We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a surprise on Koh Samui!”
Review of Florist Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Florist Resort
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Shenyang, China
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“a surprise on Koh Samui!”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Actually, I took some risks to choose Florist since not so many people gave comments to it. I was simply attracted by its photos of Seaview Suite and reasonable price, and a feeling of...being remote from crowd. I would never know such a fine beach as Maenam, if I didn't stayed in Florist. It is clean and beautiful, very quiet. There are plenty of shops nearby and I recommend you to rent a motocycle in the shop just outside of the lane of the hotel. I think motocycle is the best choice for transportation on this island.
The hotel itself is a big surprise as well. The service is nice, seen by warm and kind staff. Food is good. Especially, they put many tables on the beach at night and you can enjoy a candle dinner. The boy of the hotel will buy fresh seafood for you from the market and cook it for you, with a reasonable price.
Finally, the room. My choice, seaview suite, is just gorgeous. It is on the second floor of a wood house, which is facing the sea. It has a spacious balcony. Inside, the furnitures are traditional style and all in heavy wood. It is cleaned daily.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BukeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    107
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
59
117
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We were recommened this family run apartments by friends and its well worth the visit if you looking for somewhere very quiet, the family that run it are amazing people who would do anything for you, the rooms are spotless, a visit to the local market is a must its amazing what you will see. Enjoy ur trip we certainly did and we will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayeslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We arranged a large group booking through our wedding planner in Samui after I researched appropriate hotels in the area. We had all 46 of us stay in the hotel. We had about 27 of the rooms (a large percentage of them). We had the Seaview Suite and other guests had a variety of room styles. Everyone was REALLY PLEASED with their rooms, they were modern, sleek, spacious and cool- all with views of a pool. It was perfect as it was small enough to see everyone around the place and big enough for people to do their own thing (as there were 2 main pools and we had a private one with our suite). Rooms were spotless, staff were very helpful and accomodating, going out of there way to make bookings for tours/ rental bikes etc. WHen my husband and I checked, there were about 8 staff helping take our bags etc?? The food in the restaurant is nothing spectacular but has a variety of western and Thai at reasonable prices. It was nice to have dinner on the sand next to the sea. They had a seafood BBQ every night as well as their regular menu. They were always happy to help our sometimes rowdy group, staying late when we stayed in drinking etc. This hotel helped to make our wedding perfect, wouldn't have changed a thing!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaiNeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Maenam Beach is quiet and relaxing and Florist Resort has excellent location at this beach. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Rooms are big and pools great.
They don't advertise hotel services but there are many, when you ask. For example room service from beach restaurant, cheap laundry and taxi.

This isn't a luxury hotel, but really good value for money. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

My sister and I stayed at The Florist Resort for 3 nights and had a great stay. After our first night we asked if we could try another room as the beds were incredibly uncomfortable and hard. The next room was marginally better, but all good, bathroom clean and acceptable - only issue was there was no hook to hang up the shower head so we had to use our kiwi inginuity and make one ourselves!
The restaurant is fantastic and open all day, they have the best seafood. Breakfast is buffet and like anywhere else in Thailand. There isn't alot do see and do in the immediate area, we heard there is a temple nearby but couldn't find it, and also a market. There is all the usual shops in the main street - 7/11, pharmacy, atms etc
We also ate at the italian "San Remo Lounge" and had fantastic pizza. If you walk along the beach to the right, then head up to the first street it's about 1/2 way up.
We got a taxi to fisherman's village one evening, was a great evening out, good shopping (who needs Chaweng!), and a great variety of bars and restaurants. We ate at another italian place "Alla Baia", again very good, great service etc.
The Maenam beach is nothing spectacular, we found the water to be a little dirty but it's a very quiet beach, not crowded by any means.
The staff are great, the two young guys that work in the restaurant are hilarious and great fun. One of them has a small white dog called Vodka which mingles with the guests, he's really lovely, and we thought it was so cool that he was allowed to bring his dog to work!
The pools are nice, clean and hardly used. There are massage ladies that have a hut on the beach, they were doing a roaring trade when we were there. The wedding party that was staying there kept them very busy!
On the subject of the wedding party, they were great and clearly had a great time (I see that one of them has already given a review and I agree with all his comments!). The only problem was that some of them were staying in the rooms above us and when they came home from a big night out they were very noisy. Now, they have every right to be and my criticism is more that the walls and floors are very thin than that they were noisy. So perhaps try and book an upstairs room if noise is an issue for you? Yes there is construction going on next door, and it did wake us up at 8am, but just as well really, we didn't want to sleep in anyway!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I came to this resort, sight unseen with little research as it has been selected by my sister in-law as the resort to house the guests of a wedding party, but that is a story for a different review.

When I first arrived, I was at first taken aback by the "basic-ness" of the place. I heard the work "resort" and automatically think of the big flashy corporate multi-story buildings with bellhops etc etc.

However, after being greeted by barefoot staff and spending a week with the wonderful people who make this place run, I am the first to say that this place was amazing.

The staff were always friendly and eager to please and nothing was too much trouble.

Although there was constant construction work on a neighbouring building, I found myself really loving the place. The outdoor eating area is simple, however their chef/s are amazing with a menu that would put many larger and more expensive hotels to shame.

Very affordable to eat and drink, and I highly recommend the seafood BBQ on the beach during the evening.

If you still cannot find anything to your liking on their menu, they are within walking distance to many other beachside eateries, and within a short stroll to most other shopping needs (eg: ATM's, 7-Eleven stores etc).

My only negative feedback was that their matresses were very firm and not my preference to sleeping.

Otherwise, a highly satisfactory resort and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artejal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Value for money, basic accommodation in the quiet and peaceful north of the island. We had 2 mini-superior rooms (very good low-season rate with free airport pick-up thrown in) which allows you to step directly into the pool straight from your room (awesome and so convenient). Toiletries and amenities in the room were a bit lacking (no hairdryer and telephone in the room) but nothing which bothered us too much. Although rooms did not have a sea-view, the beach and sea was only a few steps away. Due to the low season, it was practically a private beach, peaceful and serene, perfect for lazing and doing absolutely nothing. Mobile vendors selling trinkets, BBQ-ed sweet corn, and ready-cut pineapple and mangoes walk by occasionally should you feel peckish. There is a "massage centre" right on the beach where you can have your muscles kneaded and stretched while looking out into the big blue ocean spread out right in front of you and hearing the waves crash on the shore. The deck chairs and umbrellas on the beach could do with some upgrading though. Sand was rather coarse (more like tiny pebbles) and not powdery smooth, but the waters were reasonably clear and ideally warm for swimming. The breakfast which came with the room is severely lacking, but this is Thailand after all where good food is in abundance so you may be better off searching for food outside the resort anyway. Resort is away from the main road and access is through a small path which is quite dark at night but still relatively safe. Food outlets, convenience stores and laundry services can be found just on the main road. Service was acceptable. They willingly fixed the refrigerator and telly which didn't seem to work initially. Reasonable charge for airport transfer. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramaqueen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
1.3 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
429 reviews
1.3 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Mae Nam
532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#46 of 186 in Bophut
1,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hammock Samui Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florist Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florist Resort

Property: Florist Resort
Address: 195/3 Moo 1 T. Maenam, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Florist Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort located in the beautiful maenam beach in Koh Samui. Good place to stay for honeymooner's, for families, for friends enjoy your holiday. We try to give a good service for our guest's. Rooms are big enough specially for families.The Resort has pool for you to enjoy swimming and be relaxed under the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Florist Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florist Hotel Mae Nam
Florist Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing