We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Retreat Koh Samui
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The resort was fantastic. Great villas, fantastic service, great food and fantastic infinity pool. The staff were there to handle everything for us. Even when we were picked up by their buggy to be transported to the reception, the driver enquired what we were up to and then call in advance for the valet to bring our rented vehicle up to the lobby...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSSSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 16, 2011

Dear W Insider,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your Whatever/Whenever experience with us! Please be assured we are still improving daily, and are actually in the process of adding more staff to ensure we can WOW all our guests consistently! Hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards,

Coetzer Deysel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

As slightly older (mid 50’s) travellers than the normal ‘W’ market sector my wife and I were a little nervous that we would be a little out of place in this ultra trendy retreat, however, our concerns were soon set to rest by a thoroughly welcoming and helpful team. I have read a couple of the comments expressed by others in the reviews and am left wondering if we were at a different place, without exception every member of staff had a smile and all seemed genuinely concerned that we were being looked after.

On the first day there were a couple of problems with the retreat (nothing serious but serious enough to need to be addressed). These were dealt with in the blink of an eye. One small issue was that we arrived fairly early from Bangkok and had to wait for our retreat (there was another ready but I had mentioned in passing when making the booking that we liked privacy and the staff were working to make sure we got the correct retreat). As 3pm approached the GM (Gunther) advised us that there would be a 30 minute delay and offered us a glass of champagne while we waited – a nice gesture, especially when you see the price list for champagne at the W!

Lots of reviewers have commented on the breakfast and there is little more to add. If you cannot find something you like from the huge selection of freshly cooked or baked foods on offer I would be amazed. I am a very fussy eater and in the 9 days there I did not have a single dish which would have caused me to complain. I really liked the way that your breakfast dish is served by the chef who cooked it for you – this I guess gives an extra impetus for the chef to make sure it is right. We visited the Japanese restaurant one evening and not being regular Japanese diners we could have done with a little more ‘hand holding’ as we decided what to order. The waiter struggled to describe the dishes – however his English was a lot better than my non-existent Thai. The Kitchen Table serves consistent high quality food and the Restaurant Manager (to my shame whose name I did not learn) was very, very attentive and looked after a great team of happy smiling waiting staff.

The retreats are well appointed and our Beach Front was great. We did spend a couple of hours on the last day in one of the Garden Retreats and whilst the same size it did feel a little claustrophobic – probably because the outside space is surrounded by high walls. I think the challenge they will have is keeping everything fresh – if this is not done it will very quickly lose the ‘W’ cutting edge it has.

So, what’s not to like? Some of their pricing is a little odd with a mix of great value and hugely inflated items. I generally try and avoid mini bars in hotels as the mark ups are huge. Here they are ridiculous. You need to be reasonably fit to deal with the fact that the place is built on a steep hill. Get to like climbing stairs as you will have a lot of practice. It is remote and many have talked about the rough sand I think the bigger issue is that depending on tide it is very difficult to get to adjoining beaches (the good side of that is it stops outsiders getting to the W’s beach.)

All in all, a great place, a great team of people, some scope for it to ‘grow into itself’ as the shrubs start to hide the constructions ‘scars’. We will go again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fg7506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 30, 2011

Dear W Insider,

Thank you for writing your review to us. It was my pleasure to meet you both, and yes - to share some bubbles while you had to wait for your retreat!

Having learnt of your Culinary background while staying with us, I am pleased to read your feedback on all our restaurants and culinary delights that is on offer. The rooms, though all the same, do have a different feel depending on their location within the property - some great views, others with direct beach access, or more privacy with a walled garden surrounding your private pool. I am happy to see you enjoyed your choice of room!

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Whatever/Whenever Wishes,

Coetzer Deysel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed there in December for 7 nights. We`ve booked the Ocean Front Haven and finally got an upgrade to WOW Ocean Front Haven. The suite was impressive and offered various amenities and discreet luxury. It absolutely keeps what it has promissed.

The main building (including lobby, cocktailbar and kitchen table restaurant) has a beautiful and modern design like all other facilities.

The food in "kitchen table" is quite good and has a very good price-value relation but for a real culinary experience you should visit the japanese restaurant "namu" (delicious sushi and wagyu beef). We were quite happy with the breakfast but we can also imagine that some people could miss their local specialties. They try to cover Asian and European/ Western food but not with the aim to be exhaustive.

Beach and beach bar were beautiful. The sand is not as fine and white as in Maldives but the hotel beach is one of the best we saw in Koh Samui.

Spa treatments are very professional and recommendable.

The overall price level is very fair. We do not understand any criticism from customers that made different comments here in tripadvisor. We `ve read them before our visit and were positively surprised because it is not true.

We would like to express again our very positive experience with the hotel personell. Starting from the management to room service, restaurants and bars to every guy we`ve met there. We saw high motivated professional and nice people trying to live the slogan "whatever whenever" for the customers with a smile.
Coetzer, thank you again for the suite and our pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 30, 2011

Dear W Insider,

Thank you for writing this review. W as a Brand are definitely design driven and I am happy to see that our direction was to your liking - an Escape within an Escape!
Matthew and his team of Culinary Creators are daily striving to improve and expand the selections we have available...and should you not see it on the menu - no problem! They will make Whatever you want, Whenever you want it....
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Coetzer Deysel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We were chosing the W Hotel because of its design, its seclusion and simply because it is new. To summarize: W Koh Samui is a fantastic hotel that fulfilled all of our wishes. A big thank you to German fellow Christian who is the sales/marketing director for this property. He was the one who fixed initial problems with the room and the overall welcome reception.

Here are our comments by catogory.

Koh Samui:
The island does not really offer a lot besides the hotel. The weather had a tendency to be rainy and humid, even though most people quote January as dry season.


Property:
Very nice, top design throughout the whole complex. The hotel is devided into hill and beach retreats. Where you can enjoy some of a view from the hillside retreats, you are closer to the beach from the beach retreats and can also catch more sun on the terrace and the pool. I would prefer probably beach over hill (because of the sun). However I heard it depends on the season if you get sun on the terrace.

Retreats/Rooms: I would rate the enterior as nice, but not 5 star. The bed is comfortable, bath rooms are very nicely equipped. The AC is very efficient, but not very quiet while turned on. The pool and the terrace are nice. We were in the Wow Jungle Suite which is very nice and big. The only inconvience here is that privacy is not really given. Some kind of blinds are needed to make sure people from around cannot look onside the pool and the terrace.

Pool: Top infinity pool

Beach: When I would have a complaint then it is the beach. The sand is coarse, towels are not provided on the beach, the beds are not daily cleaned and there is no foot shower when leaving the beach. With a little more invest into service (also daily cleaning of the beach) this could be a real wonderland.

Restaurants: Both are top, breakfast is the best we ever had.

Service: Mostly very friendly. Some people at the reception however did not entirely match the attitude of the others. Overall more personnel is needed to match standards of other hotels in that price category, but we had most of the time a very nice respectful treatment.

Spa: Very nice, but also quite expensive.

Management: Very visible and helpful. The involvement of Christian had really been to our advantage and ensured a lovely stay at W Koh Samui. Thanks for it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 30, 2011

Dear W Insider,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. I do believe our future guests will find this extremely helpful - as do we to help us identify areas that needs a bit extra care. You are correct that the design and layout of the resort does allow for various location choices, depending on your preference - some thing for everyone!

I am also happy to let you know that we have now dedicated more Talent(staff) to the beach area to ensure everyone enjoys SIP and their experience on the edge of Wonderland. Washing sand of your feet? Done! We are expecting the water bowls that will be placed on the pathways any day now!

As newly opened still some areas that needs our focus, and I am happy to say the team is working on improving them all daily!

Whatever/Whenever Wishes,

Coetzer Deysel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 30, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackayfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 30, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 30, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
6.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,424 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#22 of 185 in Bophut
934 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
12.1 mi away
Conrad Koh Samui
Conrad Koh Samui
#23 of 317 in Ko Samui
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat Koh Samui

Address: 4/1 Moo 1 Tambol Maenam | Surat Thani, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: $588 - $1,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Retreat Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Retreat Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing