We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Learning Thai cooking with Sonja is a whole adventure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Cooking Classes

Thai Cooking Classes
Ranked #32 of 95 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If you are somebody who loves Thai food and you enjoy learning how to cook the food you love, then you have found the place to go Koh Samui – ‘Sonja’s Thai Cooking Classes’!In this private course you will learn from an experienced chef how to cook your favorite Thai dishes – step by step we teach you15 dishes of the Royal Thai Cuisine.5 dishes will be prepared by yourself in our course kitchen, the preparation of the other dishes will be explained to you. You decide which dishes to cook.Minimum participants 2 personsOur classes are private and small – starting with individual groups of two or more people. If you want to learn cooking alone you still will pay the price for two people. Think again about it, cooking is more fun if you cook together with some one. Absolutely everything is ‘Sanook’, which is the Thai word for fun, meaning you will have fun as you learn to cook Thai food with us.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Learning Thai cooking with Sonja is a whole adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Learning with Sonja is a whole adventure on its own and you have to go there if you want to know what I mean! We followed several cooking classes in Thailand but never with such an experience.
You might read that the course is “expensive”; however even if you can find other price ranges, by Sonja is the only place where you can learn 15 dishes and make/eat 5 of them! and all during a personalized and private lesson.
It’s worth it and she cares about her clients; we’ve expend almost the whole day together and we would like to repeat this adventure/experience again.

Back home we have implemented her tips and tricks in the Thai kitchen and with great results. J

Go there… you won’t regret it.

P.S.: We loved her personality and sense of humour!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diegadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    22
    1
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sonja's Thai Cooking Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a fantastic day with Sonja this week as we cooked a 5 course lunch and learned more about Thai food in a few hours than I had in a few years.

If you want to watch her cook, you can - but you can also tell her to sit down and teach you while you do it.

Sonja definitely has a polarising personality - if you're the type to get offended you should probably go somewhere else - but we loved her and followed her to the markets afterwards.

Unfortunately we've run out of time to go back for another round of banter - give her a go and have a laugh while you learn.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuRooVy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stuff your pie hole here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had a late breaky at sonjas. She didn't have the English breakfast I wanted but the German one was filling. The baking was delisious as well. We stayed and had a chat with Sonja and one of her local expat friends. Good folks, great food and a thought provoking conversation afterwards.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Learned a lot, great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Sonja is a chef w/ a huge personality. Go there w/ a sense of humour and have a good attitude and you'll have a great time. We learned to make classic Thai dishes, and she took extra time to explain the differences btwn some of the Thai dishes for us. We ate 5 courses of delicious home made Thai food, and the best part was that it was a private lesson. It was a bit pricier than a few of the other lessons we had seen online (only by a few hundred baht though) and it was totally worth it. Thanks Sonja!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank junketjunkies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“yummy food, down-to-earth hosts, above and beyond helpful, insider tips on the island, fun, relaxed and humorous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

A friend and I chose Sonja's cooking class as I have gluten allergy and my friend is a fussy eater and Sonja's seemed to provide alot of choice and an extra dish for a similar price. Sonja was kind enough to advise approximate cost for travel from our location via various methods (ie song tae, taxi & moto) so we didn't get ripped off - and this was helpful when negotiating a price with the taxi driver.
Upon arrival, Sonja welcomed us with a down to earth attitude and we felt comfortable and at home straight away, like visiting an old friend. Sonja went off to the market and left us with the most lovely, gentle, helpful, humourous thai man, a thai chef from a local restaurant who spoke english well enough to explain things while still making it feel very authentic. Anan gave us his email address for when we returned home, just incase we needed help with our thai cooking - he was truly a sweet, helpful man and new exactly what he was doing in the kitchen. The food was beautiful and Anan made it seem so easy - we were amazed at how easily we could make our favourite thai dishes. It was great to feel relaxed and have time to pose for pictures :) Upon leaving, we were given a complimentary lift of the back of Sonja and Anan's moto's and Sonja was great with my friend who was in a skirt (hadn't planned to go on a moto and this was her first time so she was a little scared - it was a good small dose of moto action for her lol). The next day was the Songkran New Year festival and we are glad we took Sonja's advice to extend our trip by a day so as not to miss it, but also her insider tips on how the day would go and what to expect (and what to wear so as not to ruin good clothes). Funnily enough we saw Sonja accross the hugely crowded street and she made her way accross the road just to give us a big hug and say hi and that she was glad we stayed to see the festival - after a friendly water pistol squirt (if that sounds strange, goodle sonkran lol) to say hello! and obviously travelling in a foreign country, I was one of those paranoid about what i ate - not wanting to lose any time hugging a toilet bowl in a bathroom during our short stay - but we ate at sonja's without any issues that night/the next day.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shannyban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cooking Classes also viewed

 

Been to Thai Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing