We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere else but The Napasai!”
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nowhere else but The Napasai!”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at the Napasai (by Orient Express) for 12 days and we could have stayed here for ever! Welcome to a little paradise! What makes this place so special and unique is the privacy, space, peace and quiet. You can't find more romantic place.
The beach is 100% private indeed and for me it was very important. Water is deeper (at low tide) on Maenam and Bophut public beach but frankly the privacy and cleaness of the Napasai beach make the difference: no noisy volleyball games on the beach, no jetskis like everywhere else on Ko Samui, no garbage beach like in Manam/Boput beach (next door), no kite sellers, no massage girls . We went for one afternoon to Bophut and Maenam beach and we never wanted to return there. The Napasai was our home!
Although it is sometime hard to swim at low tide at Napasai (bathing only) we had super fun and swim in the lagoon in the afternoon at high tide.
And if you really want to swim at low tide the pool is huge or there is a channel to acces to deep sea water!
We liked: the beach, the quality of service (I agree with other reviews it is non pretentious but great service, simple, efficient, friendly, discret), Mrs Aoy, the beach restaurant and the tuesday barbecue on the beach with the free management cocktail by the pool, the ambiance at night, the hundreds little details, the free wifi, the macarons in our villa at night and of course our villa 103 (beach Front Villa).
We disliked: the only one day of rain we had, the day of departure, the outdated gym, the poor service with Bangkok Airways (big change after the napasai !).
Yes, we will for sure return to the Napasai !
TIP: If you want to go to chaweng, Bophut (downtown) take the public tuktuk, he stopped in front of the Resort every 10-15 minutes and return. So easy, so cheap and more fun than taxi!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andre p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    151
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
209
502
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Delicious luxury, Heaven on beach...

My family and I spent 9 days at Napasai after a week in the North (Chiang Mai region) where we stayed at the Mandarin Oriental (Dara Dehvi, so pretty) and 2 nights in Bangkok at the Four Seasons.
Napasai is managed by Orient Express. We found it very different from the Four Seasons as mentioned in one review earlier but I would not say it was better or worse. Simply different. At Napasai you feel at home, the service is not as sophisticated compare to Four Seasons but actually I like it a lot (maybe more) this way. People are friendly, geniune, helpful, simple and authentic at Napasai which has not always been the case in other 5 stars hotels we stayed at during our trip to Thailand.
One important point to mention, the rate we were charged at Napasai (we book all our hotels on internet) was 2 times cheaper the rates charged at our other hotels we stayed at in Thailand (except Bangkok where you can find great deals).
Great value for money for an Orient Express property.
The villas are pretty big with large bathrooms and massive bath. Unfortunately no separate shower. A lot of wood which was nice. Free wifi, (finally a hotel which doesnt charge for wifi!), DVD player, Ipod docking.
All reviews posted regarding the stunning views and great location are true.
We loved the sandy beach a lot. Private, large, peaceful. At low tide you don't have much water. But it is everywhere else the same we have been told ( there is a special channel to acces to deep sea though ) or you can just bath in the lagoon (my favourite!). And at high tide it is fantastic, you can swim , snorkel etc !
The beach staff offer kayak, windsurf, bikes for free. We did some kayak excursions in the bay every day and enjoyed it a lot. A catamaran is available at bath 500 per hour if I am not wrong.
I read some comments about the noisy fishermen boats before booking Napasai and I was a bit worried about it. It is true that you can hear a couple of boats early in the morning sometimes leaving for their fishing day. But frankly it was not an inconvenience at all for us. My wife and kids didn't hear them .
We had almost all our dinners on the beach and our lunch by the pool. We didn't want to go out. The prices charged are very affordable compare to Mandarin in ChiangMai or Four Seasons in Bangkok.
We just went once to fisherman village (10mn drive) where we tried the "starfish bar" for dinner . Very nice thai food and not expensive.
We are in love with Napasai and we shall for sure return next year! Thank you to the team ( Ae at Reception is an angel!)

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank J_BParis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I have travelled around the word I can say Napasai is a perfect stylish and relaxing holiday place.
This hotel have a soul... It is the most difficult thing for an hotel to have but that one have it.
People cant be more helpful and kind.
The location is probably one of the very best on the island if you want peace and quiet and space! The beach is just for you! I read before there was many huge rocks in the sea, so you could not go into the sea. This time is over obviously. They have removed the rocks in front of the Resort (200m X100m) and we went snorkelling by using the low tide deep sea path. Snorkelling is nice there but only if the weather is very sunny with no waves.
Food is good in the 3 Restaurants (Michelin awarded chef). My favourite is the Thai one but the most romantic spot is probably the beach restau. We had a private dinner on the "sky deck" of Napasai. Unique. If you can afford it, go for it!
Well, superb Napasai! Hope it will not become too popular because it is a hidden jewel and I would like it to stay as it is!

Room Tip: You can book front beach view villa or if you are travel with family, private villa is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chumnith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Let me start by saying that we enjoyed our stay here. The Napasi is a very nice hotel. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the grounds are well kept. But, I wouldn't put the Napasi in the same league as the very top resorts I have stayed. The rooms are very close together and there is just a certain sense of over the top luxury that is somehow missing.

The pictures of the waterfront look great, but in reality the beach is not very nice at all. It is not the fault of the hotel, they certainly do the best they can with what nature has provided. The entire island is surrounded by a very shallow reef. You can literally walk a couple of hundred feet off shore and only have the water up to your shins. The hotel tried to help nature along by excavating a channel, however, their efforts are pretty miserable. The channel has a thick layer of muck for its floor. Standing in the channel feels like standing in the middle of a muddy pond - it just feels gross. But, the pool is beautiful, and when you are relaxing at the infinity edge of the pool looking out a the Gulf of Thailand, you don't even see the beach.

One issue to be aware of here is that it is very very hilly. It was fine for me, but if you are one to expect a buggy to take you to your room or if you don't like to walk, this hotel has a difficult layout.

Breakfast was very good. It was included with our room, so I don't know what the charge is if you pay.

The spa was very small. I had a fine experience with the services, but my sister in law and brother in law did not. I could see that if there is high demand, the spa would not have the capacity. Bottom line on the spa - if you are looking for a spa break, then this is not the hotel for you. If a spa is just a nice add-on, rather than a focus, then the Napasi is probably fine.

One thing that was very nice was that our room had a very nice porch where we were able to bring in food from outside and have a nice alfresco lunch.

Overall, I give this hotel 4 stars. If you haven;t stayed at the Four Seasons and hotels of that caliber before, then you would probably consider the Napasi 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrotter127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent 9 nights at the Napasai with our 2 young children (5 and 18 months) in a Beachfront Villa Suite. The room was spacious and had everything we needed, as well as being located right on the beach, which the kids loved. The hotel is in a good location, with a number of good restaurants nearby, and is short taxi ride to places like Bohput, that have a range of reastaurants in its 'Fishermans Village' area. We ate a lot at the Beachside restaurant in the hotel, as it had a decent menu, and the staff were very attentive and made a real fuss of our two children. Nothing was too much trouble and although there was a childrens menu, we were able to order small portions off of the main menu, although that wasn't the case at the more formal Thai restaurant in the main part of the hotel.

The highlight for us was the infinity pool, which was excellent, and we spent a lot of time in and around the pool with our two children. Both my wife and I tried the Spa, which was fine, although not as opulent as some I have experienced in Asia. The Beach has had a lot of work done on it, and is fine for sunbathing and keeping kids entertained, but the sea wasn't really a place to swim in due to number of rocks on the sea bed, which was the main negative for us.

In general the service we received was first class, and the manager found out it was our wedding anniversary while we were there, and arranged for presents and flowers to be placed in our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed 7 night at Napasai.
5 stars non pretentious service although some staff at restaurant may need english trainning, very large refurbished villa with huge bath and private terrace. Breathtaking views on the sea.
The beach is great. The manager told us they have done big works recently to remove all the rocks in the lagoon, in front of the Resort. We spent the week in the sea! It is a private beach so it is very quiet and preserved. We went to some public beach during our stay in Samui, it was ok but so crowdy and dirty. At Napasai the beach is like on the brochure, clean, quiet and nice! A true sanctuary.
Food is excellent. We tried the 3 restaurants. The Thai one is good and affordable although it is of course not the price you will pay in a thai canteen or at the market. Beach restaurant is barbecue , sea food, simple but great. They put tables on the beach in the evening, It is magic! Ask for the little romantic hut for 2 on the beach (they dont charge extra)
There is a 3rd restaurant restaurant by the pool, fine dining style, the food is superb in that one but it is pretty expensive.
Once a week they have a complimentary cocktail at the pool where the staff and management join. Nice idea.
I will definitely return to Napasai and I can only recommend it if you like stylish, romantic, and exclusive beach Resorts as much as I do !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Just spent 3 nights as a family at the Napasai. Consistent with prior reviews the place is great - relatively small but a good pool, nice beach (though one should't expect to swim), great villa, and restaurants with high quality food. However service level of staff didn't quite match the hardware and the expectation of such high-end resort. With only 40 villas or so you would expect a little more attention to personal details of guests. Example - we were looking for a snorkeling trip with our kid. Apparently we didn't plan in advance and it was fully booked. But at five-star places you'd normally find the front or concierge who would find alternatives - which we did ourselves (a different local snorkelling operator)... We had turndown service guy knock on our door at 10PM one night... Breakfast room service which we asked for specific time (since we had a schedule for pickup outside) didn't come...

But on the other hand - software can definitely improve over time. So this place has the advantage of the great hardware!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeevChocoseiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
10.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#19 of 185 in Bophut
922 reviews
7.4 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Property: Belmond Napasai
Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing