We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding + family vacation February 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lotus Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lotus Terraces
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
1 review
“Wedding + family vacation February 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our wedding and two week vacation at Lotus Terraces met our expectations in every respect. Our group of 14 adults and 5 young children shared the Lotus, Banyan and Gardenia Villas. The entire group had a great time and left with happy memories. The beach villas provide very comfortable accommodation in a beautiful island setting. Having visited Koh Samui and Koh Phangan many times before, we were looking for somewhere special for our wedding - and found it.

Jane deals with bookings in an efficient and responsive way. Sue and the staff at the villas attend to any requests and we enjoyed interacting with them, as did the children. The chefs are great and we enjoyed dining in the villas most evenings, only occasionally venturing out to restaurants. If you like Thai food, as we do, then the standard of food is hard to beat.

A special mention goes to Ton Nagel who organised our wedding and who we got to know in the months before, and during, our stay at Lotus Terraces. Ton is superbly talented at organising events of this type and went above and beyond to create a truly memorable event for us. We greatly enjoyed the whole experience, from our Skype calls during the winter months in Scotland to the big event itself which, as all of our guests commented, was perfect in both design and execution.

We hope to be back before too long :)
A & M

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing the experience of hosting your wedding at The Lotus Terraces on TripAdvisor. It is rewarding for us too to know that we did deliver a memorable experience for your Special Day and that everyone enjoyed the stay. Your wonderful feedback is appreciated and has been shared with the team

We certainly look forward to welcoming all of you back again!
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    10
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
92
46
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights in The Banyan Terrace Suite , this is a very exclusive boutique retreat , that can accommodate from suites right through to 5 bedroom luxury villas. The staff headed up by Sue are fantastic and can’t do enough for you.
The suites are perfect with the terrace for private sunbathing and breakfast every morning which is delivered by your maid. The 25 meter pool is perfect for those morning laps , and of course there are a couple of beach bars within 50 meters of stepping out on to the beautiful beach front.

Tun, carol & Manfred have an unbelievable set up at Lotus Terrace , this is certainly one of the Jewels we have found and intend to re visit many times over

Watch-out for their new website it will be stunning just like the venue.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at the Banyan Suite on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and services, and certainly look forward to many more opportunities to welcome your wife and you back again.

In the meantime, best wishes from all of us
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My brother thankfully and very wisely chose the Lotus Terraces for their wedding. It was absolutely perfect, the best wedding I have ever attended and one of the best holidays we have had thanks to the stunning location, service provided by the staff and pride that the owners take in delivering an outstanding service. In total we booked 3 out of the 5 villas, the Banyan, Lotus and Gardenia Villas for our large group. The Lotus and Banyan villas are beachfront and undoubtedly the best villas and it is these I will write about. Each has a number of bedrooms, either 4 or 5, each with their on bathrooms and facilities so that people staying in them have their on space.

The Villas are beautifully and very tastefully laid out. There are several different communal areas around each one so that everyone can find their own space for relaxing but when it is time to come together, there is plenty of space for entertaining. Both villas come with their own chefs and large kitchens. You wake up in the morning, wander through, with the sun shining and sound of the ocean in the background. Sit down overlooking a perfect white sand beach and beautiful blue ocean, with the island of Ko Pha ngan in the distance and Nam, Don or Rose or one of the other wonderful staff will bring you coffee or tea and make you breakfast. Bliss! They can also make dinners and it is truly an amazing experience. They buy the ingredients locally so that they are fresh but nevertheless work out to be substantially cheaper than eating out. They are able to cook such a variety of Thai food that even after over 10 years in Asia I never knew existed, and I never got bored of it in the 2 weeks we were there, always looked forward to it and always absolutely enjoyed it. They also cooked food for the children during the day.

Each villa has a lap pool and there is also a communal pool, so you can always find space for doing a few laps. Each villa also has a gym and in-house facilities for doing massage. Take a couple of steps out of the villa and you're on the beach. They provide kayaks so that you can take a paddle up and down Bang Po beach. Between the Lotus and Banyan Villas, the Lotus is better. It is exceptionally well decorated. The gym has windows that look into the pool and it has pool and table tennis tables as well.

Ton, Sue, Nam, Jane, Rose and all the other staff, thank you so much for your hospitality, it was a painful experience having to leave and come back to reality but we will see you again soon!!

Ken, Dee, Lauren & Aila x

Room Tip: Book the Lotus or Banyan villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aka.seth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Ken, Dee, Lauren & Aila

Thank you very much for this wonderful review of your stay at The Lotus Terraces. It is very motivating to know that this was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays you have ever had and furthermore, flattering that the wedding arrangement has been rated the best ever attended. Your review has been shared with the team, we are very encouraged by your good feedback of our facilities and commendation of our services, thank you!

We certainly look forward to welcome you back again soon!
Best wishes from all of us,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
callumlj72
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed a week February for my sister's wedding. Lotus Terraces was the absolutely perfect base for us. Small scale, luxurious and relaxing, the villas are decorated beautifully with all mod cons and free wifi. Ours came with chef service and the chef and food were always consistently fantastic and very reasonable. Continental breakfast is included but if you supplied eggs, bacon etc chef was more than happy to make them. Beds very comfortable, good aircon in the rooms and lovely hot showers. Our villa had private pool which was great and the main pool is also lovely. The complex is right on Bang Po beach and, although this is a quieter beach (which we were looking for anyway), there are several nice beach bars you can walk to. Special mention to Jane, Rose and Sue who were always welcoming and on hand for advice. Sue was fantastic at organising massages, boat trips etc at reasonable prices. Overall, if you are looking for a relaxed holiday in luxurious surroundings, right on the beach, but don't want the impersonality of staying in a large hotel/resort, then Lotus Terraces is the ideal choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callumlj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for the perfect review! It certainly will help provide potential guests a very good picture of The Lotus Terraces' facilities and services and help promote our resort, much appreciate this.

It was a great pleasure having you and your family with us and we look forward to many more opportunities to welcome all of you again.

Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed in the Lotus villa, 5D4N 9 of us friends looking to spend a holiday together before going home to work and it was absolutely perfect. Sue, Rose and our chef were excellent. Sue helped us arrange all our activities everyday, even helped us to find cheaper, more affordable alternatives because the prices have risen over the last few years. Our chef's cooking was absolutely fantastic, we had originally decided to go out to explore for most of our meals but given that his excellent skills, friendly character and the fact that we had his services complimentary for all our meals, we changed our mind and stayed in. We even had a delicious barbecue by the beach on our last night, all we had to do was decide in advance what we wanted.

The villa itself is a dream. With all the activities already available to us such as kayaking, a swimming pool, a fooseball table, jacuzzi, pool table, ping pong table and the satellite tv where we could even catch all the live sporting events, it was difficult to leave. We really were spoiled and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly, really hope we can come back soon!

Room Tip: Lotus beach pool villa is really the best, beachfront so the kayaks are just there and if the pool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raffles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
What a wonderful review! We are delighted your friends and you enjoyed the villa's facilities and our services. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I have shared your review with the team - such commendation is always very encouraging for us and make us very happy!

All of us look forward to welcoming your group back again.
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the main lotus villa with our family (3 couples, 3 young children). The multiple pavilion setup works perfectly for a large group providing privacy and excellent socialising areas. The quality of the villa was very high and with an incredible attention to detail. The villa is maintained to a very high standard. Sue and her team were excellent, particular mention for Rose who was outstanding as house keeping / front of house, nothing was too much trouble. Don the chef was good and cooked us a mean BBQ. No real negatives for us but you should be aware that the villas in the complex are not completely segregated and the beautiful infinity pool is a shared facility. If there are rowdy or noises guests staying the other villas it is likely you will hear them. Set against this the complex feels safer and more secure for having other guests nearby. We hope to return again soon!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hugoirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay at the Lotus Villa on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and services, and felt very well taken care. Such commendation is always motivating for us and will be shared with the team, especially Rose and Chef Ton.

We hope and look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends back again.
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This villa is situated in a calm area of the island very close to the beach. A beach where you can find several nice restaurants, enyoy massage or go kayaking, and of course go swimming. We also made use of our own pool - for games as well as for learning to swim. The Villa was thus perfect for lazy days "at home".

We loved the breakfast and cleaning service. But the most noteworthy was perhaps all the help we had with excursion bookings and advise on markets and restaurants. We really enjoyed all the advice on great excursions we received!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henkan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueSongphaison, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed the holiday, our facilities and services and hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards also from the team,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
1.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
3.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
2.7 mi away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.4 mi away
The Sea Koh Samui Boutique Resort & Residences
2.2 mi away
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lotus Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Terraces

Property: The Lotus Terraces
Address: 12/18 Moo 5, Maenam, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lotus Terraces 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lotus Terraces is a luxury beachfront resort located on Bang Por Beach. The resort has 5 villas ranging from 2 to 5 bedrooms, each with its own private pool and ensuite bathroom. There is also a 25m communal pool located right at the beach. Each villa is fully air-conditioned and has the convenience of all modern amenities including a fully equipped European kitchen, complimentary wireless internet and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Lotus Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lotus Terraces Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing