We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They are the BEST..!!”
Review of John's Garden

John's Garden
Ranked #15 of 96 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: John's Garden is a typical restaurant offering Thai and Western food in a warm and friendly place !
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
“They are the BEST..!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

4 visits in 13 days, and still trying to find other restaurants with same quality,....not easy, because the serviice and the taste and quality of them is very very good. You can try these location...Best wishes Heiner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heiner_2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    178
    55
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dinner in best quality and exclusive botanik atmosphere”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were at Johns Garden during our staying 4 times and each time it was excellent.
If it was the beef steak, or the chickensteak or the excellent schoklade cake, just to
mentioned a few of the excellent dishes you can have.
Very friendly service with good english command
we will be for sure back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great peaceful spot to have dinner”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Found John's Garden with my husband while looking for a nice place to have dinner with the two of us around Mae Nam. The setting was everything we asked for; a peaceful garden with beautiful traditional thai furnishing set in soft lighting.

John's garden serves mainly typical thai dishes and some European dishes as well (though did not taste any of the non-thai food so cannot comment on that). The thai dishes were lovely and well prepared, especially the prawn with black pepper and garlic was the best we've had on the island. If you like proper spicy food, "thai spicy", make sure to mention this when ordering. The food is somewhat pricier than at your typical road side joint, but the setting and set vie is what you pay for. The fresh fruit smoothies and desserts (especially flambéed banana with home made ice cream) deserve a special mention.

The waiters were really at tentative and service was quick and friendly.

The road leading to John's Garden almost made us turn around ( we were on scooter) due to the tacky bars and massage joints spread along the road, but fear not; you will find a perfect little haven when you reach your destination.

I recommend John's Garden for anyone who wants a break from the busy bustling of the island busier areas and is in need of a beautiful setting for a reasonably priced dinner. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is the place to eat in Maenam Beach. We stayed in Maenam for 15 nights and 10 of these we ate in Johns` garden restaurant. Food was excellent.One evening we had the steak and it was superb, just melted in your mouth.My husband can also give extermely high marks for the Massaman curry(which he had more times than not) another recommendation is the Thai sticky rice with mango.
Ambience is great, and as the tables are not close together it makes this even better.
Charley does a great job as barman /waiter too. He is a good laugh but professional with it.
Really glad we found this. John you do a superb job.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CressEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patout58
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We recommand this restaurant, delicate cuisine, wonderful garden”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We appreciated with my wife this restaurant nearby CocoPalm hotel. The garden is really impressive at night and the menu is various. We enjoyed everything we have chosen and the price is very good. 3 dishes and beer less than 700 Bahts. Coktails prices are reasonable according to our experience in other places in Thailand (ChangMai).

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patout58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Garden also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 

Been to John's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing