We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Koh Samui
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Napasai(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$548
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$105
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fair House Villas & Spa(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$113
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mimosa Resort & Spa(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$97
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Palm Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$51
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Code(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$131
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santiburi Koh Samui(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$622
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveler rating
855
201
76
39
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
201
76
39
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoo barjapanese restaurantw retreatsweet spottropical oasissip barkitchen tableprivate poolocean view escapew insiderkoh samuioutdoor showerfree ice creamocean frontbuggy servicef bour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Yes, this is a lovely hotel, but there are many on Koh Samui. Rooms lovely, good size pools in the villa. Soaps and shampoos nice. Everything you expect from a W hotel. The breakfast buffett was nice with plenty of options. Room Service was good. Always some sort of drink special somewhere on the hotels grounds. and we were upgraded to next level room which was nice- and from talking to other guests, it seemed to be a routine thing that they try and do.

So why the low stars? 2 items. Prior to checking in I sent an email advising the hotel that we were going to be celebrating my daughters upcoming 13th birthday. Any other time we have traveled to a hotel around hers (or even one of ours) birthday- something was done. And i know that they received the email as they confirmed my daughters food allergy which had also been on the email. Really poor that NOTHING was done-

2nd) checking in the first night it was just my daughter and i, remaining nights it was husband, daughter and i. So while checking in they told me there was a fee for my daughter . i explained that she was free as their web page says 12 and under. they said no it is 12 and older. pointed out web page to them. they then said but she is turning 13 this month. and i said yes but not for another 10 days so she is still 12 and therefore free. this went back and forth and back and forth. FYI- she did not turn 13 while we were staying at hotel.
then it was that there would be a fee for her breakfast. and i said yes, it was already included in my rate -they said no. i said well why would there be a difference in the rate of the room between the first night and the rest of the nights - it had to be the cost of the breakfast as we just established there was no fee for our daughter being in the room .
it got resolved but its just a hassle to deal with this and start off your vacation this way. especially got annoyed with the "she'll be turning 13 soon"

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear bobosing,

Thank you for your thoroughness and explained the situation of service encounters that you have experienced from your recent visit.

While we are striving to be attentive and making our guests feel hassle free when they are travelling, we have obviously not met your expectation on this occasion – we must apologize for this.

Further investigations internally have reviewed several “miss-haps” of unfortunate events and I have further shared this to the team as our learning opportunities in order to avoid such incidents in the future.

We thank you for your constructive feedback and we are hoping you will give us another chance to be of your service again in the future, in order to see our improvements.

Best of regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

W Retreat on Koh Samui was indeed our happy place this past weekend. We have never been more impressed with staff/service, they were all extremely friendly and helpful making us feel right at home. Big thanks to Khun Tapoo and the whole team for making our stay so memorable!

The property is absolutely gorgeous, the rooms were spacious and the private beach was blissful. We made the most of the facilities provided, from the private yoga session to the beachfront cocktails at sunset. Their breakfast was to die for and we loved the idea of sweet spots at every corner! For anyone thinking of travelling to Samui, W is the place to stay at!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirilak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Sirilak S,

Thank you for your kind time for sharing your “Away from Home” feeling through TripAdvisor.

We have shared your comments with Tapoo and his team for making your stay a very memorable one and we are glad that you have enjoyed our services and facilities.

Come back soon.

Cheers,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Feeling pretty sad after our 11 night stay at the most friendly and welcoming hotel that we as seasoned travellers have ever experienced (we've stayed at top 5 star hotels in places like Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Dubai to name a few).

We were aware of the view from the Woo bar but when we saw if for ourselves the word 'WOW' just slips from your lips - the view is spectacular. We were waiting to check in after being handed a cold towel and refreshing drink and Jean (GM2) came over and introduced himself and gave us a show around of the reception area and a very informative conversation began where an immediate feeling of warmth was felt by myself and my partner.

The hotel is very substantial in size and if your room is on the higher levels you definitely need a buggy to take you around. We needed a buggy to take us wherever we needed to go, be it the restaurant, beach, spa etc. and when we called Whatever Whenever the buggy was always very punctual (in actual fact they normally had to wait a minute or 2 for us)!

We stayed in a Ocean View Retreat room and it was perfect it looked exactly like the pictures on the website and we had uninterrupted views from our private pool where we did a few lengths most days. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever experienced. We could easily have missed breakfast a few times because we didn't want to get up. The room attendants both in the morning and turndown were very punctual (kept to our requested schedule) and kept the room very clean for us. Whenever we returned to our room they would have already have been and left nice little surprises for us.

We had 2 showers one inside and one outside. We found the outside one great for daytime use after being in our private pool. There was also a beautiful big bath with ocean view. There was also an abundance of towels in the room and they were replaced everyday (twice a day if needs be).

Our private Swimming pool was great, the temperature was perfect even though if was not heated. Even at night the temperature was fine for a moonlight dip.

Regarding mosquitoes I think I saw 2 in my room. They provide the plug in repellents and the whole resort was sprayed when we were there (they notified you 2 days in advance of the fumigation process).

The Music System in room was excellent, it played through the TV and the sound quality was very good.

We went to Woo Bar most evenings for after dinner drinks and would be greeted on some nights with fantastic soulful house mixes by DJ Andy. On other nights DJ Greg played more deep house mixes. Great place to be in the evenings where you would be looked after by the main mam ICE and the rest of his team Nong, Gift, Bank and others.

The service in The Kitchen Table, Namu, Woo Bar, The Beach Grill, The Spa, The Buggy Drivers were all second to none, the facilities are exceptional, the views are to die for WOW!

Even though there were only 2 restaurants, the choice of food was very good and pricing was very reasonable. Our favourite was Namu (the Japanese restaurant) where we dined 3 times. The Kitchen Table (where breakfast and lunch were also served) was very good too. If we had breakfast outside we would have dinner inside which created a completely different feel for each dining experience and vice versa.

The service was very quick and the food always arrived at the right temperature. Again service/quality of food was always impeccable. There was also a great mix of Thai and International food to choose from and we had some great recommendations from the staff.

We found that there was no tip culture here, everything was done from the heart. We didn't get the impression of anyone expecting a tip.

My partner organised a private beach dinner for my birthday and the setting was beautiful and romantic. Our beach servers were very discrete but attentive and the food was lovely. A bit later into the evening it got quite windy and they moved us to a less windy location on the beach with the minimum of fuss and disruption. They provided a gorgeous birthday cake and we set off lanterns at the ocean edge to finish off the evening. A fabulous and memorable night.

I had 3 magnificent massages and would highly recommend to anyone.

The beach was not bad it was sharp coral but if you wore beach shoes (which were provided) was fine. There was a wide choice of sun beds/bean bags, sun loungers to choose from and the beach attendants were very quick to spot when you arrived. They would come to you with towels in hand and ask where you would like to sit. The beach food was really good and always came quite quickly as did drinks. We were given a bell to call when we needed assistance. Great touch. Our only disappointment was that the sunset did not hit the horizon (which of course is no fault of the hotel) but they were still spectacular to watch.

On some days the resident DJ would play some lovely ambient music on the beach which we found very pleasant and not intrusive at all.

We hired a private speedboat on a couple of occasions and had fantastic half day trips with a company called Samui Boat Charter who were very professional and provided excellent service.

My partner used 100 Degrees East for his Scuba and found them to be exceptional with very modern and new equipment.

Whatever/Whenever is true to the statement, if you have an issue (which by the way we did not have any at all) don't bottle it up speak to the guys as they welcome your feedback in order to make your stay as flawless as possible. Staff and management alike are the warmest and most sincere people we have ever encountered.

In other reviews people mentioned there was a problem with communication/language issues - we understood and communicated with staff in all areas with no issues.

What I found quite impressive was there was a constant presence of management throughout the whole retreat. They were always liaising with guests and were always happy to have a quick chat without imposing on your time.

What made our stay so special was the interaction with the staff here at the W and we would like to thank:
Eve, Tokyo, Sea, Judy, Tom, Jean (GM2), Robert, JJ, AJ, Sai, Mong, Nong, Gift, Bank, Ice (x), Jean, Pepsi, PK, Mae, Annie, Nam, Jen, Apple, Mee, Kim, Com, Ball, Kit, Oak, Beer, Mo Mo, And, Beer, Tammy plus others for their impeccable warmth of service which was delivered in a passionate way - nothing was ever too much. A very warm thank you to you all for the beautiful send off that you gave us.

Jacky and Barry

Room Tip: We love an Ocean View so would recommend the rooms on higher floors for a clear sea view. Beach fronts, secluded no view but close to beach.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Jabarry (Jacky & Berry),

We are amazed and grateful for your kind time in order to write us such an amazing review from your recent stay with us. THANK YOU for that (from the entire team…).

Through various experiences that you have encountered, I’m very proud that each and every encounter that you have had with our talents turned out to be of positive and with care & genuine attitude – this is what we are striving for and it really pays off.

We are proud that most of the talents that you have encountered are remembered by their names, considering our talents don’t wear their name badges! You must kept a log with you all the times - and those you have mentioned will be rightly remarked upon for their contribution to make our guest’s experiences to be of a memorable and unforgettable one.

Thank you also for pointing out the improvements from various previous reviews in regards to our communications skills and or language barrier, we are now seeing a positive & effectiveness on our efforts.

The reason of having only two restaurants is obviously not a challenge to get bored according to your experiences. Especially after 11 days of staying with us, you have exactly explore the combinations of things to do, dining options and outside activities and we are glad that we could be part of the process to select/combine various options for you through our Whatever/Whenever service.

Once again we thank you for your kind time and contribution to share with other travelers your experiences; we are looking forward to welcome back both of you again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

As a Starwood Platinum member, nobody loves Starwood hotels more than me. This was my 10th or 11th different W Hotel I've stayed in in the past 2 years. To sum up the W Retreat Koh Samui: It is a gorgeous facility located on a stunning property, but the service is NOT what you'd expect from a 5-star hotel, let alone a W Hotel, or even a good hotel in Thailand. Many of the other guests I spoke with shared in this opinion. There seemed to be kinks in the service that would typically occur at a property that has just opened.

More specifically...
On the plus side:
+The food was good (when it arrived)
+The atmosphere was very cool. A great balance between tranquil and hip (i can't believe i said "hip")
+The Welcome desk upon arrival was very friendly and welcoming. In fact, several managers came out to speak with us and welcome us. Someone from reception took us to the room and made sure we were settled.
+Buggies were generally quick when requesting them to pick up guests from the room
+The grounds are simply amazing

On the negative (room-for-improvement) side:
-Making and amending the booking was painful. The hotel was slow to respond to several emails and when they did, they often gave unclear answers to simple questions
-Most other service touchpoints were friendly but incredibly slow. A few examples: a cup of coffee at breakfast took 30 minutes (though i only went to breakfast once, but several tables in the restaurant were also complaining); room service took much longer than it should, even for simple items; the beach attendants would rarely attend to people (and even when they did, they were unfriendly (though they were the only unfriendly touchpoint we had at the W). The final example is the operator, at W Hotels it's called "Whatever, Whenever". They are your point of contact from the room whenever you press 0, or the dedicated button on the phone. At most hotels, the operator is always available and is your quick point of reference, especially at 5-star hotels. The W coins this with "Whatever, Whenever". At the W resort in Samui, you had to dial "Whatever, Whenever" several times just to get through. Most times you would get a busy signal or no one answered at all. Most likely, it is manned by 1 person at any given time. That is unacceptable, especially for a hotel that makes its living off of "Whatever, Whenever" service.
-One-time/silly negative anecdote: The hotel put a note that they would be spraying the public areas with insecticides at a certain time. My wife and I were sitting in the private outdoor area of our villa finally eating the room service lunch that had taken over an hour to arrive. We hear the machine that was spraying the insecticide outside on the public pathway, when all of a sudden a cloud of insecticide seeped into the private area of our villa and engulfed us (and our food and clothes) in a cloud of insecticide smoke. We literally could not see 2 feet in front of us. Good job W. When I called to complain about it, they said that the letter notified people of the spraying. Yes, it did, but in the PUBLIC areas. They didn't warn us that a CLOUD would come into our PRIVATE villa and cover us, the good but LATE food, and all our stuff. Well handled W. That experience was bad, and the way the W handled it was even worse...

To sum it up again, it's a very nice property with nearly everyone being very friendly; it just has some service issues that are unacceptable at the price that guests pay...

Room Tip: Not all rooms in Ocean Front category are the same (in terms of the exterior view and access to the beach). Leads me to think that it is not worth the upgrade from a Tropical Oasis villa.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConstantTraveler_971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear ConstantTraveller_971,

Thank you for your kind and valuable time to share your experiences at your recent visit to W Retreat Koh Samui.

We appreciate your notable comments and constructive feedback in order for us to ensure what we are doing great already to be of continuous process, whereas the same time we definitely working hard on those minor details that you have rightly pointed out to excel further in the future.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again if your future travel plans allows you to be on Koh Samui Island.

With regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at a number of w properties across Asia and I would definitely rate Koh Samui as the best. The villas are pure luxury and definitely worth splurging for!

The pools are an actual decent size compared to most villas 'plunge' style and the extra features such as the rain shower put The W above other 5* properties in Samui.

Although drinks and food are much better priced outside of the resort at nearby fishermans village, the special deals such as mojito night on Thursdays are great value considering the location.

Overall a really special hotel that although pricey is worth it for a luxury getaway.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Travellingagent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Travellingagent007,

Thank you very much for your GLOWING review on your experiences at W Retreat Koh Samui.

We thank you also for hi-lighting the weekly happening at our place transitioning into What’s New/Next on the island.

The team is looking forward to be of your service again.

Regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews