We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in Thailand so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barracuda Restaurant - CLOSED

Barracuda Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: **This restaurant have moved locations. It is now known as BARRACUDA @ The Wharf.**
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best meal in Thailand so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I'm a very fussy eater I literally won't eat anywhere that looks funny as I'm a hygiene freak. This restaurant run by a super kind German man and his beautiful Thailand wife gave us the best meal and service better then most places in London! The waiters constantly do circles to make sure all are attended too. The food is super clean and tasty we had scallop for starters and sea bass with pesto and also a super king prawn spaghetti lets not even talk about the desert omg I'm getting hungry! The place gets fully booked quick so book in advance. There's not many seats as the owner would rather deliver good service as suppose to having loads of people waiting ages for food as the kitchen isn't big enough I would highly recommend. Our bill was 2000 was worth every penny!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    68
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Papunya
Level Contributor
321 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Very very nice night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and i went here for dinner 3 nights ago and had lobster, prawns, fish and salad for dinner and it was beautiful. We also had some beautiful sweets after diner and a beautiful bottle of wine and some nice cold Chang beer. Really nice sea view and lovely atmosphere and excellent friendly staff. Would really recommend this place to dine out in Koh Samui

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dannyvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No wonder why this place is rated Number 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This place had Fantastic Entrees , Mains and deserts. There were 4 of us and we each had something different from the menu and every single meal was as good as you get in any 5 star restaurant anywhere in the world.
Not only was the food great but so was the service, they were very attentive and polite. As everywhere in Thailand the wine is a little pricey but I would recommend this restaurant to everyone that wants a classy meal while on holiday but not have to pay the world for it..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granttoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbirey-sur-Ouche, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very creativ and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We 've tried this restaurant at diner. The menu was varied and very different that we usualy find in samui.

our experience was excellent because our choices were tasty and very surprising. For exemple the idea to mix fish, lentils and chorizo. The german manager was very attentiv with the quality of service. We recommand this place at people who like creativ cooking.

Helpful?
Thank micot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One visit to this restaurant is not enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

This restaurant is simply brilliant. We booked to come here and as soon as we had eaten our first course, we wanted to come again, so we made two more reservations there and then. Having just eaten there for the second time, we now wished we had booked sooner in the first place so we could have enjoyed more meals here!! The food is amazing, we can particularly recommend the lobster and crab tortelini, the lamb (you will not believe that it is possible for lamb to taste this good, it is the best lamb we've ever eaten), the filet mignon (this literally melts in your mouth) and the white chocolate and carrot fondant desert. Although, I am sure whatever is ordered you will enjoy it immensely as everything we have eaten here has been of exceptional quality. The service is brilliant too, you are really well looked after from the minute you enter the restaurant. We only wish that we had a restaurant such as this where we live. The restaurant will shortly be moving to the Bo Phut area so make sure you get here while you can, or be prepared to travel from Maenam to their new location, you won't be sorry that you did.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank the_two_travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing