We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'fantasic hotel'!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Code

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Code
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'fantasic hotel'!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from our stay at code hotel.
After long nights researching the best place to stay on the island, we were delighted with our choice...from the moment we got picked up at the airport to the moment we left the service was fantasic.
I am very surprised at the recent couple of poor reviews on this hotel, as with a little bit of research you would clearly see that this is not located in the centre of the main resort, but it is a traquil hideaway that enables you to get away from it all.
The complimentary shuttle to and from the beach is a massive plus, and helps you get to the local beach in minutes, and clearly states in the reception area what time is drop off and pick up.
Joe was brilliant and was always on hand to help and assist.
We are looking to stay in samui again next year and definately would stay at the code again!!

Thanks you code
Tim and Liz Richards

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

Wonderful to hear that you had such a good time while you were with us!

We do all we can to make our guests' stays the very best they can be..!

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

With very best wishes,

Sara and the Code Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    132
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
112
600
68
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We did a lot of research on hotels prior to booking at Code, and were pretty excited about it. When we arrived, we couldn't help but be disappointed. While the hotel itself is nice, it is in a terrible location. If you want a quiet get away, far away from everything, this is the place for you. That being said, even the beach is a 15 minute walk, and its not even a very nice beach. There are some road side bars and restaurants that are also about a 15 minute walk, and they were lovely, but certainly not enough to keep you entertained for more than a few nights. The hotel does offer a shuttle, but the folks at the front desk were not very clear on the details (how often it runs, if there is a cost etc...). The pool and restaurant are nice, but it is really not the type of resort where you can plan to just hang out at the hotel all day and have enough to do (which is a problem since its so far from everything else!). The room itself was nice and clean, but a bit odd. The bathroom has a clear door and offers very little privacy. Ok for a couple, but not ideal for a group of friends!

We planned on staying for 5 nights, but ended up moving to a hotel in Chaweng Noi for the last 3 nights. I was with a group of friends, and we were not there to have crazy party nights, but wanted something a bit closer to bars and restaurants and shopping, and on a nicer beach. It would have been an 800 THB ($26) cab ride each way to get to those areas (Chaweng, Lamai etc...) from Code. Even if you want to avoid the party scene all together, I still suggest staying in Chaweng, Chaweng Noi or Lamai. Those beaches are much nicer than Bang Por (the beach where Code is, however they say they are in Maenam...they are not), and they offer more entertainment (low key and party alike).

In sum, this hotel might be nice for a couple who really wants to get away from it all, but I think anyone would get bored after a few days!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

Code's quiet private location is one of the reasons why Code is so popular - if you wanted somewhere closer to 'the action' of Chaweng and Lamai then Code really wasn't the right choice for you..

Code is close Bang Por Beach but as regards the official address listing we are listed as Maenam - this is the postal area which we are in.

I'm so glad that you managed to find alternative accommodation more to your taste closer to the bar scene you were looking for - hoping you had fun!!!

With very best wishes,

Sara and the Code team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a nice design hotel with a very beautiful view. You will require a car or motor bike to get around because it is 20 minutes or more away from anything. Great pool and very well equiped rooms. TV has a wide range of channels to view.

Room Tip: fantastisch restaurant in Bo Phut: The Larder Dichterbij en zeer goed: Barracuda (Mae Nam)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Yes, hiring a car really does put the whole island within easy reach - and we offer a wide variety of rental options from bicycles to rugged 4x4s all at very competitive prices...

So glad to hear that you liked the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Very best wishes,

Sara and the Code team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is quite good. The staff are very very nice and helpful. I choose this hotel because of its morden design looks cool. However, the interior equipments and design are average. Ocean view room has a great view. The location is very bad, far from beach.Sinces the axi rates on the island is almost trible of bankok, I will not choose this hotel again next time.

Room Tip: higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank echo_yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Ahhhhhh, sorry we won't be seeing you again...

Our multi-award winning interior design really needs to be understood to be appreciated I guess - the beds are handmade teak (from sustainable sources) dressed in Egyptian cotton with pure down duvets and pillows, the rug is handwoven by craftsmen in the north (from a project initiated to provide valuable income to isolated tribes...) The windows and the other suite fittings are all to the very highest international standards and specifications - but perhaps due to their understated nature some people might not notice their inherent quality...

As I said taste is something which is very subjective - the same can be said for our quiet private location - a breath of fresh air to most but sorry that it wasn't to your taste...

Glad that you did like the view though, and didn't object to the shimmering on the surface of the turquoise water or the tropical islands framed far off in the distance blocking out part of the horizon...

(Sorry - I'm teasing you...!)

Wishing you all the very best for the future.

With very best wishes,

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

If I remember well, my wife found this hotel in a Japanese magazine about interior design. Since we didn't have time to get on our honeymoon yet, we decided to head there.

So we get there after a long flight and head for the reception and we felt at home immediately. We got a cup of tea and two ladies came to massage our back to relieve the tiredness of the trip. We then are guided to our room and are introduced with the different parts of the hotel. Code has a very nice architecture and is located on a hill, which gives a splendid view on the sea.

The room was fantastic, and had, rare fact, a kitchen, and all the cutlery needed. Since we like to stay inside and experiment with food bought on markets, it was perfect. There was also a big sofa, which is the perfect place to relax after a day spent relaxing on the beach :) The air conditioning was really new and allowed us to always keep the perfect temperature in the room.

The balcony is very large and contains a sofa where we could smoke while watching at the sea. I actually felt asleep on this sofa a night and actually slept very well. The TV allowed access to TrueVisions, which allowed us to watch movies in the evening. The bed is very large, maybe even too large for a honeymoon couple :P

The location is far away from the main attractions, which makes for a very quiet place. But rent a bike at the reception for 300 baht a day and you can get anywhere on the island in a very short time. It's more expensive that most bike renting places in the island but at least you know where your passport is. A 7-11 and a pharmacy are conveniently located at the bottom of the hill. You can literally walk there in 10 minutes. The pool is also a marvel and there are plenty of long chairs around to sunbathe.

The food served at the restaurant is also very good, and served at reasonable prices considering it is a luxury hotel. If you want to get drinks, you can drink the beers from the minibar which are even cheaper that you what you would buy at any restaurant in the island. Sometimes, we would even come back to the room to find that a complimentary fresh fruits plate was brought in our room. The breakfast was also very good, especially considering the size of the hotel. You don't get as much variety as a Hilton or another huge hotel, buy you always start your day with a full-belly. The coffee was very very good.

The staff was always very nice and very helpful. Many reviews mentioned that already, but Joe was always there when we needed him and always went over way to help us with any matter. The reception even helped us to contact the boat company to go to Koh-Tao, as the phone standard lacked of English-speaking staff.

I could go on and on but if there's only one thing to say, it's that Code played a very big part in the quality of our stay in Koh-Samui. No hesitation, you should go and see by yourself.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid rooms on the pool side as the privacy is lower there, especially i you love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bourdux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Many many thanks for such an in depth review!

Wonderful that you had such a great time while you were with us...!

Yes, the kitchen facilities which we have in the suites really are an added bonus - and coupled with our popular cookery classes dining 'al fresco' on the balcony with the spectacular view can be quite magical and the perfect place to showcase your skills - and of course if you don't want to cook yourself there's always 'room service...!' Either way - wonderful...!

We can't wait to welcome you back sometime soon...!

With very very best wishes,

Sara and the Code team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

New luxury stylish boutique apartment hotel set on the hills of Mae Nam overlooking the northern coast of Koh Samui.
As a family of 4, we stayed in a 2-bedroom suite. The suite is well designed, modern contemporary and practical. Stunning panoramic views ... literally from our bed. Peaceful and quiet as the hotel is situated in the midst of tropical forest, about 2km from the main road. We rented a car (approx. AUD40 per day) for the duration of our one week stay for the convenience of travelling to the beaches and restaurants around the island. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Well done CODE!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bugis1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at Code so much!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon...!

With very best wishes,

Sara and the Code team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is fantastic, the views are absolutely stunning. The balconies are huge and have a full on front view towards the water and Koh Phangan.
The pool is great. I also enjoyed the room service.
It is only a twenty minute walk away from the next 7/11 and the water (there are some cozy looking little restaurants too) beware of the steep hill up to the hotel, some taxis refuse to drive up there (airport shuttles do but taxi's don't).

A good idea I found was the mobile phone guests recieve when they arrive, which you can take with you and if anything is happening to contact the reception, but also call reception and room service when you're in the hotel.

What I also liked about the hotel were the beautiful frangrances everywhere even in the apartment they had an oil burner with a nice fragrance - it gave this all over spa feeling.

The breakfast service could improve a little bit as most times coffee and eggs arrived after we were already finished with eating (often took around 20 minutes after we ordered) but once you know you just arrange with it - so no biggie.

Beautiful, luxurious and chic. But really the best about this hotel are the views.

Room Tip: Definitely the upper levels the 300 or 400 rooms as the views are nicer, there is no elevator, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Code, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at Code, and yes, the view really has to be seen to be believed...

Just for the record we have had no issues with taxis driving to Code - we call them every day... (It must have been a very lazy taxi driver you had!!!)

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel sometime soon.

Many thanks,

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
5.9 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
9.0 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
9.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.9 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Code? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Code

Property: Code
Address: 55/13 Moo 6 Bang Por Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Code 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning 'Code' blends cutting edge architectural styling with exceptional levels of comfort, making 'Code' the perfect choice for discerning guests. With all the facilities one would hope to find in such a setting including a state-of-the-art gym, spectacular spa, steam room, tennis court, restaurant and bar, coupled with a magnificent infinity pool complementing an awe-inspiring panoramic ocean view across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Siam with the islands of Koh Phangan and Koh Tao framed in the distance. The interiors of the 40 suites which comprise Code are composed to provide the very highest level of uber-chic luxury and won 'Best Interior Design' at both the 2012 Asia Pacific Property Awards and the 2012 Thailand Property Awards. This stunning design hotel can be best described as flawless...' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Code reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Code Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing