We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$69
View deal
Expedia.com
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Agoda.com
$51
View deal
Hotels.com$86
Priceline$58
FindHotel$52
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveler rating
155
119
47
11
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
155
119
47
11
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer dryer convenient store koh samui private pool bedroom microwave beach balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 355 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I bought a groupon deal with inclusive of Bangkok Airways flight ticket, airport transfer, 1 massage and 1 dinner.

Basically the overall experience is fanstatic! This is my first time visit to Koh Samui and everything seems new to me from the moment i reached Koh Samui International Airport because this airport is so much different from the international airport I been to in my last vacation.

The hotel is located 10km away from Chaweng. It is not an issue to me and my friend because we did rent a car to travel around. The hotel staffs are friendly and of course most of them could not speak English well. Just use simple English to communicate with them will do. The Vara Spa in hotel is fanstatic! They offered massage promotion during our stay period, and i assure you that you will sure enjoy it so much even though the price is higher than those massage shop along Chaweng beach. Those massage along Chaweng beach is cheap at 150THB/hour but their so-called skills are terrible. We go for our hotel Vara Spa for massage almost everyday except the day we went to Marine Park.

Koh Samui is very small and you can just drive along in one big circle and finish it in a day. I will suggest you all to visit one of their local hypermarket, Big C and buy some local snacks. Most important you can't miss their Thai Beer! It is very cheap if you buy in hypermarket, just cost less than 30THB a can.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuki0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Hang, Owner at The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa By Tolani, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2022

Thank you for your review
Best regards
JH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I bought a 4d3n holiday inclusive of flight to Koh Samui through Groupon. It comes with a 3nites stay at The Sea Koh Samui, daily breakfast, a romantic set dinner and an hour spa. When i checked into the hotel, i was amazed by the spacious bedroom suite that comes with a private jacuzzi . The suite has a balcony overlooking the sea, a splendid view. The checkin was swift although at that time only a receptionist was working. Daily breakfast was spread with healthy food and we are allowed to choose how we want our eggs to be done!! The romantic set dinner was by the sea and the food was so well prepared. On top of that, the Sea Koh Samui has very polite staff, serving you with a smile always. The spa located in the hotel is clean and relaxing too. Although the hotel is located rather far from the happening Chaweng beach, it is a place to choose if you want to relax. Overall It was a wonderful weekend for me and my spouse. thanks to all the staff there.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewss1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Hang, Owner at The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa By Tolani, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2022

Thank you for your review
Best regards
JH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A very very awesome stay at the Hotel,
Its clean and the zen furnishing gives a soothing feeling when you enter the hotel. Love the pool side bar and swiming pool... I like that the Hotel is away from Chaweng the noisier part of town, but seven eleven is just 300m away from the hotel.

Room
We stayed at the suite room onthe 3rd floor, really beautiful view, Hot Water was available, all furnishing sparkling clean and nice, AC in good order, there is a nice stove and washing machine + dryer in good order. I love the room... full of privacy... the balcony has been my favourite spot.

We had dinner at the beach which was an awesome ambiance...
Only issue is thier breakfast is not fully ready till at least 8.30am. In case you need to leave the hotel for day trips early, you might just settle with a coffee or tea...
Aside from that, I am sure to come back to THE SEA

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wongah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Hang, Owner at The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa By Tolani, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2022

Thank you for your review
Best regards
JH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at The Sea at Koh Samui Hotel for 3 nights. We had a 2-bedroom apartment, with complete kitchen with oven, microwave, toaster, fridge, washing machine n dryer. If you want to wash clothes, bring detergent or you will have to buy from hotel which is a bit pricey. Or you can just take it across the road to the laundrette, about 30Baht per kilo. Cheap Cheap!!

Everything was working fine and clean. The Vara spa downstairs is not too bad. The beach has rough sand and the pool a tad small. If you want quietness and to get away from it all, this is the place. The staff were great, went out of the way to help us get our rental car, snorkeling trip and even arranged for a breakfast box on the morning that we were supposed to leave early for snorkeling.

Only snag is it is far away from everything. No shops or restaurants nearby, except for a local restaurant next door. Thank goodness for the restaurant next door (which was pretty good) or else we would have to eat at the hotel all the time. Hotel had limited menu. The nearest shop aka 7-11 is a rough 2km walk. It is quite dangerous to walk there with cars n trucks zooming by.

It's an excellent hotel if you enjoy peace, and can rent a car to zip around with. 24 hours rental of a small car is about 1250 Baht, plus you pay for your own petrol. Some cheaper if without complete insurance. Fisherman's Village at Bophut is about 20 minutes away (Near the petrol station in Bophut there is a lovely night market on Friday nights --- many hawkers selling food and great cocktails (Margaritas, MaiTai, Long Island -- all for 50 - 60 Baht each). You can get a rack of great ribs for just 150 -180 Baht, depending on weight. It is sooo good!! Absolutely fantastic!! Chaweng about 30 minutes and Lamai about 40minutes away.

The Sea is good provided you have wheels ..... but having said that, it is a great place to relax and unwind .... ! The staff are very accomodating and very helpful.

Room tip: The 3-bedroom villas by the sea are great and so quaint.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myoho3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Hang, Owner at The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa By Tolani, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2022

Thank you for your review
Best regards
JH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked for 7 nights for a seaview bedroom(early reservations done 2 months ago) because it is recommended by my friend’s company. We did have a seaview room on 3rd floor but we just couldn’t stand the traffic noise. It’s just like we were staying on the road. Yes, the hotel is built one meter from the main road and there’s traffic all day & all night!
Reservation desk suggested 2 other options rooms, one with small swimming pool but its like a cell block (no view just a blackstone wall) with small bedroom.

We are currently staying in the second room suggested. It is a small seaview room on 2nd floor with no noisy traffic but we still have noise issues with the kitchen (1st floor) and the smell of the kitchen…

The furniture is outdated and overused in both rooms (cf pics).
The breakfast is disappointing because the traffic noise, it’s like to have meals in a motel nearby the road with views on the traffic!
Breakfast meals are standard and quick to forget.
Beside bedrooms, Sea Samui has also only one option for deserted 3 bedrooms villas, costing 435 euros/night .

Staff is not specially helpful and smiling. At first beach day, 4 waiters were waiting at the pool bar and smoking cigarettes. None of them provided us beach towels. We had to manage by ourselves to find where are the towels. They didn’t even put a sunshade!
They finished their lunch and one of them threw his cigarette on the sand (can you believe that?).
At 5pm as sun goes down, like birds the staff appeared suddenly for beach volley party and screaming queens among the staff, forget relaxing on the beach. At the whole time no one came to propose any drink. Such a behaviour!

We had a welcoming dinner and we felt embarrassed because we are the only ones at the restaurant. No information for the dinner menu. Starter and main dishes arrived at the same time. The food is ok.
My friend expected to have a dessert and ask forward the waitress. She said the dinner is finished and because we requested for one dessert she starts speaking loudly in thai to the cook showing us what a pain for her. Without any further explanation she’s disappeared and 5 minutes later we had a dessert and obviously it was in the complementary dinner!

Cleanliness is among major issues : shower tubs with dirt and soap stains, all dried stains stay on furniture. Housekeeping doesn’t know how to remove stains and nobody is questioning how to clean the bathroom!
I ask 3 times in a row housekeeping to remove stains from shower cabin glasses. Obviously the dirts are crusting here for so long and can’t be removed. Could you believe that?
Same issue with dusty curtain, stains on sofa and cushions linens and mugs and coffee cups washing…

We never saw any manager in this place, once we asked for him and the reservation guy told us at noon only…No comment!

We are currently stuck in this hotel, we visited also X2 (same company) and we would’nt stay there because the beach is very low so you cant swim (TA reviews already listed the issue) the room we visited have a Flat TV just in the middle of the door with all its cables in front of view. You have to work around to avoid the TV.

Near the Sea Samui, there are beautiful villas in thai style, they are front beach and surrounded by a luxurious tropical garden. If we knew we would stay there.

Hopefully Mother Nature is generous and the beach is the loveliest place in Samui.
This can’t be a 4 stars but a average apartment hotel. It’s a very disappointing accommodation.

To summarize this is a noisy place, rude staff with (or because?) poor management and maintenance, rooms need to be refurbished (cf rusty furniture and old ones). Housekeeping staff needs quickly some training.

Skip this place if you can.

Room tip: avoid 3011 and 2051 and 2030
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Quan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Hang, Owner at The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa By Tolani, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2022

Thank you for your review
Best regards
JH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews