We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ambience, great food”
Review of John's Garden

John's Garden
Ranked #15 of 96 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: John's Garden is a typical restaurant offering Thai and Western food in a warm and friendly place !
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing ambience, great food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We've just finished dining at John's and fell in love with the beautiful garden. We choose this restaurant after reading reviews on trip advisor. We enjoyed our meal however, felt that it did not live up to the hype of other reviewers. Come here if you want a romantic evening with stunning surroundings.

Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    178
    55
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Brilliant Restaurant”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children aged 11 and 7) came here three times for dinner including Christmas Eve which was lovely. The food, service and setting were brilliant and the prices are very reasonable. The owner and waiters could not be more friendly and accommodating. The garden setting is beautiful at night. All of the food is of high quality. Definitely go here if you can.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthLivingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnsgardensamui, Propriétaire at John's Garden, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
hello,
thank you for your review, i am happy that you enjoyed our restaurant and that you came several times and also for our special x-eve dinner set menu.
it was our pleasure to serve you and hope to meet you again in samui.
wishing you and your family a great year 2014.
with love from our garden. john and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice kids friendly restaurant + very good food !!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Following some people advice, we went to John's restaurant with our 2 toddlers and found out it was so nice. 1st, the owner was very friendly, French speaker too. He brought the food for the kids in priority as they were starving and the dish was excellent. Also, our dishes were very nice. We would eat more and more. The atmosphere is very relaxing. 1 tip:The mojito is very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chourdou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnsgardensamui, Propriétaire at John's Garden, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
hello, thank you for taking time to leave us a review , i am glad that you enjoyed our restaurant, the food, the atmosphere and charlie special famous "MOJITO".
it was our pleasure to have you and your children in our garden.
wish you and your family a great year 2014, and hope to meet you again here in samui.
kind regards. john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Delicious food and service”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in Mae Nam for 3 weeks and tried a few different restaurants. John's Gardens is definitely the best of them, and we come almost every evening here now. The food is great, we have our favourite dishes now, the menu is very extensive. The waiters are very friendly. John - the owner - talks to every guest ensuring they are happy with everything.
As for Xmas dinner - we were actually there, it was really lovely 7-8 courses meal. We booked a few days in advance to guarantee a table.
I just can't understand people below complaining about not getting a table - you are just being ridiculous! It is usual for a great restaurant to be booked out on such important night, on other nights it is possible to just walk it and get a table without problem.
Anyway, 5 stars for John's! Really great place - hat's down. If you are in Mae Nam and would like a nice dinner - it is the place.

Helpful?
Thank Mariya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a lovely garden”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This is our third time tonight at John's and we surely will be back more. The food is delicious, place is nice, staff is very friendly (but not too much). Food: best Pad tai I had, masalan chicken is also delicious. Freshes are great also - best we had in a while. Overall - really nice place to come over for a lovely dinner!

Helpful?
Thank Vol4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Garden also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 

Been to John's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing