad of island and hotel choices were overwhelming. The island of Koh Samui seemed to have what we were looking for and we selected the Napasai resort by Orient Express on recommendation by American Express Platinum Services. There are only a few other luxury choices on Koh Samui including The Four Seasons (I am a loyal client) and Six Senses. The hotel is about 10 years old and has an authentic, old school feel. It is the type of elegant, classic resort that will not try to win you over with gimmicks, flash, or passing trends. What you get is a seamless, perfectly executed relaxing experience
on the best location of the island. The grounds are immaculate, manicured, and lush. The gorgeous infinity pool overlooks the white sand private beach (a rarity on this island) and the service is superb. The service is friendly and professional without being intrusive or patronizing. The staff seems genuinely happy to work here and make your experience memorable. This is largely due to the charming general manager Iolanda Martinez who understands that luxury travel is about an authentic personal experience. Unlike many 5 star properties where you never see the manager unless there is a problem, Ms Martinez was visable morning to night making sure everything was kept smooth and on track. We heard her speak at least 4 languages making the comfort of her guests a priority.
Little details make the difference. We mentioned in passing to the food and beverage manager that we normally like rice milk with our muesli in the morning. The next day it was on the buffet. My partner, who is Greek, loves a cafe frappe (not exactly Thai) and the staff, unasked, tried several versions willingly until they got it just right?
The accommodation types are all more or less the same, unless you book a residence villa. Small independent villas with private covered decks vary only by location from beach front to hill side. We booked a beach side unit which all have unobstructed ocean views. If you like falling asleep to the gentle sound of waves lapping the shore then I would recommend this type of room. The resort offers 3 dining options- a classic Thai, a more formal international beach restaurant and a themed nightly generous beach buffet. We tried them all and enjoyed the Thai restaurant the best. There are some nice small restaurants around the resort to add to your dining experince. I would recommend the enjoyable Friday night walking tour of Fisherman's village with delicous clean street food. The small Spa is efficient and excellent. What it misses in marble, glitz, and glamour. it makes up for in a highly trained staff and great spa menu. Treatments are fairly priced, as are all the extra activities, and there is no need to leave the haven of Napasai for a Thai message, amazing pedicure, or rejuvenating facial. The hotel organized an outstanding private yoga instructor for us daily. There is a tree-top deck overlooking the coast for sunset yoga. Upon sadly leaving the resort, we spoke briefly with Ms. Martinez and she shared some of the hotel's exciting plans and ideas for the future improvements such as an up-graded gym (we agree) a more animated bar area, and a few other property upgrades. We look forward to seeing those on our next visit. However, in the meantime, highly consider Napasai for your next visit in Thailand.

Room Tip: Book beachfront villas for amazing views and sound of the waves as you sleep. Use the hotel's r...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We got a chance to experience the dinner at Napasai's Beach Restaurant (we did not stay here). After our tiring day full of activities we reserved a table at the beach but didn't expect anything much. Actually we almost cancelled it because we were really exhausted. However, we decided to give it a try and went there almost an hour late. The first thing that surprised us is that we got a private table reserved in my name in a nice (the only) beach pavilion while there were many couples of guests arrived before us who should deserve that. We were treated with nice selection of food and drinks. They made really good seafood and cesar salad I have to say. Drinks were awesome, I really need to come back for more! Oh and dessert is tooootallly what I loved the most that night! If I didn't have much from cesar salad and seafood, I would have already finished this awesome lemon tart! Absolutely love it here! Staff were way so friendly and nice to us, quiet and private away from the busy center where you can surely enjoy your private & romantic dinner under the stars.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked the One Bedroom Pool Residence 10 months prior to our arrival and after spending four nights at Napasai could not be happier with our choice.

Upon arrival our room was not ready, however the amazing General Manager offered us an unoccupied villa to change in and freshen up at until our residence was ready. That is beyond rare at any level hotel in my previous experience and just remarkable. This culture of service pervades the hotel.

Not 30minuts later our Residence was ready and wow. The bedroom was great, quiet with a great view of the Gulf of Thailand. The living room was great (though we did not use it too much) because the Residence has its own full size pool, outdoor dining area with fridge and wet bar and outdoor shower etc. This became our 'living room' where we would dine and spend all day. Truly just magnificent.

The food, contrary to what some other reviews have said was quite good and on par with many good Thai restaurants back in the States.

Overall, the service is what stands out the most. While any hotel can have nice rooms, activities etc. few have great service that anticipates your needs. Indeed the greatest challenges often are when something does not go according to plan how it is handled.

We had chartered a private boat to go to the Angkor nature reserve but due to a mix up by the charter company another family got on and left. With the boat out of cell phone range, and no other boats left on the island (peak Saturday before New Year’s) we were livid and disappointed. This is when the GM stepped in, called every boat owner on the island and literally out of nothing found us a replacement boat, stocked by her with Champagne and a wonderful lunch. This attitude pervades the resort and truly makes it a special place. While we wish our boat trip went off without a hitch, just how hard the GM Ms. Martinez worked to fix it truly speaks volumes about all of the staff at the resort. Great breakfest too, loved the variety of western and Asian dishes!

Thrilled we stayed there and we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuxHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This property is an orient express property - excellently maintained. It is very green with beautiful flora and fauna. Property does not have too many rooms and is very large allowing the beach, pool, restaurants all to feel open and available at all times even when the resort was fully booked - true rarity for beach resorts!

Service is great. Staff is helpful and well trained. Response time to everything was extremely fast and staff was always smiling and upbeat.

We stayed in a beach front villa - highly recommend these. Spacious room with a queen bed; excellent views, attached bathroom with dressing area, attached open portico if you want to commune with nature.

Very nice spa on the premises - oil massage is highly recommended. Ideal place to indulge!

The property is located far away from the hustle and bustle of other more crowded beaches - chewang, bophut etc. if you are looking for an exclusive beach resort this is it!

There is one huge problem - food is not good. The Thai restaurant which supposedly has an executive chef serves the worst thai food we had ever had - tasteless and uninspired. Every restaurant in fisherman village that serves thai food is better than this. Embarrassing for an orient express property to have such sub par food offering. The poolside restaurant serving continental fare is also average. Even the breakfast offering while large and varied is tasteless. This place needs new chefs desperately!

Room Tip: Beachfront villas Room numbers 106 to 110 best if you want to be away from the pool and want more q...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wings_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
10.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
1.5 mi away
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: $258 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing