We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Retreat Koh Samui
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was very modern and very cool. The lobby area was very nice. The room was very spacious. The little teddy bear on the bed was a great touch and with his little PJ's was adorable.

I love the breakfast, it's amazing. Those fresh juices and fruit are fantastic.

If you like something's modern and funky then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Air-Thai-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Air-Thai-Life,

Many thanks for your review, so glad you enjoyed your visit to W Retreat Koh Samui (including the bears :-)

Great photos, thanks for sharing those.

Best wishes,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    182
    67
    36
    30
See reviews for
139
532
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went for drinks at this stunning property. It was amazing. The views and architecture are the best I have seen for a bar. Fantastic veins in a very contemporary setting. Full of surprises you will love it. We had cocktails, wine and fries all served to perfection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

After exploring Samui and the surrounding islands, we moved from another hotel to W to enjoy a nice end of our Samui stay. The moment you first stepped into the lobby, you are greeted with a WOW scenery and perhaps, one of the most photographed scene of Samui!

Service-wise, it was very good. Whatever Whenever service is very prompt to all our requests. With the famed Sweet Spot being a popular treasure chest to be ransacked by guests, we made requests to Whatever Whenever for delivery of certain items that were not re-stocked in a timely fashion. However, we also noticed that some times, it could be a deliberate attempt not to re-stock the Haegan Daz ice-creams!

With W being located at the tip of Mae Nam, you get to choose your view - sunset/sunrise. It was perfect. Only issue was the coral shells on the beach which made it difficult to walk but this was already expected. The sunloungers and cabanas provided were perfect for a relaxing time. Certain areas of the beach had perfect wi-fi signal too,

We stayed in the Tropical Oasis villa. We were offered a free upgrade when we checked-in but refused as we wanted to be near the beach. The villa was wonderful and the privacy is protected (except if you peeked through the trees). The outdoor shower was wonderful and the actual bathroom leads you out to the private pool.

Prices of drinks are definitely more expensive than the eateries outside (again, expected). As we preferred to stay in the retreat most of the time, we had lunch on a daily basis at the Kitchen Table. Breakfast is also at the Kitchen Table. As we eat less for lunch, we were able to choose wisely on the type of meals we wanted and the food prices are reasonable (eg. around AUD10-12 for a burger and fries). Being SPG members, we were lucky to be provided with free wine for the month of September. Breakfast was amazing with a wide selection. The only issue we had was with a rude waitress who rudely stopped us from bringing our unfinished drink (juice) outside - we were told we can only drink it at the Kitchen Table. I find this ludicrous for a 5 star establishment to be extremely picky on nitty-gritties.

For dinner, we had a meal one night in Namu - the famed Japanese fusion restaurant. Unfortunately, my partner and I experienced diarrhea after the meal - perhaps from a bad raw fish. I would not be rating the retreat based on this experience and would rate it in a seperate review for the restaurant itself.

W also provided free shuttle to town. We made use of it a couple of nights to enjoy dinner elsewhere. Timing may not be great but we had our driver drive us back to the resort.

As some have pointed out, the resort is really located in quite a secluded area of Mae Nam. You can possibly walk outside to the main road but it may take a good 15 minutes and you probably wouldn't want to walk at night. There are no convenience stores around but around 5 minutes walk from W, you would find small home owners selling drinks.

My partner utilised the SPA and found it to be amazing. The gym was great too!

We also conversed a fair bit with Tom, the W Insider. He was a very friendly and accommodating person.

Another let down was on the last day when we had to check-out. As our flights were late afternoon, we requested for late-checkout which we were told by a lady at the start of our stay that it would be done. However, on the day itself, we were told we cannot do a late check-out. We even negotiated an extra 30 minutes but they would not even provide that. They did provide us to use the SPA's shower to freshen up before heading to the airport.

All in all, it was a wonderful stay minus the little hiccups. We probably would not come back again as W Samui presents a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and we would want to try the Four Seasons the next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear iashi,

Many thanks for your detailed review of your recent stay at W Koh Samui Retreat, we appreciate you sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

Good to learn you enjoyed the beach, spa and fitness facilities and that Tom was helpful. The negative points we will certainly look into however rest assured we do not ration the Haagen Dazs as a cost control measure :-)

All the best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile


She made all the difference
Our staying was not that great , many inconvenience disturbed the good potential of the hotel ... They did not consider our honey moon request !!!!
But what really make it up for us the F&B insider " Sea Torres " many thx to you , she really take care of every one and give him the full attention he needs .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
265 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Did our Honeymoon 8 months after wedding. The villas are mini homes most with private decks and private pools. Everything rocks!!! The ceiling shower heads make you feel like you're bathing in the rain. Our unit had an enclosed out door shower as well which is what I mainly used because it was so awesome. The view was spectacular and the privacy amazing. Though the Place is spread out and built from the beach up the hill side, you don't have to fear a hike because the main desk has a fleet of carts to come and get you and take you where you would like to go. The dining was superb, so don't miss one of the eateries. The staff is very attentive and welcoming. This will be a stay you will remember.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkazooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Dkazooman,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on your honeymoon at W Retreat Koh Samui. Wonderful to know you enjoyed the dining, retreat facilities and privacy.

Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you soon again at W.

Best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Me and my husband spent 7 very exciting and beautiful days in this property that marked the start of our married life. We are a tad bit late, in writing this review, but none the less we wanted to applaud this place! Coming from the hotel industry i was amazed with their hospitality! With a lovely pool villa, and private entry to our beach, it was heavenly!

My husband had organised a grand welcome for me, and on arrival, their were lilles, and our pictures on a frame and very nicely hand wrtitten signed note from their staff welcoming us, and wishing us a happy married life! I was very touched by their personalised approach.

Their "whatever whenever " service is such a great approach,that post sometime we felt like asking for the moon one day! well you never know these days !!

With beautiful bars, restaurants, and beachside service, this place is an absolute stunner. Try the Pork belly at Namu, Mai tai's, and their fish n chips, on your own private beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNDSpeakeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear MinSingh,

Many thanks for your super review, we appreciate you taking the time to think of us.

We're so glad that the arrival experience was memorable and that the team's efforts made the moment special.

Looking forward to welcoming you back with Mai Tais soon again.

Regards,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

In the past I've stayed at a few W retreats and this one was disappointing. The location is quite a distant away from places to eat etc. The sand on the beach is course and the main pool area had very little atmosphere during the day.The positives were the staff who were pleasant, the cleanliness of the rooms and the sweet bars which were set up around the villas and free for you to eat from.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear N1970

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your thoughts on W Retreat Koh Samui. I regret that you were disappointed in several physical aspects related to the resort's location however well noted and shared with the team.

All the best,

Brian Segrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
6.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat Koh Samui

Property: W Retreat Koh Samui
Address: 4/1 Moo 1 Tambol Maenam | Surat Thani, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your W Retreat Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Retreat Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing