We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barracuda Restaurant - CLOSED

Barracuda Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: **This restaurant have moved locations. It is now known as BARRACUDA @ The Wharf.**
Rotorua
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Cosy little restaurant, tucked away down a side street. Well worth finding! Excellent, attentive service. Food delicious. We tried duck and sea bass for mains and all agreed they were yum! Variety of starters all voted great. A little bit different from all the other restaurants we have tried during our stay in Koh Samui and deserving of its high rating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    68
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
235 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

As as my habit, I am evaluating this restaurant within its local context (and not, for example, to a meal in New York or London, etc.). Barracuda is a fine choice for dinner in Koh Samui. We were not staying particularly close by but it was worth the trip. The restaurant (which I understand is moving to the beach, yay!) has a pleasant and relaxed decor. Service was good, though not exceptional. The selection of wines by the glass is limited but adequate. The homemade tortellini of duck confit is ambitious and about hits its target. Firm and tasty. The fish dishes are very good. I don't eat pork and was disappointed not to be able to try the monkfish (it's pre-wrapped in prosciutto), but the sea bass was nicely done. We shared the tagliatelle with mushrooms, which was unremarkable, and the salad of asparagus, which was a good accompaniment. We aren't usually dessert-eaters, but the hot chocolate lava was excellent. In general I was disappointed by the restaurants in Samui; Barracuda was the exception.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our third visit to this wonderful restaurant. Each year we come to Samui we have to visit it and it never disappoints us.
Food is always delicious and exceptionally presented. Service is without a doubt excellent. The owner Ferdinand is hands on very friendly and professional, ensuring the whole environment works like clockwork.
Whilst these are not Thai prices more slanted towards European they are still excellent value for the quality of food.
We shared our starters of seared tuna and calamari on roasted watermelon both were delicious.
Our mains were the fillet mignon and the duck exceptional.
We then shared the chilli flavoured chocolate mouse which was to die for.
Along with the food we had two martinis a bottle of Chilean red and two after dinner cocktails and two espresso's our bill was TB4370.
In Australia and NZ we would be paying twice this price for the equivalent evening.
We were told by Ferdinand they are on the move have outgrown the site and that was obvious last night with the amount of people they had to turn away. Their new site is going to be in Boput so we can't wait to return next year and see what they have done!
A must to book if you want to experience this wonderful restaurant .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterton Drakensberg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great music, great fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

A lovely friendly environment, with foot-tapping, head-bobbing music to groove you through the meal.

As my partner pointed out: "We're on an island. There's a boat in the restaurant. It's called Barracuda. You should order fish and smile, and not moan about the duck."

The service is warm and the seafood is really a pleasant taste adventure.

Helpful?
Thank Wellhellodarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value for your money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Food was excellent, especially the fish and good value for your money, the Service was very good and more than happy to recommend dishes and advise on if hot and spicy and would accommodate to your palette. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nannette89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing