We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please try!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
De Panne, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Please try!!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nine years we were so lucky to come back in Santiburi.
Really a home sweet home feeling!!
Perfect garden, perfect staff, perfect spa on a fabulous beach.
Next year the villas will be renewed, so it will not be 100% as now but 200%.
Please try one time and you will never go on another place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcetannemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    91
    21
    10
    11
See reviews for
283
349
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Praha
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We picked up Santiburi based on the TripAdvisor reports. And it did not fail! Beautiful garden (or palm forest, if you will :-) on the permisses, comfortable house in full privacy (just birds sang in the morning under the windows), clean and quiet beach (just the sea water was not fully clear due to the sand), excellent food in all the restaurants on the permisses (prices were far higher than in surrounding beach restaurants, but the quality, milieu and service was worth it) and especially the always helpful staff with their smiles all the day long. We would like to return.

Room Tip: All the houses are about the same, closer to the beach semms to be "fancy" but as the path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Its been over ten years ago that I was on Samui the last time. After a business trip in the Middle East, I met up with my wife at Samui. Considering the wide range of luxurious hotels on the island we decided in favor of one of 'The Leading Hotels of the World'. What a disappointment. Sanitburi has a nice location and the public areas, our room and the rsestaurants were beautiful, tasteful and kept impeccable. But that was about it! Its probably our mistake that we chose a resort that is so heavy on golf and families. We ended up feeling really awkward because we were looking for a relaxing, quiet stay in luxury. I am actually surprised how they gathered so many excellent tripadvisor comments. Everything was so superficial, staff was so pretentious and they completely missed out on this real friendliness Thailand is famous for. Everyone is smiling, but not even looking at you. You sometimes have to beg for attention. Service at the pool was veeery slow. They were simply not able to send someone over. I am sitting there and I am willing to spend money, but I cant find anyone to order cocktails. If you manage to place an order dont be surprised that it takes half an hour. The breakfast was super disappointing. The spread of hot dishes and little items is maybe okay for a Hilton but not if you pay that amount of money. I like kids BUT both parents as well as the hotel need to ensure that they don't monster the rest of the guests. We were talking to a couple from England - their honeymoon. They were also super irritated by the whole activity, kids jumping around, music etc. We were happy to leave after five nights. If you like to be on the golf course the whole day, this might be your place?!?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoofsteeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I live and work in Bangkok and visit Samui often to relax and play golf and there is no better place than Santiburi.
The service and management are simply the best with the GM always around catering to your every need. I also run a business with a big workforce and see the great job that is done with the staff here, trained to a high standard and look after every guest with a smile and the GM has to be commended for this.
Great place and would recommend to everyone with a family or who want to golf to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidjwilliams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We came for 4 nights over Xmas with friends and a total of 4 tweens/teenage girls, staying in the 2 bed Equatorial Duplex Suites. I selected the Santiburi on the basis of previous Tripadvisor reviews and the promise of abundant activities for the kids, both indoor and outdoors. We were certainly not disappointed and the kids had one of their best holidays ever!

First, the negatives. The resort, though quite luxurious, had a slightly dated feel. I understand it will be undergoing major renovation at the end of this year. The Equatorial Suites though comfortable, were slightly frayed around the edges, and the air-conditioning was a bit loud and curiously humid. The Master bedroom is a rather small space up a flight of steps which have to be negotiated every time one went to the bathroom downstairs.

Also, the food in the breakfast buffet was good but not to the standard one might expect from a luxury resort. The choice was limited, and the pre-sliced fruits were not that great. Our favorite breakfast item would be the soup noodles cooked to order, which were very good indeed. We had lunch twice at the beachside restaurant, and again the standard was competent but not excellent. However, these criticisms might be rather unfair, as our other meals were taken at places like Banyan Tree, Four Seasons, and Intercontinental with wonderful cuisine.

Now the positives, and there are many.

The resort is large but well laid out and very convenient to walk around. This is a big plus with kids, when you compare with resorts built on steep hillsides which require a buggy to go anywhere. The duplex suites are just next to the fun activities centre with 2 tennis courts, badminton, air-conditioned squash court, ping pong, billiards, trampoline, volleyball, gym, and plenty of rackets of decent quality. The "farm" has running chickens, ducklings, rabbits and turtles. Organised sports activities and competitions are planned everyday for those who like that sort of thing. The staff in attendance are friendly and helpful. The children really enjoyed the batik painting and candle making sessions.

The pool is of decent size, and only about 4 feet deep, so good for kids again. The beach is just another 2 minutes stroll away. It is kept quite clean. The sand is not fine and the sea was a bit rough, so not too suitable for swimming. All sorts of water sports could be arranged, including sailing. We booked a private tour to the Angthong Marine Park and the speedboat picked us up from the beach itself. Very convenient indeed!

The resort was very quiet on the first few days until after Christmas, and often it seemed the children had the beach and pool almost to themselves. Perhaps it was something to do with it being monsoon season?The weather report for Koh Samui was very foreboding, as storms and rain was forecast every day. In the event, although there were a few almighty rain showers, they tended to take place at night, and for a short time around lunch only.

The ladies booked massages at the spa almost everyday. They loved it, and rate it as very good value for money.

The staff in the hotel reception and restaurants were all friendly and attentive. The GM, Mr Optekamp was very courteous to guests. I did notice, as have other reviewers, that he was very stern to his staff. I think though that the GM has to run a tight ship to keep up standards!

Overall, I would highly recommend this resort to families with children of all ages. We would certainly like to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kongski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had trouble to book and choose the room on the phone for a family of 4 (2 daughters 19 and 17), we asked for 2 bed rooms but there was not much choice left since we decided less than a week before, not the hotel fault.

We selected the equatorial duplex room which was clearly a big mistake.
The so called master bedroom had no bathroom attached (one floor below) so we choose to stay on the attached bedroom thus not being able to enjoy the leaving room since the girls were sleeping upstairs. The room and bathroom are small and do not in my fair opinion offer value for money. The hotel clearly need refurbishment. The air are very noisy.

We try the food only once at the beach restaurant and the food was very disappointing.

The property is beautiful with a very nice pool also the floor is very slippery and a nice beach ( for Samui).
Many activities.

We decided to move out and inform the hotel. This was in 25 years in Thailand my worth experience dealing with rude staff. The reservation manager wanted to charge for the whole stay also i made very clear that i did not wanted and did not signed the form to allow the charge upon booking. I just agree to the normal practice of booking the first night.
During the heated argument the reservation manager even ask me to find a client to replace me which i find very weird..
After close to one hour argument the person propose to charge one night extra.
I ask to meet the GM and agree to come back in the afternoon.

I also agree to pay 1/2 night since i had inform them slightly after 12 which was fair.

When i came back they agree to my proposal. The GM was nowhere to be seen which was surprising because i believe it is always important to get feedback from unhappy customer.

I had many experience in the past with the Santiburi group and this was the first time i experience anything like that.

We move to Napasai where for the same budget we got a gorgeous 2 bedrooms residence with yoga room and private pool which was absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: Beach villa are nicer also clearly overpriced when compare with what is available in Samui in 5 star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marcnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family of 4 spent our annual vacation of 3 weeks at the Santiburi - a long time where you no details goes unnoticed! We travel a lot and can say that we are highly experienced travellers: but a well managed resort like the Santiburi Hotel cannot be found anywhere - even in Asia:
The staff is attentive, polite and you can feel the good atmosphere everywhere. A unique hotel experience, which is created by the top Manager Mr Optekamp. If anyone does not understand his management and makes unreasonable complaints about him - he surely does not understand hotel business!
Our family and all other guests during our stay were looked after in a very personal note - where can you find a hotel manager that is around his guests every day, greeting most of the guests by name? Where can you find a hotel where every staff member (especially the highly attentive Guest Relation Manager Mrs Larissa) is seeming INDEED happy to service and not just showing "stereotype" friendliness?
Of special mention is also the nicely arranged guest program - starting with a warm welcome at check in (with flowers and smiles everywhere) up to the Butler Service at the beach?

We have booked for next year already and will convince other guests to do the same!

Room Tip: Take the "Dalha Villa" in the 2nd row - wonderful location and a lot cheaper than the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juergen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
5.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
2.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,593 reviews
8.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
5.9 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
6.0 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 12/12 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Santiburi Beach Resort, Golf & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santiburi Beach Resort and Spa is a five star resort and a Member of the Leading Hotels of the World, with 65 villas, 12 Suites and four restaurant outlets, a Royal Thai restaurant, a Beachfront restaurant, a Pool Bar & Restaurant, a Breakfast restaurant and a Lounge Bar. The resort also consists of an Activity center, Water sport center and Santiburi Spa by Bhawa. The Santiburi Beach Resort and Spa is well known in Thailand as a first class Resort with a high level in both standard and in the quality of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiburi Golf Hotel Mae Nam
Santiburi Golf, Resort And Spa
Santiburi Resort Koh Samui
Santiburi Hotel Koh Samui
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing