We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Samui Native Resort, Mae Nam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samui Native Resort and Spa
Ranked #23 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Blackpool, U.K.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Samui Native Resort, Mae Nam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is lovely. It's only a ten minute walk from the town but it's in the jungle ! There is a great swimming pool surrounded by a large jasmine hedge ( smells fab ) and the whole area is filled with lush tropical vegetation. The rooms are all semi detached bungalows, containing large bedrooms with fridge, a kettle and huge bed. They were cleaned every couple of days, although we received fresh towels daily. Our bathroom was open at one side into the jungle. Unlike the bedroom which had air con, the bathroom was very hot and there were quite a few mosquitoes around. We lit citronella tapers, stuck in an empty coke can to guard against being bitten ! One night I saw a massive spider which was very unnerving, although my husband was unconcerned ! The noise of the jungle at night is unbelievably loud but didn't disturb our sleep. The shower was warm, not hot but adequate. The restaurant served a nice breakfast, and we rented a scooter for 180tb. On the nights we walked into town, we were glad we'd taken torches. There's a shop nearby which sells cheap beers, snacks etc., The beach is fabulous. Not crowded at all, and only one friendly hawker, selling fresh fruit. In the town, there's a couple of 7/11 stores, lots of souvenir, handicrafts and other shops, restaurants and a few ATMs. The main road is quite busy so be careful if you rent a scooter. It's only twenty minutes or so to to Chaweng, which is very touristy and loud. There are taxis (songthews) going up and down the road all the time. All in all, a great, reasonably priced place to stay - if you don't mind spiders ! Well, it IS in the jungle !

Room Tip: Take a torch for the walk into town along the jungle road at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackpool-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
33
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just a short walk from a beautiful beach, passing a lovely temple, hidden in a jungle, is this resort.
We couldn't believe our luck when we seen the room for 450baht double fan room. It was clean and spacious with a lovely bathroom! After a horrendous sleep the night before, we welcomed the peace and quiet offered here. Staff are very friendly.
Would strongly recommend this place if travelling on a budget, you've struck gold.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

amazing place! loved the staff and owners they made me feel like home!! helped me with everything. rooms are huge (!!!) and very clean with ac and fan (just cleaned my room once in 4days though but I think if I would have asked for it, it wouldnt have been a problem!).. location is a little bit far from the beach (10-15min walk) but I knew it when I booked it and it was worth it.. you can rent a motorbike if you're too lazy to walk (or then dont stay here!) pool is clean and big enough for a swim.
highly recommend this place its really value the money (very cheap though!).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

After a long flight it was a lovely to arrive at an oasis in the jungle, quite location. Only 10 mins from Mae Nam beach. Staff are wonderful, bungalows large and clean. Excellent value for money, pool very clean and welcoming. Food (tasty) and drinks not overpriced. You get the feeling it is home from home, a good base to the see the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 120Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I loved staying here.. The rooms are lovely, the pool area is cosy and the Staff were helpful, friendly and Andy had good taste in music at the Bar! I stayed for almost 3 weeks last year and wish I could go back. Highly reccoment this place. I was backpacking and it didn't hurt my budget too much either, Food at the Bar is excellent and resonably priced. You will need to hire a scooter if your staying here as it's a little further out of the towns, but well worth it for the atmosphere and seclusion. I would get an air-con room if I were to go back, for a couple of pound extra it's well worth it.

Room Tip: get air con, for the extra couple of pounds,well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Pros:
•Excellent/friendly service-, Poh and Andy are amazing hosts
•Delicious food, for a very reasonable price
•Spacious rooms
•Good vibe, especially at the bar

Cons:
•Lots of ants in our room (but they did die from some insecticide)
•They forgot to clean our room after our first night


  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotter154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Simply because its a real life out there, exelent staff, great rooms, at a very low cost, the food sucks but the beer is cold, and what more can you wish for. This place reminded me of being in the australian outback, laid back and a sence of family relation, i have never felt more welcome, in any hotel i ever stayed , over the past 40 years.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Nam hotels
0.7 mi away
Amarin Samui Hotel
Amarin Samui Hotel
#21 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hammock Samui Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#16 of 52 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kanlaya Park
Kanlaya Park
#12 of 52 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ampha place hotel
Ampha place hotel
#1 of 33 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Native Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Native Resort and Spa

Property: Samui Native Resort and Spa
Address: 13/3 Moo 2 | Soi 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Native Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samui Native Resort - An idyllic Resort in SamuiThe Samui Native Resort draws inspiration from Family “to find inner peace,” and the resort in Samui is dedicated to guiding its guests on a journey of calm, pleasure and the satisfaction of reconnection to the self.The history of this charming Samui resort is one of family, friendship and care, creating a resort, of unique design and close personal intimacy. At The Samui Native Resort Ko Samui, a guest’s preconceptions of a Samui hotel and a Thailand holiday are transformed into an experience of union, sociability, and unimagined pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Native Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Native Hotel Mae Nam
Samui Native Resort And Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing