We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did come back”
Review of John's Garden

John's Garden
Ranked #24 of 116 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: John's Garden is a typical restaurant offering Thai and Western food in a warm and friendly place !
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I submitted a review for this restaurant on 23 July last year and said I would come back. We did come back in August this year and brought some friends along. The place is beautiful, and the food is good. I would recommend this restauarant to anyone. My only slight criticism this time was the slow service, albeit the restaurant was full. We will come back again next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 663 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

Attentive staff, who advised on the menu and helped us decide. Beautiful garden setting with tasteful lighting.The table and place settings were attractive and of a high standard. The food was delicious and well presented. What more could a person want?

Thank Little-ween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnsgardensamui, Propriétaire at John's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

hello, thank you for your review.
i am glad that you enjoyed the garden, the food and that the staff. it was our pleasure to have you in our garden and hope to meet you again in samui.
kind regards. with love from our garden.. john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Very good service, very nice food and very nice location, definitely suggested.
The think I liked most is the attention to details. The provide you with mosquito repellent and below the table we had smoke that wasn't disturbing (at least us).

I giving 5 (excellent) because a been there twice so I can confirm.
Try to book in advance because it is really popular.
We tried other 5 restaurants in the area and I think it is the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Norcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited tonight on trip advisor recommendations but were thoroughly disappointed. We thought the restaurant was very pretty on arrival however we were rushed our table then left for at least 15 minutes before anyone brought us a menu. This continued for the rest of the evening as we were ignored or rushed with very brusque service in equal measure. Had all the guests been treated this way, we might not have felt inclined to write a review however the French owner/manager spent a great deal of time schmoozing the numerous French guests. This was made more apparent when after ignoring our table for the entire evening, he shouted over the hedge 'everything ok?' Then didn't wait for our answer. We definitely would not recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Faye161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnsgardensamui, Propriétaire at John's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

will not thank you for your review....
funny.. because when i asked you if all was ok, first i did not shouted, and i got your answer that all was ok....
so easy to make a 2 page bad review ,then ask me to come at the table,,
yesterday as you could see we had rain in the garden and it was i bit of a rush as the garden is open air, and all the table was fully booked saying that we totally ignored you is a total lie sir, we do not ignore our guest, just completely opposite as you can read all are reviews, we do our work with love and passion, but yes some night stress and bad weather take over, and saying that all our guest have been treated this way... pur lie also.... glad you did not complain about the food, maybe that means that it was not to bad....
with love from our garden from the swiss owner... john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

John the owner is so hospitable and runs a great restaurant. The garden is great, we had our own hut tucked away in a corner, it was like an oasis. The massaman curry is fantastic and we all loved our meals. They did forget one of the meals but once they realised they were so apologetic and quick to bring it and gave us a discount. We did drive there and it is easy to find however there isn’t a lot of parking available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Garden also viewed

 

Been to John's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing