We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Swiss Garden Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 97 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Went in here last night after eating somewhere else, just to view the menu for future reference...
The staff came out the kitchen with what looked like gogo bar girls and were laughing an saying something something in Thai very loudly being a bit obnoxious to be fair
only one coupl were on the restaurant which is more like a Roadside hut
I asked for a menu and explained I had already eaten for that night,
menu was exhausting an hard to read prices not as cheap as made out on trip advisor
When I Thanked the waitress in Thai and told her I'd try the place another night, she snatched the menu off me and shook her head
They say Thai pol are very friendly and the majority are, when they're getting your money as soon as she knew I wasn't dining that night she treated me like dirt
I won't be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swissgarden, Inhaber at Swiss Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Biggie 81
Thanks please let me, I will do this to comment on some points.
Our restaurant is not an old hut on the road as you describe it, but
a modern restaurant in old Thai style kept. Our restaurant is very
clean, what is estimated by the many international and local guests.
By the way, we were just last month by the food and Drug Administration Surrathai as
verry clean kitchen excellent!
I was wondering how you can express an opinion about the food and ambiance, if you looked just outside my restaurant only in the menu and have eaten not with us?
Work for us no GoGo girls, but family members of my wife are the most and
that are just sometimes a bit loud, this is purely and simply to their Joie de vivre, which is generally still to spuehren in Thailand.
As you can see, I take very seriously the criticisms and learn time and again from it!
It would please me very if you are the next time in Samui, personally host
to be able to get a konstruktieve critique then after you.
Sunny greetings from Samui
Swissgardenrestaurant spicy on the beach
Hans and Su Schmid-Hathairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a cheap little gem”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This place is amazing, they are really cheap and really nice people. Food is quick an cheap and very very good. It's not as beautiful to to look at as some but the view is amazing. 100- 200 baht price range.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Markfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“No Fondue!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stopped here for a lovely lunch of Phad Thai & King Prawns. Everything was freshly cooked to order. All prices were reasonable but this is probably due to it being a 15min drive from Bo Phut. Tables have a great view across to Ko Pha-Ngan & you can watch fishermen fishing by hand!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Absolutely good place for lunch.”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I was just passed the restaurant and wondering in restaurant's name, and then i stopped for lunch there. Restaurant's server and service were good and friendly. The foods absolutely good and very worth for value, and burger was real swiss tasty. Good point of restaurant is located on MeaNum beach and very nice and quiet view.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice_Ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dont be put off by the name,This restaurant produces world class Thai Cuisine”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I manage a top London Resaurant and have been lucky enough to have eaten all over the world in top restaurants such as The French Laundry, El Bulli, Nobu, Tetsuya, The Fat Duck David Thompsons "Nahm" (Londons Top Thai Restaurant) and numerous Michelin starred restaurants all over France and the UK. I have recently returned from holiday in Koh Samui and ate all over the island including road side food and fine dinning in sumptious resorts and can honestly say that the Authentic Thai food I experienced at the Swiss Garden was by far the best on the Island, The salad's ,soups curries and especially the dishes towards the back of the menu titled "Thai Herbs" were all sensational, Eat it like the Thai people, super spicy but always include a really mild dish such as a coconut soup to help cool your pallate as your eating. They even went out of their way to prepare a Thai Delicacy which ate on the Island 20 years ago called Pad Ped Gop which is a frog dish and strictly for the hard core. I cant recomend The Swiss Garden highly enough

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Garden Restaurant also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Swiss Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing