We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay for sweet couple~~”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Retreat Koh Samui
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“wonderful stay for sweet couple~~”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice and spacious villa with breathtaking ocean view. Stayed there for three nights, got free welcome gift from Whatever/Whenever® team. Private pool in villa is really cool. Internet is available and free for SPG members. Beautiful W beach also. Would visit there again. =)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieKwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Many thanks CarrieKwong, delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    185
    68
    36
    31
See reviews for
146
548
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights, getting a night free on Amex fhr program. We got a slightly upgraded room facing the ocean (but not larger). Room was a bit frayed but nice amount of space and good bathroom. Our room pool was nice. We went to namu the on site Japanese/Korean restaurant and had a couple of good meals. The shuttle into town was nice and we had a great seafood meal in town on the cheap. The town is a backpacker ghetto, not our thing. FnB manager, Sea was a delight. Yeah, the service is not top notch, but I've learned to relax about that in beach resorts, esp in Thailand.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichardAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear RichardAZ,

Many thanks for your review, glad to know that on the whole you enjoyed your experience with us.

I appreciate you recognizing Sea, our B&F insider and that she was able to enhance your visit.

Hope to have you with us soon again,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent our 20th anniversary at the W and as a result we intend to make it back there as often as we can! Our Ocean View villa was superb - we could watch the clouds, boats, wonderful eagles and even fireflies pass over us, all while floating in our pool. The staff were the BEST we have ever had in all our travels and they did everything they could to make our stay as memorable as possible - especially being the 'whatever/whenever' service! The experience has been burnt into our brains in such a good way! We highly recommend staying at this retreat and to treat is as that - a retreat from the world to take your stress away. We also recommend spending some hours in the spa and let the magic massages and treatments revitalise your well being. This may sound a bit too glowing, but we are so very serious. The W at Koh Samui will cure your western stress and leave you wanting more! Thank you W!

Room Tip: The higher rooms offer the best views, if that is what you are looking for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJRACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear BJRACT,

Many thanks for your review of W Retreat Koh Samui, we are delighted to know you had a memorable stay with us.

I appreciate your comments on retreat quality, spa and in particular that our talent made such an impact on your experience.

Thank you again and hope to have you back with us soon again.

Best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights at W Retreat Koh Samui in the Ocean View Escape villa for our honeymoon. The views were breath taking, especially at the lobby and Woobar. The staffs were courteous and excellent and made us feel welcome. We arrive at around 11am and they allowed us to check-in early which was a bonus. We planned to catch the free shuttle bus to Chaweng anyway if we were not allowed to check-in early.

Our villa 234 was near the Sweet Spot for free ice cream and drinks and great views. The private infinity pool was a nice touch. The room was generally clean though it could use a little polish. The grout was kind of yellowish around the bathroom and the roof of the outside patio was leaking.

The king size bed and pillow was excellent, but the bath towels were a bit rough in my opinion. The resort is quite big and you can call for a golf cart to take you around if you don’t feel like walking.

The in room dining was fantastic and have exceeded our expectations. The Sip Bar was wonderful and the buy one get one free cocktail is awesome. We had breakfast every morning at The Kitchen Table which has a great selection of food. We didn’t try out other activities as we spent our time taking photos around the resort and having ice cream at the private pool.

Room Tip: Our villa 234 is great, it is close to the Sweet Spot and has a great view. Ask for the rooms that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to review W Retreat Koh Samui. I have taken note of your comments on retreat 234 for followup.

Glad to your your dining experiences exceeded your expectations.

We hope to see you again soon at W.

Best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

So we choose one of the best rooms at W retreat as it was our honeymoon and were really looking forward to an amazing time!
Inital reaction of the resort - WOW. Then along came someone to help us check in... check out time was at 2pm and we reached the resort at 2.30pm, our room wasn't ready till 4pm. The guy tried to 'buy time' by pretending to act so intrested in our lives. You can tell the service was completely fake. We soon realised what he trying to achieve with the small talk. When we reached our room it was still dirty - private pool was dirty with leaves etc in there, bathroom sink was filthy, the table had some sort of food stains on it. We called room service who took 45mins to come and then a further 30 mins to clean our room properly this time!! Already half the day had been wasted. No apology given.
All staff seemed to be so fake - almost like they were trained to 'act' nice. I mean there is a difference between trying and trying so hard that you sound completely fake. Hated it. I rather they cut the small talk.
If you order room service it takes forever, your better off just walking to a shop. The shuttle service is awful. Goes 3-4 times a day. Other hotels had any time shuttles (cheaper room rate included!
Cleaner and room service walked into our room twice... no knocking, no warning. Pathetic and totally embarrasing, considering this was our honeymoon! No apology given. You don't feel safe sleeping in your own room because you never know who will decide to invite themselves into your room.
Completely pathetic place with pathetic service, shame because the location and hotel itself was heaven...pure luxury...clean sea and sand.
Oh and this hotel like to have random private parties in the evening so the beach and outdoor bit is closed off to residence, do you get a warning.. NOPE!
For the price we paid we expected so much more. We regret coming here and our experience was awful. We would never ever stay or recommend this chain of hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HelloT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear HelloT2013,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of W Retreat Koh Samui.

It was unfortunate to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we will review the points raised with our team to ensure rectification.

To address the issues you raise:

1. It is difficult to respond to your perception of talent fakeness in the context of "almost like they were trained to 'act' nice". Niceness would not typically be subject matter for internal training however it is a trait we seek when recruiting. I regret that you found our talents' demeanour insincere

2. I apologize that you had to wait on arrival for your retreat to be readied. Our check in time is 3:00pm however we make every effort to accommodate earlier arrivals, particularly if requested in advance. As we are unable to locate in our records reported circumstances that match your review I do not know if this is the case

3. Finally to your remarks on our housekeeping service and that department's entry of your retreat without knocking or appropriate announcement- please accept my apologies. We have definitive policies in place prior to talent entry of guest retreats that should have been followed. We maintain rigid standards for retreat cleanliness however in this case it appears we did not meet your expectations.

We would have appreciated the opportunity to address your concerns while you were a guest at W Retreat Koh Samui however we thank you for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Dassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Staying pretty close to the W, we decided to kayak to the W for an afternoon cocktail. We ordered 4 piña coladas from a waitress that seemed to have lost the ability to smile. We found a seat on the beach to watch the sunset which was a little ruined by the loud music & the sound of drilling from the building works. The drinks arrived together with the bill (1400 baht or about £28). Unfortunately they tasted of pineapple juice and nothing else. We returned to the bar, received an apology & an explanation that they had been made to the W's own recipe but they would remake them following the traditional recipe. We received replacements but in all honesty they were still pretty tasteless. We won't be returning. There are far nicer hotels, with much friendly staff, a nicer environment, better service & more reasonably priced!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for posting your impression of your recent visit to W Koh Samui.

We will look into the circumstances surrounding the preparation of your Pina Coladas to ensure that the quality and strength is consistent. I apologize that you did not enjoy them on this occasion.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first stay at a W-property and we were not disappointed. We chose the W Retreat based on the modern design and the large pools (plus a relatively attractive rate) and were not really sure what to expect since we normally go for a more classic style.

As others have noted, the view when you enter the resort through the main entrance for the first time just blows you away (if the weather is nice, that is). It is a very nice area to sit in the evening and enjoy a cocktail, although during our stay it was mostly very quiet. Towards the end it got a little bit busier but for the most part the resort was maybe half full by my reckoning (the staff dodged the question) which made the common areas feel kind of dead. This also went for one of the restaurants (Kitchen Table) and the Sip-bar af the beach. On most evenings we were the only ones there, sometimes with one or two other couples. The overall atmosphere is very relaxed and laid back, and this is mirrored by the staff who are friendly and greet you on a personal level.
There was a VERY busy party related to the DJLab-event organized by W on friday night which was very cool (allthough you had to wait about 20 minutes to get you drinks order)

We had one of the Ocean Front Havens, a massive room right on the beach. The beach is not entirely private though, you share it with adjoining rooms so sometimes your neighbours will walk in front of your villa. The private pool is a lot more than just an plungle pool, about 12 meters in length and 2,5 meters wide. It is a nice addition but we found that personally we prefered to use the communcal pool - it was very quiet and had an amazing view over the ocean.

The room itself was more than spacious enough with a huge bathroom, both indoor and outdoor showers and a very comfortable tub. The bed is large and comfortable and there is ample storage space. The upkeep could be better: Of course, being very sunny and close to salt water it is a very harsh environment, but for such a newly built resort we were surprised to see lots of weathered wood and some rust on metal surfaces.

The food is amazing: we usually stay on the property if we go to a luxury resort, which means eating at the on site restaurants every day. Special mention goes to the breakfast buffet: very extensive, fresh, amazing taste and if you have special wishes, the chefs will happily make it for you. We had dinner a few times at Namu and the food there is even better. Also here the chefs will create special dishes for you that aren't even on the menu. To add to the experience, as returning guests we got complimentary drinks and dessert. The Kitchen Table has a wider selection with both Thai and Western dishes (pizza, pasta, burgers etc) which we found a bit weird, but is it excellent for lunch.

The Spa and gym are as you would expect, competent but not world class. The treatments are reasonably priced compared to other 5-star hotels though.

To round off this review a few random remarks:
- The sweet spots (scattered fridges with soft drinks and ice-cream etc) are a nice idea but the freezers just can't keep up with the heat. Maybe just placing a small selection of soft drinks in the rooms would be better.
- Be aware that wine is already very expensive in Thailand, and the prices for champagne are downright ludicrous: a bottle of standard Veuve goes for about 250 Euro, a champagne cocktail starts at about 60 Euro. Stick to beer or the excellent cocktail selection.
- Very large selection in the mini bar, with even a small wine fridge. Too bad that this can only keep one temperature, so you'll have either warm white wine or cold red wine.

All in all we were very happy with our stay, and will certainly be back to a W retreat elsewhere in the world.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Havens are very large en close to beach but due to orientation the pool doesn't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielkegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Daniel,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide such a detailed review to the Tripadvisor community. Great to know your stay was amazing and you enjoyed the facilities and talent.

I appreciate your constructive feedback on retreat configuration and styling. It is probably helpful to point out to others reading these reviews that the room type Ocean Front Haven does have unobstructed views of the beach and ocean. As all beaches in Thailand are accessible to the public this would not be the most appropriate choice if complete privacy is a priority. Although we do not get a great amount of foot traffic on the beach, Jungle or Tropical Oasis retreat types would be more suitable for complete privacy.

I have passed along your impression of the food quality to our culinary team who are delighted you enjoyed their efforts- both menu items and impromptu creations.

Thanks again Daniel and we look forward to seeing you soon again at w.

All the best,

B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
6.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,353 reviews
3.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#15 of 187 in Bophut
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
0.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat Koh Samui

Property: W Retreat Koh Samui
Address: 4/1 Moo 1 Tambol Maenam | Surat Thani, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your W Retreat Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Retreat Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing