We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Koh Samui
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Baan Fah Resort Samui(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$42
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Napasai(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samui Buri Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$125
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$87
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Palm Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$24
$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florist Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$32
$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Code(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$109
$84
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santiburi Koh Samui(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$395
$383
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escape Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
$27
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveler rating
856
201
76
39
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
856
201
76
39
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoo barjapanese restaurantw retreatsweet spottropical oasissip barkitchen tableprivate poolocean view escapew insiderkoh samuioutdoor showerfree ice creamocean frontbuggy servicef bour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the W Retreat for Christmas and New Year 2013/14. We stayed in the WOW Jungle room which was absolutely fantastic. The resort is exactly how it looks on-line and from the second we arrived we were relaxed and smiling. The staff were attentive, courteous and professional. Brian (Hotel Manager) met us on arrival and was readily available throughout the holiday. We opted for the Thai cookery class which was fun thanks to Bee and we have since used our new cooking skills at home. The spa was spectacular and we had the best massage ever. The sweet stops are an excellent idea and we were fortunate enough o have one opposite our villa. Getting around the resort was easy with buggies available if required. The standard of the main restaurant (kitchen table) was phenomenal and we ate there most days. The Japanese restaurant was in a fabulous setting and served fantastic food. Christmas day and New Years Eve were spectacular - perhaps the best that we have had abroad. Special mention for Sea who organised our days and was very knowledgeable about the island. All of the staff are fantastic however Brian and Sea made our holiday most memorable. Would recommend this hotel and indeed the W resorts. They are for grown up people who still want to have fun!

Lord Ian Roy White & Lady Julie Forster-White
Northumberland

Room Tip: The WOW rooms are certainly the best.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JForsterWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Julie & Ian,

Many thanks for your thoughtful review on Tripadvisor- I enjoyed meeting you both and of course the lively conversation.

Wonderful that you have been able to use your newly acquired Thai culinary skills at home, Khun Bee is very pleased. I have also passed along your best to the teams in spa and Namu.

Happy travels and we look forward to welcoming you back to W soon again.

All the best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The best property on Earth I have ever been to. Feels like God's architect's came to Earth and build it up. I stayed in the Ocean View Escape Room. Marvelous personal swimming pool. The water couches, the spa and the W lounge - all of them simply relaxing and mesmerizing. I would surely stay in this property once more in the near future.

Room Tip: If your budget is good enough then you guys can go for the ocean view escape room or you can go for jungle oasis room also.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swetha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We did not stay here but only came for dinner and drinks, which made us regret for not booking this resort for our holidays.

We tried to make a reservation at Namu 2 days before, but it was already fully booked, but we visited the resort anyway and tried our luck again. We rented a car and drove ourselves there. The entrance was way too subtle for a 5-star resort and the location was a tat remote.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff, who tried to get us a table again. Though in vain, he recommended us to get a drink and have snacks at the lobby bar. Though it was already dark and the ocean cannot be seen, the view with the pool and the W logo was indeed hip and stylish. We got chit chatting with a waitress at the bar and she managed to get us a table at Kitchen Table. Food was nice and wine was not overpriced for a 5-star hotel. Service was good and helpful. One of the Thai noodles was too spicy for our taste and they were happy to remake the order.

We then moved to the bar and were lucky enough to get one of the 4 sofa seats in the reflection pool. Although there were only 4 of us, they still allow us to take the seat, which is nice for a small party like us. Service was excellent but nothing can beat the stylish decor and vibe at this place. We all enjoyed the evening very much and at the same time very much regretted for not choosing this resort for our stay.

W hotel always sells their hip style. Compared to their city hotels, this W resort definitely has a more relaxing atmosphere which suits the slow pace of this island.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jasmine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear jask999,

Thank you for your detailed review of W Retreat Koh Samui. It is unfortunate that you were unable to dine at Namu on this visit however we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your Kitchen Table experience. Namu is very popular both with guests and locals; due to the complexity of the food preparation and ingredient specifications we are unable to manage a high volume of customers nightly. We recommend several days advance booking to ensure a spot.

We appreciate your comments on the decor design and style, in particular the pod seating in WooBar. Hopefully on your next visit to Koh Samui you will choose to stay at W and experience all of the resort facilities.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is hip and has style and nice view from the lobby. Unfortunately some of the villas don't face the sea and your pool is in a sort of garden or backyard, A bit disappointing about that.

Also like some W hotels the staff have a bit of an edgy club attitude and it's something i personally don't like. It makes me feel like i am doing someone a favor to stay here at the hotel. My favorite hotel in Samui, The Four Seasons, and it's all about service and here i just feel something is missing. I guess if you want style and feel like you are in a club its cool.

I also found some staff don't really understand English well or they are lazy, i am not sure which. When ordering food or drinks sometimes they got it wrong. they brought the wrong food and also gave me the wrong drinks another time. It is more about the management to me and not staff. I think they need more western management around to direct the locals.. A common problem in Samui.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Michael R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions of W Retreat Koh Samui. It is unfortunate to learn that on this visit you felt we fell short.

To adress two of the points you raise in your review:

1. Our Tropical Oasis retreats prioritize seclusion and privacy and do not have intervisibility with the oceanfront. This is a garden type unit in close proximity to the beach-we have extensive category descriptions on our website (whotels.com/kohsamui) which should assist most travelers in making the appropriate selection

2. We are proud that our team at W Retreat Koh Samui is comprised of 98% Thai nationals. While we remain committed to smooth guest communications-such as retaining on staff a full-time English teacher, we are aware that there are occasional language challenges. We make every effort to mitigate this by ensuring that each team, on each shift, include at least one relatively fluent English speaker.

Please accept my apologies for not having met your expectations on this visit and hopefully we will see you soon again at W.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

What to say???
Wow!!!! Amazing hotel and the staff!!!! Best hotel on a whole journey in Thailand. Rooms are excellent, beach as well. View from the lobby is stunning.............. ................... ..............................

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cimavica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews