We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lux living with smiles around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Retreat Koh Samui
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Surat, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lux living with smiles around”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Recently we stayed W Koh Samui on a family vacation. We stayed in ocean view room (villa). It was very spacious with a very large bathroom area with outdoor and indoor shower. The deck and the swimming pool were just great. I have experienced the so called private swimming pools in many resorts. Usually they are glorified bath tubs or small ponds. But this private pool was really big where one could actually swim, and that too watching the great ocean view from the infinity style pool while you swim. One suggestion - The outdoor area of the room is not properly lit at night. Some colored soft lighting of the pool and and artificial or real candlelight for the outdoor dinner table would enhance the enjoyment quotient of the villa many times. The staff are very courteous and helpful. Breakfast is fairly good. The dinner options are somewhat limited especially if you decide to stay within the resort every evening. However the restaurant did oblige with some variety and innovations not listed on the menu. The sweet spots - kiosks providing cold water, sodas and ice creams are a wonderful idea. Entertainment facilities are however surprisingly limited - no indoor games, no mini theatre. However the overall experience was great.

Room Tip: Ocean view room at the highest level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_atul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Dr_atul,

Many thanks for your thoughtful review of W Retreat Koh Samui. It is wonderful to know that your experience with us was positive and particularly that you enjoyed the retreat swimming pools and sweet spots.

We have heard a number of comments on retreat exterior lighting and are responding by increasing the illumination around the outdoor seating area.

On dining options, we are pleased to let you know that we have added another food venue, the Beach Grill (which as the name suggests is beachside)- opening this week.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    186
    68
    37
    31
See reviews for
149
555
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The attentive staff and delicious cuisine made our trip very memorable n fun. We enjoyed great thai bbq by the beach, yummy japanese food along with delicious daily Thai cuisine. The Woobar's view at day and night are both spectacular. Our chartered boat to nearby Nangyuan Island also proved to be a great snorkeling experience, where many tropical fish can be seen among live corals!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpio33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Experience in this hotel has been my worst ever in my entire life- so bad that i left crying and that too without finishing my dinner which obviously i paid for! The staff is ride n unhelpful. I went with 12 ppl n my 1 yr old. When my baby started crying a lil bit for milk, the waitress asked me to leave the restaurant!! With no baby changing area in the bathroom, they expected me to keep my baby like that n not change outside the vicinity of the rest- the whole staff is heartless! Never gonna recommend to anybody!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Hem99,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at W Koh Samui. I was made aware of the circumstances of your visit shortly after it occurred.

It is generally accepted in the traveling community that a restaurant table is not an appropriate place to change soiled diapers. Our talent requested that you do this is in a restroom (located not more than 10 meters away) with adequate diaper changing facilities. As you were aware at the time other diners in the restaurant also objected to your activity.

I understand that traveling with infants can be stressful. We do however see a clear bright line between expressing dissatisfaction and being abusive and demeaning. Our talent tend to be empathetic and responsive to the former, not so much to the latter.

If the outcome of our relative inflexibility on the two points above is a one star review, so be it- these are matters that touch upon our core values and principles.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We looked very much forward to this trip and we shopped hard for locations and for resorts. We have been to a few places in SEA: Bali, Vietnam, Singapore, HKG, and wanted a true exotic island experience. We have stayed at Starwood properties many times and although it is formulaic it usually is a decent experience. The W is a brand in a portfolio of brands. It seems that the W brand is targeted towards the 15-35 year old demographic. Why do I say this...because if you know this going in then you will understand everything they do from the look/ feel of the resort to the language on all the materials in the room to how they dress the entire resort. IF you are not in that demographic it might start to grate a bit ...especially if the weather was as bad as it was when we are there...actually bad weather is a true test of a resort as the usual diversions of beach and scenery are basically gone...you are left to bump around your room..nap....drink...read...play the board games at the bar....etc, etc....so I will not knock on the resort for the weather of course but I will say having been to the Bahamas many times that the Bahamian water and beaches beat Koh Samui hands down..the water was not clear ( a result of the rain and the run off from the hilly islands) and the sand was not the powdery sugar that the have in the carribean...but it was a striking location ( bahamas actually quite boring once you leave the beach) and the resort was a beautiful location...the Japanese restaurant on premises was very good...( I live in Asia so I think is a proper judgement) the people were very nice...the villa was decent..and if the sun had been out it would have been a spectacular time...alas it was not...and if you venture off property do not expect a well tended little island...this place is in a state of transformation and hence varies from incredible resorts to appalling shanty towns...all the streets are typical second/third world thoroughfares that are in a state of change...not pretty , not fun....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetlaggard59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Heaven on a stick
one of the most amazing resorts i ever have been in, and we were there 7 nights,
We love it so much we are already planning a further 10 nights in January.
A must do, can find no fault with anything.
We were even blessed by the visit of the princess of Thailand who also stayed there,
that should give you an indication of the quality of the resort.
Out of this world
Grant and Kunyanut

Room Tip: My thai partner and myself had the opportunity of staying at W retreat Koh Samui eary nov 2013 We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

From the coconut welcome drink at checkin to the "economic" van back to USM Airport, we were impressed by the process. Our connecting room was huge and even though slightly painful (to walk from one side to the other), it was a blessing to know that it was our own property (for 5 days). I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast at the Kitchen Table (not all prawn cakes with a load of chilli here) and how there were western choices there. The hotel was hidden and not so evident to see, and it took us 15 minutes from the gangway entrance to the hotel. But it was worth it. (Within the hotel we travelled by carts.)

Room Tip: We chose a connecting room, but for 4 or more, choose a suite. Oh, and the economic van is better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 074061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear 074061,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at W Retreat Koh Samui. It is great to learn that you enjoyed our Welcome experience and found the retreat compfortable and spacious.

Our culinary team appreciate your comments on the breakfast array and look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

after we stayed at Vana Bella , another hotel under Starwood, we decided to try out this famous W hotel in among my Chinese friends.

the moment you entered the lobby, first thing i want to say is " WOW " the W logo in front of you while you see a bar sink in the water almost same " level " with the ocean.

Ok now we head to room, okey, another " WOW " the room is a villa with pool typically W style, very stylish and COOL. do not miss the " Sweet SPOT " where you can enjoy your ice cream unlimited "

NAMU best JP food I have ever had and very impressive with the Korean Chef , also Kitchen table you can not give a miss on the Thai food there. Just Fab !

Beach area is so nice and with a special W logo there.

W Retreat we will be back for our next time visit. so enjoyable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingLovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear BeijingLovetravel,

Many thanks for sharing your impressions of W Retreat Koh Samui. Great to know you enjoyed the view and found the retreat to be a WOW.

I am delighted that you found Chef SK's food exceptional- he is always bringing his imagination to bear on new creations. Come back soon and see his latest innovations!

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
6.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,372 reviews
3.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#18 of 186 in Bophut
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
0.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat Koh Samui

Property: W Retreat Koh Samui
Address: 4/1 Moo 1 Tambol Maenam | Surat Thani, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Retreat Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Retreat Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing