We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure w luxury!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Retreat Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W Retreat Koh Samui
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pure w luxury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at a number of w properties across Asia and I would definitely rate Koh Samui as the best. The villas are pure luxury and definitely worth splurging for!

The pools are an actual decent size compared to most villas 'plunge' style and the extra features such as the rain shower put The W above other 5* properties in Samui.

Although drinks and food are much better priced outside of the resort at nearby fishermans village, the special deals such as mojito night on Thursdays are great value considering the location.

Overall a really special hotel that although pricey is worth it for a luxury getaway.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellingagent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Travellingagent007,

Thank you very much for your GLOWING review on your experiences at W Retreat Koh Samui.

We thank you also for hi-lighting the weekly happening at our place transitioning into What’s New/Next on the island.

The team is looking forward to be of your service again.

Regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    178
    66
    35
    30
See reviews for
138
526
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the W. It is a unique property and offers a very different stay to your typical Thai resort. It took me a while to grow accustomed to the property. It does not feel very Thai, in fact if you took the Singha beer out of the room fridge, there is nothing in the room that would provide a clue of where you are. Staying here is visiting the W brand in Thailand - but this is what to expect from W in my experience. We are very glad we complemented our stay with a more Thai resort. But in general the W is worth a visit.

4 nights in February and the weather was perfect, the location brings a natural constant breeze which is refreshing, sometimes a bit harsh, but in general welcome.

The property is massive, agree with the other reviews that you better not forget something when going to the beach if you are in the hillside villas. It takes quite a while to trek back and forth.

Pros:
- Gym was fantastic. We used it every day and enough equipment to keep you happy and the views are magical
- Bfast was wonderful and service very attentive. I note they have read previous reviews about staff not remembering repeat orders - they make a point to do this. Displays the management response to feedback
- stunning scenery and views
- exotic feel of having beach sun cover with well placed palm trees and not relying on umbrellas
- unique accents - lamps, scuptures etc. are worth the visit in itself
- beach beers served in ice buckets makes all the difference

Cons
- I found the beach service was average. Once the food took well over 30mins to arrive. Another time it took ~2mins. Bit erratic
- food uninspiring at the beach
- beach is rough, they suggest and provide slip shoes and listen to them. I sliced my foot open but this is entirely my fault
- the massive and disturbing wall art in reception. An odd point to list but it really detracts from the wonderful entrance. Personal preference
- remoteness
- glass of champagne costing £45, regular massage costing £70

One issue that I really did not appreciate was the taxi system. Given the location there is no taxi rank. Booking a taxi each time you leave was priced at an unresonable level for Thailand. I don't expect to pay more for a taxi in Samui vs London. Overall this does not move the needle on the cost dial for your stay but it is a point of principle and I hate feeling gouged. At the Vana Belle and Banyan Tree taxis are in line with regular (negotiable) board rates and on time so the W is clearly out of line with general practice. I often waited for the booked taxi and paid twice the going rate and they leave you no option.

Gripes aside I am glad I stayed here but rank it 4 and not 5 for various reasons above.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear JasonWG,

Thank you for your kind time to write a detailed review on your recent visit to W Retreat Koh Samui.

It is encouraging to see the detailed list of what our guests likes and on which points our guests’ views this as an opportunity for us to improve upon.

While it is of a more positive point that you have raised and that you have had a wonderful stay with us, I would like to address those issues that you have mentioned in regards to our consistency on our beach services – an ongoing training will ensure that this will be improved upon. As well on the point of rough sands, we are doing our best to be of persistence and encourage our guests to use the shoes provided in order to avoid such “incidents”.

I do thank you one more time for providing such a detailed feedback, it is through various mediums like this that allows us to be of better service and stay ahead.

Looking forward to welcome you back to W Retreat Koh Samui.

Regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Fantastic!
No complaints!
You get what you expect!
Staff were also very helpful with booking/recommending activities.
The restaurants at the resort are excellent.
The beach is gorgeous and spacious.
The best place I've stayed in Koh Samui.

Room Tip: All rooms great and give a great sense of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Resortcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Resortcruz,

Thanks for your kind time sharing your experience on your recent visit at W Retreat Koh Samui.

We have shared your comments pertaining our level of services, highlighting our restaurants and your quote of best place on Koh Samui with the team. -WOW-

Thank you.

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Top quality hotel with lovely staff. Great customer service. W never disappoints...modern, great design, enough bars/restaurants on site. Rooms are huge with private pools. We had a fabulous stay! The retreat has a private beach which is nice but sand has lots of sharp shells etc. Nice massage place on the beach which is relaxing! Hiring Mopeds to get around the island is easy and super cheap. Bike/hike to one of the many waterfalls...a fun experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KazLJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear KazLJones,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experiences in regards to your recent stay at W Retreat Koh Samui.

We have shared on your short and to the point message to the team and we are hoping to be of your service again in the near future.

Regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Tropical Oasis villa. Loved the modern design and decors around all corners. The beach was nice and quiet, but a there weren't any activities available. Would be more fun to have watersports available. There were board games at the beach bar while we seeked shelter from the rain. Our private pool was clean and large which provided privacy. The villa itself was spacious and fully equipped. The resort provided a shuttle service because it was quite far from town. If you couldn't catch the shuttle back, taxi was quite pricey because the taxi driver might just name a price and rip you off. The restaurants in town were great. We tried a local restaurant called the Hut was authentic, tasty and affordable. The staff at the resort were helpful on making reservations for our airport transfers and booking our day excursions.

Overall I would recommend W Retreat to couples or friends who would like to enjoy a relaxing getaway in a hip & stylish manner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtle_Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Turtle_Flo,

Thanks for your kind time to write your stay experience on Trip Advisor from your October visit.

Your comment is well noted in regards to provide more water-sports activities and we also thank you for sharing the insider-tip, as well highlighting our talent’s helpfulness on making reservations and bookings for your adventures.

Safe travels and come back soon.

Cheers,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The W Retreat Koh Samui is such a "Sweet Spot". Our entire family enjoyed the hotel, staff, and amenities. We can not RAVE enough about the the staff. We have been to many resorts all over the world and this Resort and its family have been among the BEST! When we first arrived we thought everyone was just overly nice to us, but we soon found out that this is "their personality", treating everyone like friends. It was quite refreshing!!!
Our daughter got a pretty bad sinus infection while we were there and she has asthma so it can get bad so we called for a hotel dr. Although they did not have one on staff they told us how to get needed items in Thailand and called to make sure the pharmacy had what we needed. Our hotel friends (staff) sent FLOWERS to our daugher the next day!!! This is the most incredible and personable thing anyone has everyone for our family on vacation. My daughter was so touched she actually cried when left.
The activities we booked were fab and we took the suggestions of the hotel staff and we were very happy with all, diving and ATVing, both a must do.
The hotel is a little out of the way from some of the main shopping spots, but you CAN negotiate prices to get to the shopping areas. The hotel van is accessible to take you to these spots and it was convenient, but at times we wanted to do our own thing.
Our family LOVED the rooms, the hotel amenities and of course the "Sweet Spot", my husband being an ice cream connoisseur!!! Please make sure to put the W Retreat in Koh Samui on your list of places to go!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are absolutely gorgeous. In the jungle suites, go higher to get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sue B,

First of all, thanks so much to reserve your valuable time to write such a RAVING review in regards your recent stay with us. We are truly delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time while with us.

We do hope in the meanwhile that Erin recovered from her sinus infection and we are looking forward to welcoming all of you back again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and had the time of our lives! Once you pull in to the hotel the views from the lobby are outstanding! You see the "W" in the water overlooking the ocean and you have made it to paradise! Our check in was very easy and had a room waiting for us. They take you by trolley with your luggage down to the villas. We had a villa with a pool and twin beds. Our villa was #101 just a few feet from the beach. Loved the indor and outdoor rain shower. And the big bed out by the pool!
We spent most of our time on the beach and the beach bar. They have great drinks and food! Spent one day by the pool and had it to ourselves most of the time. Didnt check out the gym or spa but looked nice from the outside. Our fav thing at the hotel was the outdoor ice cream freezer. All you can eat ice cream? Yes please!!
Actually our most favorite thing was the Breakfast. Best breakfast buffet Ive had in a long time,aside from Vegas!
Every juice you can imagine and so fresh and delicious. We met the chef who made us try the fresh croissants with a curd butter that was to die for! Loved it!!!
Def recommend staying here!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear StephaT,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor and sharing your experiences with other travelers from your point of view.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and thanks again for highlighting the facilities, be it your in- and outdoor shower, private day beds near the pool and of course the talk of the town “Sweet Spot” which is fully stocked with “goodies”

Our Culinary team is delighted to hear about your comments on the breakfast buffet as this truly pays off to put such a great effort in it and our customers are appreciating at the same time.

We would say – “Come back soon!”

Regards,

Jean Naronglith | Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
6.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat Koh Samui

Property: W Retreat Koh Samui
Address: 4/1 Moo 1 Tambol Maenam | Surat Thani, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your W Retreat Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Retreat Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing