We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tour to Angthong Marine Park”

Grand Sea Discovery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A company that renders services going to Angthong National Marine Park, Koh Tao & Nang Yuan, and Even Koh Pangan it is by using the Speed Boat with 2 engine, 3 engine and even VIP excursion. The company is giving a lot of amenities for the guest like:Breakfast included, snorkeling gear, life jackets, tour guide, medical kit, soft drinks & Water, kayaking and more. Just make the reservation for your tour. Now the company has some guides that speak different languages such as French, Russian, German, Spanish, Hebrew, Thai, Chinese, Japanese and English. What are you waiting for? Go and join us now!
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I am astounded to see so many negative reviews for this company after having such a great tour with them.

We were collected from our hotel bang on time in a luxury minibus and were transported to the pier where we were issued with a boat number and coloured string for our wrist to identify which boat we were on. there was a light breakfast of toast, bananas, coffee, water and juice available.

There seemed to a lot of people at the harbour but within just 5 minutes at least 6 or 7 speedboats were loaded and off. This is some of the most organised planning I have ever seen in Asia.

The boats were large, new and very comfortable and we had plenty of space to sit either inside or out. There was a huge esky filled with cold drinks which you could help yourself to.

The day consisted of a snorkeling stop at a nice piece of reef with many fish. Snorkel and masks were provided, fins were not and they are not needed in this small cove as there is no current.

My only negative comment would be that guests needs to be told not to stand on the coral as you can see the damage to the top of the huge corals and this beautiful reef will be gone if people do not stop standing and damaging it.

The climb up to the Green Lagoon was not for the faint hearted, but well worth the walk.

The lunch was very good and plentiful, rice, chicken legs, chicken curry, prawn curry, spaghetti and tomato sauce and lots of fruit.

We were given time on the island to sunbathe, climb the viewpoint, kayak or just relax. There is also a free locker system to safely store your bags whilst you explore or kayak.

There are Dusky Langur monkeys on the island to be seen if you look carefully

All in all we had a wonderful day, the staff were excellent and overall this is a value for money well organised tour with plenty to see and do and I would not hesitate to book another tour with this company.

Thank Loulou96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girlygirl363738, Manager at Grand Sea Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Grand Sea Discovery - the Speed Boat that cares.

I am very thankful that you manage to write a very nice review about grand sea discovery and rest assured we will continue our best service to all our guest and allow them to experienced not only the best but the family approached coming from us who loves to serve people.

Again thank you and hope to see you again.

Best Regards,



Grand Sea Discovery Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 191 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great day, they planned the places we visited well - great choice of islands and plenty of time at each location. Provide snorkelling gear which is great so overseas travellers do not have to bring their own. The only downside to this trip was that on the way back, we made a stop at another pier...to pick up people who did not make it onto the barge to BoPhut. We went from the 18people whom were actually on the day trip, to 45people. We were very disgusted because people did not even have seats...and it was a speed boat! It was such an uncomfortable trip on the way back that there was a lady crying and two elderly ladies who were getting soaked in the back seats, but couldn't move anywhere. These three ladies were actually on the day trip too. Besides this hickup at the end, it was a great day, just unfortunate that they had to end it uncomfortably and unsafely.

Thank Madeleine396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Sea, General Manager at Grand Sea Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Grand Sea Discovery

First and Foremost we would like to say thank you for the nice review you have sent to tripadvisor and rest assured we will try our best to lift up the kind of service we are giving to all our guest and also we will also include more training and exposure to all our staff so that they will be more worthy in rendering a very nice service to all our future guest.

We also hope we can again meet you in the future and again give you the service that is memorable to remember


Best Regards,


Grand Sea Discovery Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Unlike some of the other reviewers we had a really good day out on this trip. The head of customer relations didn't come across very well with his 'jokes' but you have to remember English isn't his first language. Breakfast was Coffee, Toast and Banana's and it was busy in the reception area but the trip itself was great. Everyone on the boat had a seat, the crew were really friendly and helpful. Soft drinks were plentiful and they even allowed people to buy some beers in Ko Tao and put them in the cool box. I was there for the chance to take photographs away from Ko Samui and not snorkelling and both islands gave me the chance to do this. No one who went snorkelling complained, but I cant comment on the quality. Lunch was adequate, but that's all. Ko Nangyuan was a beautiful place and there is a great opportunity from the viewpoint to take lots of great pictures. You can't take bottles onto the islands but the price of drinks there wasn't ridiculous so that wasn't a problem. We had a great day, our best trip and if you want to visit somewhere for a day, this is ideal.

Thank Blok103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girlygirl363738, Director of Sales at Grand Sea Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Grand Sea Discovery - The Speedboat that cares!

I just would like to say thank you for the wonderful message and ratings you have send to us through Tripadvisor and rest assured that we will do our very best in making our service a very good one and service that will meet everyone's expectations.

Hope to see and serve you again when you come back here in the Island of smile - Koh Samui


Best Regards,


Grand Sea Discovery Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Koh Samui and Phuket where we did 2 similar tours taking us out to the different islands snorkelling. The difference being the boat in a Koh Samui was jammed packed like a tin of sardines. Being so hot it was the most uncomfortable experience and not enjoyable at all. My husband and I sat at the very back of the boat along with 6 others! Totally ridiculous sitting 8 people along there! ( the only place left to sit ) which meant every time we stopped anywhere we had to stand up and move while everyone shoved past to get off and when every one got back on we had to stand out in the sun and wait for everyone else to get back on.
Also the smell of unleaded fuel was overwhelming, everyone had to cover their nose and mouths with their towels.
The tour guide was a European woman and was rude and condescending to the guests. I saw her roll her eyes on more than one occasion.
The beauty of the Islands were the saving grace for this tour, I would not recommend, go on a smaller, more personalised tour.

Thank Ennael2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girlygirl363738, General Manager at Grand Sea Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Grand Sea Discovery - The Speed Boat that Cares!

First and foremost i would like to say sorry for the not so good experienced that you had with us but also i need to make a investigation regarding the incident inside the boat.

*****The difference being the boat in a Koh Samui was jammed packed like a tin of sardines.
----Dear Khun Ennael.......first and foremost if i am not mistaken you prefer to have the small number of people because you said you are book as private but we tried to inform you that your booking is good for individual groups and i also explain to you that your boat capacity is 50 people and you are only 35 inside so how come you are telling now that you are like sardines inside. We make sure of the conveniences of my guest not the inconveniences that is why i am thinking why did you say you feel that you are sitting tight inside the boat.


**********Being so hot it was the most uncomfortable experience and not enjoyable at all.
-------Dear Khun Ennael when you did the trip and excursion it is definitely "SUMMER" so what i would like to say is the heat of the sun is not the responsibility of the company Grand Sea it is nature and i cannot control it neither each and one of us. When you travel of course there will be breeze coming inside the boat and all you need to do is to shelter yourself in a place where there is no rays of the sun.....quite funny your from Australia and you are afraid of the sun rays of hot season?




***********My husband and I sat at the very back of the boat along with 6 others! Totally ridiculous sitting 8 people along there! ( the only place left to sit ) which meant every time we stopped anywhere we had to stand up and move while everyone shoved past to get off and when every one got back on we had to stand out in the sun and wait for everyone else to get back on. *******
---------Dear Khun Ennael, i just would like to inform you that no one forced you to sit on that area because everyone can change sit like what you did because my staff said you change after you saw others changing sits? The boat sits are not reserved for anyone going inside it is a first come first serve basis......and of course when you stand up well simply because you including others needs to pass that area so others can go down....pls. be reasonable because with your group your the only one who actually complaint on the situation which is not really a big deal simple that others making it a big one.

But along the way the excursion is already done reviews are already written and we thank you you for this message but do not worry i am doing all the things that will enhance the quality of service we render to all our guest.


Thank you and have a nice day



Grand Sea Discovery Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Staying on Koh Samui we wanted to get out and explore further afield and this company were recommended by our hotel. We booked the one day trip to Angthong National Marine Park and were not disappointed. We had no standing around in blistering heat mentioned by another reviewer they had large canopies up with seats underneath and everything was organised in lines depending on the trip you had booked and we went through pretty fast. We did have half an hour waiting for everyone to arrive from various hotels and to get processed onto 3 boats but breakfast was also offered while we waited. We had fast trip to the first stop off for snorkelling, then on to another island and a wonderful walk to look down on the Emerald Lake and yet another trip for lunch, hiking or kayaking depending on your preference. A lot packed in. The boat is definitely not for those who suffer with dodgy joints as it rips across the water and can be pretty bumpy up the front but its great fun. The hiking and kayaking is strenuous and can be hard work in pretty high heat so perhaps not for the unfit but you can just sit near the beach and take in the beautifully clear warm waters and stunning scenery. We paid around £35 per head which I thought was good value for a lovely day out.

Thank JenD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girlygirl363738, General Manager at Grand Sea Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to say thank you for the nice message you shared here in Grand Sea TripAdvisor and we hope we can always meet your expectations and rest assured we will try our best to stay better and better and to deliver a very nice service to all our guest who will come in the near future.

Hope to see you again so that we can render a very good service to you again.


Best Regards,


Grand Sea Discovery
The Speed Boat that cares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Sea Discovery also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Grand Sea Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing