We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Retreat Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Retreat Koh Samui
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Vincennes, France
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

W is the place you want to go if you want to be well treated and have peace
Service is perfect!! the villas are large and well equipped with all a private pool
The main restaurant is OK good quality but variety of food is a bit short, I guess this will be ok for the majority of the guest, but if you are looking for real Thai spicy food do not go there.
Wines list nice but prices are really high!! I guess you pay for the 5stars!!

will I go back? for sure it is a very nice resort

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinedVincennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear SinedVincennes,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of W Retreat Koh Samui with the Tripadvisor community. So glad to hear you enjoyed the service and facilities and I have taken note of your comment on food variety.

A note on wine pricing as this is something that comes up frequently not only in W Retreat Koh Samui's reviews but also our competitors; import tariffs on wine are high in Thailand. Although the rates vary by country of origin and unit price band, duties generally run in excess of 200%. The specific rates are available online at the Thai tax authority website for the curious however it is best to anticipate somewhat higher retail price points than one may be accustomed to in surrounding countries.

Thanks again for your insights and we look forward to seeing you back at W Koh Samui soon.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    178
    66
    35
    30
See reviews for
138
526
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I am an SPG member and made the giant mistake of not booking The W for our Christmas Trip to Koh Samui. We ended up at a resort we hated so decided to head to The W for drinks and dinner. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a lovely (wish I could remember her name!) staff member who assisted us with getting a great seat at Sip and a reservation at Namu.

We were so impressed with the service that we decided to, spur of the moment, book a room for Christmas Day into Boxing Day as the resort was fully booked, we were so happy they were able to find a room for us for the next day!

At our arrival, we were welcomed by the lovely manager and given a tour of the grounds and booked a spa treatment and Christmas brunch :). We have had an absolutely gorgeous and luxurious stay and plan on returning for our next trip to Koh Samui! We are huge fans of all Starwoods hotels, especially The W and this was an ultra luxe retreat!

Our room had gorgeous ocean views, two amazing rain showers and a large infinite pool! They saved our Christmas!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Joanna N,

Many thanks for your thoughtful review, I am so glad we were able to make things work out for you both. It can be very disappointing to travel so far to discover your resort choice was not a good fit- however we were delighted to have you with us at W for Christmas.

I appreciate your insights on Namu, Sip and aWay spa and we look forward to seeing you both again soon at W.

Best,

B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Spent a wonderful 5-night beach weekend over Christmas holiday 2013 at the W Retreat with our family. Overall experience - terrific and would recommend this resort for anyone seeking a tranquil getaway. We booked beach access accommodations - 2 villas for our family. There are limited 2-bed villas - important to guarantee these since the room can also accommodate a 3rd roll away if needed. The king villas won't comfortably accommodate a roll away due to the furniture configuration. We first looked at the jungle and hillside villas but they're too far and inconvenient from the lovely beach. The villas are enormous in size and are very luxurious. The level of service is excellent and very accommodating. The menu in the Kitchen Table restaurant is nice, but after a few days it offers a limited selection. The breakfast buffet is amazing, but can be expensive for a family. The al a carte menu is more reasonable. We loved the small amenities and again the level of service this resort provides. It's not a Four Seasons Resort but a hip 5-star option. The beach is relaxing but it is not that large and I missed not being able to take a long walk along the shoreline.

Room Tip: Choose a villa close to the beach to avoid walking up and down the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iraa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear iraa a,

Many thanks for your thoughtful review of W Retreat Koh Samui, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I think other readers will find your comments on retreat configuration helpful.

As you mention, we do have only one two bedroom suite in inventory at W Retreat Koh Samui. We do however have a luxury hillside 4 bedroom villa available, an absolutely superb option for larger families and friends traveling together. We currently have it bookable through our reservations office and expect to have the specifics on our website shortly.

I have shared you comments on breakfast with out B&F team, we're constantly refining our offerings to make sure quality, price and abundance hit the spot.

All the best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The staff were impressive-everyone knew your name and room number and couldnt do enough for you. The food and rooms were up to the W standard and the view makes it unbeatable. Every part of the resort is easy walking distance but we enjoyed the buggy rides too much that turned up on request after 30 seconds.

Helpful?
Thank EmilyBlount
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Came for the view and had a few drinks. Absolutely lovely property, but, when we decided to go back to our hotel we were told the 'hotel' taxi was going to cost twice the inbound journey.. I have no issues with using a hotel taxi, but this huge difference was a surprise and given then there is no alternative, I felt this was a way to exploit guests. Left a sour taste for us. Won't be back because I can only think what other ways is this hotel taking advantage of guests.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BGA_Malvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear BGA_Malvern,

Thank you for your review, glad to know you enjoyed the property.

Being removed from route 4169, (the main ring road on Koh Samui) makes it quite difficult for us to secure public taxis for our guests in a timely manner. To mitigate the long wait times the resort offers private car and driver transportation- it being our policy to advise the fare prior to departure. The pricing is really not comparable to public taxis however the service and vehicle quality is vastly superior.

I apologize if you were not advised of the fare before you left the resort, it would not be our intent to surprise with charges at the end of the trip.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

While we did not stay at the W Retreat we did get to enjoy the amazing Woo Bar, a must for any visitor to Koh Samui.

Very cool place indeed, feels like you are floating over the sea while enjoying a cocktail or two.

We were there around 5.30 pm until 8.30pm watch day turn into night, to our surprise there at around 8pm there was a small but impressive fireworks display.

A really cool bar, with cool music coming from a unique DJ area.

Would stay at W Retreat when next visiting Koh Samui

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was our first visit to the W Koh Samui having stayed at several different resorts throughout Thailand.

It won't be our last visit.

The experience can be described as being as close to "complete" as is possible for a hotel -- the warmth of the staff shone through from the start of our week long visit to the very end (even the security staff were smiling and waving each time you walked past), the promptness of service (which is often lacking or inconsistent at many hotels), to the peace and tranquility served up courtesy in part to the delightfully secluded location.

And now to the title of the review -- arrangements for dual birthday celebrations on different days were executed seamlessly and to exacting specifications. Given that one of these was, shall we say, a "milestone" birthday it was most welcome that management had obviously briefed the staff on how special an occasion.

In summary, without a doubt one of the premier resorts on the island ........ I can understand why Thai royalty chose to stay at the W Koh Samui, and why they have a waiting list in high season !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S3982XVabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear S3982XVabc,

Thank you so much for your detailed review of W Retreat Koh Samui, wonderful to know you had such a memorable stay with us.

We are indeed fortunate to have such a great group of talent- as you point out it really is the execution of details that is the hallmark of hospitality.

I look forward to sharing your thoughts with the team.

Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back to Koh Samui soon.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
6.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat Koh Samui

Property: W Retreat Koh Samui
Address: 4/1 Moo 1 Tambol Maenam | Surat Thani, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your W Retreat Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Retreat Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing