We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barracuda Restaurant - CLOSED

Barracuda Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: **This restaurant have moved locations. It is now known as BARRACUDA @ The Wharf.**
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

small place, great service, superb food, have to book several days in advance. Just at the corner of Maenam only cross lights. Parking available for cars !!! take the beef, remarquable !!! Surely One of the few best restaurant on the Island out of the 5* hotels

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank patnou310155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    68
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Food with Equally Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visited this restaurant based on the suggestions and reviews of TripAdvisor users. Fortunately I made a reservation beforehand. You wouldn't believe how many guests were turned away when we were there for dinner (the restaurant is only open for dinner).

It is a small restaurant with just 9-10 tables. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Ferdinand. He made us feel at home. So does the rest of the staff.

The food was cooked to perfection and we really enjoyed our meal. Good food and good service comes with a price. But I think it's worth it.

There isn't any big signboard along the main road and you might easily miss the restaurant. Use the traffic light as a guide (there isn't many traffic lights on the island). Turn at the traffic light and you'll find the restaurant.

Note: Make reservation to avoid any disappointment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chankwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in koh samui!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is by far the best restaurant in all of koh samui! We tried several restaurants across the island but this is perfection! The staff were amazing, the owner looks after every guest, could not have been happier. If you like amazing food for great prices you must check this place out! Be sure to make a reservation as often fully booked. Thank you barracuda directly squeezing us in and your wonderful service. Food is to die for!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BriMann1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good but food over-rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Having read the reviews was expecting an excellent meal but was a bit disappointed. Service was excellent & restaurant was busy but though the food was well presented & high quality ingredients the taste was average & portions were small as we had been warned. Prices were high compared to the rest of the island. Worth visiting but for us once was enough!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazza1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST if ever in that area!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were there with my husband in November, read the reviews here, and decided to try it out. Compared to the regular meal in Thailand is more pricey, but OMG will it be worth EVERY PENNY! It's delicious, ambiance is simple, there is no wine selection, basically just one red, one white and one rosé... but they are all perfect so u don't need to be picky!! Ferdinand (the owner) is super nice, friendly, and with the help of his wife they create a perfect service and even more perfect food. We ended up going TWICE to this place. The lamb steak, the lobster tortellini, that mango salsa in the crab rolls, and the lava cake with raspberry sauce-- srsly: mouth, drooling all over again. Recommendations: Make a reservation! Also, they are closed on Sundays and Mondays!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing