We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hill Residence
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Belmond Napasai(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Koh Samui(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$571
WHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fair House Villas & Spa(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$91
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samui Buri Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$80
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$77
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$32
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Resort Samui(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$88
$57
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florist Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$31
$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Code(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$109
$87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santiburi Koh Samui(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$395
$382
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
37
27
16
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
27
16
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsown transportwould stay here againinfinity poolbooked this hotelthe main roadjacuzzitaxikohislandsealuxurytilesmaenambikebangkok
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 104 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hill Residence for 5 nights during New Year in a Junior Suite. Starting with something positive, the view at the fifth floor was amazing and the room huge. We had two bathroom and balconies. The room had a high standard and modern style. But to be honest after 5 nights staying at this "hotel" we were happy to go somewhere else. In comparison to other hotels with same standard the Grand Hill was expensive and the service very weak. When we arrived our room was dirty and we found left things from the other guests. Even after talking to the staff nothing was done and the room still dirty. We talked to them four times and even showed pictures but they could handle to clean it. The same coca cola dirt was on the floor after 5 days so we just cleaned it and the dirty bathroom on our own. Unbelievable if you think about staying in a Junior Suite :-). We are traveling for a half year through South East Asia and experienced a lot of weak service but the Grand Hill promised everything but did nothing. The worst thing happened on 31/12/13 when there was no water for 7 hours till New Year's Day. For those planning to join a Gala Dinner or partying the night turned out to be stressy. We got back the money for this night so we were okay even the night was very messy.
For those who like good continental breakfast don't expect to much. The staff could not handle to refill plates, food and even the tables were dirty from leaving guests. In our opinion the breakfast was not worth for a "hotel" with such a price.
The location of the hotel was very good because it was quiet and with a motorbike (rented in Mae Nam, it will be 100B cheaper than renting it at the hotel) you can explore the whole Island.
In total you will find big rooms with great views in a quiet area of Mae Nam, but bad service, unmotivated house keeping and an empty breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Be sure to have a room with real window because the standard rooms just have windows to the hall and everybody could look inside when curtains are opened.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

First off - this is not 4 star. However, it's also not the price of 4 star ... Hence this is a mixed review and the Grand Hill Residence might be good for some.

First impressions were great. The place is HUGE. As a family of 5 this was perfect. We were looking forward to using the kitchen and to having a 'little bit of luxury' for a few days (we booked for five over Xmas).

After five minutes however we were having to stir management in to (a) re-cleaning the apartment, (b) providing clean towels (seriously), (c) issuing us with plates, glasses, cutlery and cleaning products for the kitchen. While it took a little convincing the staff did do this. We were disappointed that the previous attempt to clean (there had been one) was poor.

Further disappointments came when we looked for the promised gym - there isn't one. Breakfast was a daily adventure which left me feeling sorry for the staff. Basically the staff are very nice, concerned and wanting to help - however they just didn't get what might make for a western breakfast - for example, the coffee pot (for real coffee) was filled with instant coffee; the eggs and ham breakfast used ham that had been sitting in 'warm' water for an extended period of time. Normally we just stuck to toast and scrambled eggs (which the kitchen managed very well).

There were other niggling things which didn't work (e.g. the jacuzzi bath and phones in rooms), but in the end the beds were comfortable, the air con was effective, the pool was clean and the space was good for a family.

Warning - most staff speak no English. Also, for a couple of nights we suffered poor sleep due to noise from upstairs - this was simply from the thump thump thump of people stomping around the flat; sadly at 3am. We couldn't hear music or voices, but the stomping did prompt us to visit them twice to ask politely but in the end what could they do...? a solution to this would be to book a top floor flat.

All this said, if you get a good price and want loads of space with nice fittings - then this could be for you. I would recommend you get paper plates and plastic glasses etc if you need to use the kitchen, or be prepared to ask for these things. Also, be proactive with the kitchen over breakfast - they can customise what they do if you ask.

Room Tip: Book a top floor flat - avoid the sound of people walking above you.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vornFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was shocked to be given a room with no external window on checking into this hotel. The hotels website and booking sites are all completely misleading regarding this. I had various other issues with this hotel but they are all kind of insignificant compared with me being given a room with no window!

I would recommend ignoring any photos or descriptions of room types as they seem to be intentionally misleading! Only stay at this hotel if you are happy to have no external window.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank mattjamestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We booked a DeLuxe Room with sea view and that is our story:
a) First room ground floor terrible unpleasant musty smells
b) Second room ground floor as well terrible unpleasant musty smells
c) Third room ground floor cockroaches on balcony and in whirlpool (bath) Ugh / Yuck
than we asked for room on upper floor. Manager showed ugly room on 5. floor not with
sea view and after we asked again for sea view because we have booked DeLuxe Room
he showed additonal room same floor with sea view. View was nice.

Next day for breakfast it was very rudimentarily without Muffins/Croissants which were stated on Menu card!. Kitchen didn't comply with good status and staff was very rude and very unfriendly. Amenities like Gym and Sauna was not finalized. Within elevator there was still safety film and water in pool was smelling.

Room Tip: At least upper floor - at no time ground floor
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirkenheideStefanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Amazingly is supposed to be a 4star hotel. I CANT BELIEVE IT. Even for the price you pay it is really expensive for the standard of the island. I will.detail my unforgettable experience...
It is located on a mountain that is ok if you want to be apart from everything.
The swimming pool, to me, the best of the hotel, usually has the water as green as the sea. If you are lucky once a week they clean it and you can have a bath looking at the sea...far away.
Staff dont speak english...at all! Amazing for a hotel of this supposed category...even the recepcionists are not able to explain things regarding to your room.
We arrange a transfer and was not there when we arrive to the pier, altough I have an email confirmation...
breakfast start at 7am and at 7:05 they told us that the continental breakfast was finished. we order an english breakfast with eggs, bacon and sausage (as the foto of the menu) and they gave us one fried egg. I ask for a fork and they gave me bread....so I eat the egg and I decided to do the check out asap.

The room is named luxury room and it was more like a hostel one. the view of thw window was to a corridor and the window foesnt close ptoperly. If you put on the conditioned air you cannot sleep by the noise. the only point is that it was cleanthe worst hotel I have been in Tailand regarding to the price. i cannot believe anybody pointed as a good hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmssmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews