We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Course, Poor management.”

Santiburi Samui Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Excellent Course, Poor management.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Played five rounds of golf at Santiburi Golf Course in January, its a tough course to find but when you eventually do you won't regret the stunning views.

Its not cheap at 5000 baht a round including caddy and buggy, if you want clubs that an extra 2000 baht and shoes another 500 baht, its a very commercial course and they certainly know how to take the money! Caddy tip was 500 baht a round on top of this, one wierd point is that you are not allowed to drive the buggy, only the caddies do this.

The course itself was in reasonably good condition, two of the holes were dreadful though as they were being repaired. One major problem was the lack of watering holes! On three of the rounds only 1 Drinks station was open, this is very poor compared to other courses in Thailand.

After each round we had drinks in the bar which was excellent.

To summarize, the views are fantastic, the golf course ok! there is no visible management on or off the course so any issues cannot be dealt with, the caddies were all great and the food and drink after the round was good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jonip1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    55
    22
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Lovely golf course, not the easiest but a fair challenge! Tee times always available and a very enjoyable course.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whatservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Challenging Course”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Played two rounds in January. Course was in good condition. Very interesting playing with a caddy who is mandated to Drive the cart. Most greens were in good shape. A couple were in need of some attention. I was confused on my first round as most courses I gave played in Asia are measured in meters, not in yards. This course is yards. Only complaint is cost, almost $200 US when you add in tip and transport. They do not gave any multi-round discounts which caused me to cut back on what would have been two 36 hole days.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing course with stunning views”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have played this course for many times and it never ceases to amaze me. It is difficult and technical course and high handicaps should bring lots of balls:-)). The caddies are not what you would expect them to be on such an expensive course...... But that is Thailand. The back nine is longer and much tougher than the front nine. On Wednesday they have a sports day and the fee is 50% cheaper. Great course though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing - the Beast!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I played with 12 other guys in January - we all hired everything and the service and staff were brilliant - the course views and location are incredible you are literally on the side of a hill! Caddies and carts are the norm and well worth the money - we really enjoyed our drinks after and great snacks and those views! Course is challenging!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santiburi Samui Country Club also viewed

 

Been to Santiburi Samui Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing