We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$332
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
WHotels.com
$329
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$303
View deal
eDreams$332
Orbitz.com$330
Priceline$330
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,462)
Filter reviews
1,462 results
Traveler rating
1,063
225
86
47
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,063
225
86
47
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews woo bar w retreat japanese restaurant sweet spot tropical oasis sip bar kitchen table private pool ocean view escape koh samui outdoor shower free ice cream ocean front f b our honeymoon main restaurant the general manager
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
994 - 999 of 1,462 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon, and thank God we did. Amazing hotel and quite a unique place and vibe. I really recommend this place to anyone who wants the 5 star pure luxury with a fun, intimate element where the staff really engage with you personally, and you feel like a member of the family which is unique. They play amazing music through the hotel as the evening sets in and you have never seen a view like it as you walk in, the breakfast is also amazing, they run beach barbeque events for lunch and the property is stunning. You actually never need to leave your room, they give you so much space and we had 2 showers, a giant jacuzzi, and a massive outdoor terrace with lounging area and a huge swimming pool overlooking the nature and beach. There is also a huge communal pool but you don't even need to go down there as you can chill on your deck in the convenience of your own home. On other Tripadvisor reviews, some people complain about the walk to the main hotel, but this is nonsense. You can walk it in 90 seconds and a little exercise would do us all some good and if you press 0 a buggy collects you in minutes and takes you, so ignore this in other reviews. I would definitely come back here and highly recommend it as an amazing beach resort with the special W feel.

Room tip: Ocean Villa Pool Suite was awesome
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhmadAtalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Hello AhmadAtalla,

Thank YOU for a wonderful review of your stay with us recently. It certainly seems you connected with our style like any true W Hotels Insider does.

I am delighted you had such a memorable honeymoon experience, including being able to join us for one of our first Saturday Beach BBQ Reloaded afternoons complete with resident DJ Tuck spinning in the background.

With homemade burgers and an array of other delights, salads, drinks and even our secret weapon...Drunken Fruit created by our Liquid Manager, Khun Ice! BEWARE those needing to drive later! Our Saturday Beach BBQs are destined to be as famous as our MoHeeToe Madness evenings at Woobar every Friday.

I am thrilled you loved our villas and yes, we are lucky to have a great location which is fairly easy to get around. However as you noted, our buggies are always available to assist at every hour of the day and night.

So thank you again for your glowing recommendation. AS a loyal W Hotels Insider, we hope this wont be the last time we welcome you both back. Maybe next time you will indeed make it to the gym after the BBQ as well!

See you soon.

Warmest wishes
Nick Downing
General Manager
nicholas.downing@whotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel deserves definitely a higher score than 5 stars.
Nick and his staff do everything to answer your wish. It was just perfect!!!

Me and my girlfriend stayed six days in one of the tropical oasis located nearby the private hotel beach at Mae Nam. The beach is very nice and quite, the room has a stylish design, an own pool, a huge and comfortable bed and lots of complimentary drinks( coffee, tea, water) If this is not sufficient you can get some other drinks and icecream in one of the sweet spots next to the rooms.

The restaurants kitchen table and namu are highly recommended. In namu which is located at the beach we had our best sushi and sashimi we have ever eaten. Breakfast offers all you need- all fresh and tasty.

Location is great to relax and far away from the tourist spot chaweng. Unfortunately taxi is quite expensive but W Retreat offers a free shuttle service to Chaweng 3 times a day. Wanna explore Koh Samui? You can rent a car ( about 1500 baht/day) or a motorbike for 350 baht a day.

Now some suggestions and ideas for Nick cuz I know he takes the feedbacks seriously;)

- jetski
actually you can rent jetskis at the beach but it´s a bit too expensive. 3500 baht for 1/2 hour is a bit too much. in chaweng they do offer it for 1000baht for 1/2 hour
- taxi service
sure there´s already a shuttle service but if you wanna go to some other places nearby and ask for their taxi service it starts from 600-800 baht for a 3-4 minutes drive one way- a bit too much( I know taxis are expensive in Samui but I am sure you can do it better) hahah

Coming to the end I wanna thank the big W Retreat family. Thanks to Miss Candy, so nice and adorable, Khun Oak our personal buggy driver, Khun Mong the good looking half Indian guy hahah, Khun Aam our tourist guide ( ask him where to go), all of the others I cant remember the name or forgot to ask and of course the special one Khun Nick!!!

You have created a hotel with your great and nice staff which we will never forget. Thank you guys for the incredibel experience.

Hope to see you soon. We are definitely coming back!!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silea2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Hello silea2311,

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay with us.

It really seems as though you had a wonderful time and found many of our unique experiences to enjoy! Of course, everyone loves our complimentary ice-creams and drinks at our famous Sweetspots, but I am delighted to read about the comfort of our custom designed bedding and stylish room design. A lot of effort went into creating a very unique retreat experience at every stage.

As I mention here all the time, our location is a great combination of privacy and convenience, only minutes drive from Fisherman's Village or a 20-25 minute trip to Chaweng (main town).

Yes it is true that the Samui public taxi service does not run on meters...rather they offer a set price for every location which you need to agree before you start the journey. Of course these fees are higher than in places like Bangkok.

And while we also continue to offer the complimentary shuttle three times daily, we also have appointed a limousine company to run a private taxi service from our location and hence we do ask guests to understand this difference when taking into account the quality of the cars and drivers...not to mention the convenience of having them on standby here at the Retreat. Having said that, we will continue to strive to provide value in this key area as I know that the key to a wonderful experience is to not have to worry about anything during your escape, especially the cost of a taxi.

As for the Jetski situation, yes it is true that an outside operator has taken up residence on our beach. Luckily jet skis are not really active on our northern peninsular location as there are possibly better locations suited for this. Hence we dont actively promote or encourage jet ski operations from our beach.

Actually there is a fantastic operator that we recommend near Lamai who not only is a professional (ie, insured) operation, but they also have some other great toys including Jetlev and others. I am always happy to guide guests accordingly on the best options.

Thank you for highlighting Miss Candy (her big smile started with us recently as part of our Welcome team), Khun "Ferrari" Oak (one of our Welcome Ambassadors who manages to whisk our guests around the resort in our fleet of customised buggies), Khun Mong (our recently promoted, stylish and ever so handsome Beverage & Food Service Manager) and Khun Aam who obviously assisted you so willingly. It's always wonderful to know when guests connect so well with our key team players. As you mention though, the guys above could only achieve what they do with the support of those behind the stage. And I am thankful to have such a young and dynamic team who are so willing to help as often as they can.

So thank you again and I certainly hope I will hear from you in the future to ensure we arrange yet another amazing stay with us.

Until then, warmest wishes
Nick Downing
General Manager
nicholas.downing@whotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Since I am a young guy, I like W hotel as a luxury hotel brand with trendist decoration, the lobby hall with the pool bar was the most beautiful one I have seen.

Interior of the room was comfortable with BLISS products, outdoor shower area and long swimming pool and the big daybed were 3 attractive points.

Kitchen bar had got qualified food with rather reasonable price, however, try the namu by booking when you check in, its fresh sashimi was among the best I had in Thailand.

BTW, the only dispointing thing was I lost my iphone together with all of photos and videos. My wife put it on the big sofa when I was playing the chess, we found it was lost after we arrive in the pool bar by walking, then we turned back immediately, only found the chess board was finished and my mobile phone was turned off:(

Room tip: select the room near the sweet stop.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAN Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Hello FAN Z,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us here on Koh Samui.

We certainly do attract the young or young at heart...or almost anyone who is looking for a different retreat experience and especially those who love contemporary design with wonderful music at every location programmed by W Hotels Global Director of Music, Michaelangelo L'Acqua.

I am delighted that you recognised Namu as providing an exceptional Japanese inspired experience. We will also have some exciting news to announce soon regarding Namu...stay tuned!

I am sorry to hear that your phone disappeared so quickly. Our large beach club area (where we now have our fun oversized chess set) is certainly a popular spot for many people and it was certainly an unlucky experience that someone did not hand it in to our team so we could return it to you.

I do hope though that this experience did not create an everlasting negative impression of the Retreat and I certainly do hope that I have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Warm wishes
Nick Downing
General Manager
nicholas.downing@whotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is one of the best places in the world. The retreat with private pool....the view to Koh Pagnan. The food@Namu but also @KitchenTable. The staff are all friendly like...Special thanks to Jean for making our stay a Wow one! We loved to be back a.s.a.p.

Room tip: Ocean view from your private pool you see Koh Pagnan!
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Hello Tabitha T,

Thank you for your WOW vote of confidence in your Retreat and for especially recognising our Director of Operations, Khun Jean.

I hope you will indeed come back again a.s.a.p.!!

Warmest wishes
Nick Downing
General Manager
nicholas.downing@whotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We went almost a year back for our parents anniversary, so this is long overdue but I just had to write a review based on our amazing stay. Staff was really friendly and went out of their way to make our stay as memorable as possible. We are muslims and only eat halal, the cook tried new dishes everyday and especially got us halal food. The entire hotel knew and were very accommodative. We had asked them to arrange a special dinner for the anniversary and despite the rain they did a fabulous job. Each and every detail was monitored and looked after.
Hotel in itself is build very nicely, has amazing views and good for relaxing. The hotels private beach is beautiful but the sand is a bit grainy which makes it hard to walk on bare foot. Room layouts were amazing and each room has a private pool. Overall a very relaxing vacation.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saba I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRetreat, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Hello Saba I,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience here at W Retreat Koh Samui.

While it was indeed a while ago that you stayed, I am pleased to say that most guests who have since returned have noticed more and more changes for the better so I can only hope that it wont be too long before you visit us again!

I am waiting to hear from you to help make any arrangements you desire.

Warm wishes
Nick Downing
General Manager
nicholas.downing@whotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews