We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing ....”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had booked a weeks stay here but stayed just one night and left the next day to check into another resort.
Admittedly the rates mean that you do not expect a luxury hotel but we stayed at other places for less money and received far superior accommodation.
The resort and bungalows are very run down - suffering from damp and decay of the materials they are built of. On top of this they are not cleaned thoroughly and are coated in cobwebs and stains. The grounds are rough and uneven and very poorly lit at night. The approach to the resort is not attractive or welcoming in any way. On top of this the meal that we ate there was the worst that we had during our whole stay of 17 nights .
When we let the Manager know that we were leaving after just one night he did not seem surprised and did not question the reasons why.
All in all the resort needs a major overhaul!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttraveller012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cschibli, Owner at Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
I was surprised reading it. I remember very well as you checked in in one of our newly refurbished Tropic Club Bungalows. One can not only say from the price also from the photos and the descriptions that we are not a 5 Star Luxury Hotel but that is also not our goal. I know the Hotel you went after you checked out as you have told me and that's definitely not in any way comparable with us.
As you checked out, you have told me that you need to change the hotel as one of you is asthmatic and could not stay in these kind of bungalows (which you have know before, what kind of bungalow we offer). So i though that is the true reason and now i read something completely different and even have the "hear" that I did not ask why. Strange.
Our Bungalows are cleaned on a daily basis. Of course the grounds are rough or what do you expect on a Hillside property?
You should have told me that the meal was worse as I asked you that night in the restaurant. Then i would have checked what happened and arranged a new meal for you. That is not what we want.
I admit that the entryway of the Hotel is not very welcoming but we can almost not do anything about that as it is not belonging to our property, but i will take care of that point and see how we can improve that.
Thank you anyway for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    22
    9
    28
See reviews for
11
74
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We arrived and the girly bar out the front was a bit of a shocker.. But upon seeing the hotel it looked nice. The bungalow looked lovely when we first walked in but upon closer inspection: but of a shocker. The floor was broken in the middle and so the bungalow was on a lean on both sides. Although I must say I had a FANTASTIC sleep and that was lovely but the service was a shocker. Waited TWO HOURS for a meal at the restaurant (a Caesar salad, a hash brown and vegetable and cordon bleu) and the hotel receptionist was pretty useless. She really was just so unmotivated to be of any help whatsoever and would rather socialise with her boyfriend while your waiting for her. The path had no lighting so walking in the dark isn't advisable. It's a shame, this place has the potential to be a fantastic hotel but just didn't get it right

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomNomNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cschibli, Owner at Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
First I would like to thank you for your stay and mention that the bars and businesses in front of the hotel (about 100 meter away) are not connected nor operated by the Hotel!.
I know we have some problem with the Restaurant as we have just taken it over a month ago. We are working on Quality, Service and timings hard to get it under control. We are already performing much better now. I am sorry that you had to wait a long time. That can and will not be our standard of service.
I would also like to apology for the not 100% in working Order Bungalow which i have just now seen when i got your review. I have taken action on it, closed it for further operation and we will start to refurbish and repair it in a couple days.
That my staff did not pay attention and first did her chit chat with the boyfriend is as well not the kind or the standard of service we want. I will discuss that topic at the next Front Office Meeting and take appropriate action.

Once again thank you for your information!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

This resort is terrible.
Their online booking system is a joke, they want your credit card details then inform you that this is only to confirm your age!!! They then want payment by paypal.
This was the first time I used my credit card online and a month later someone tried to take £1500, luckily the cards security stopped this and card was cancelled. Will never find out who actually tried this fraud but very coincidental.
We booked an airport minibus pick up for 500THB, on arrival only a car was waiting the driver got another and then charged us 600THB per car!!! Apparently the resort bus was crashed so there was no courtesy bus of an evening even though they promote this on their website.
The rooms are basic but you get what you pay, the garden feel is lost by tyres holding down tin sheets on the roofs of some bungalows. The paths are uneven so easy to twist an ankle and not very well lit at night.
Security is a problem as there are no safe in room so its best to carry valuables with you.
The staff cannot be trusted, the cashier actually stole all the resorts takings whilst manager was on holiday, 36000THB, hope you enjoy spending it Michael :-)
The pool is OK but went green, this was sorted overnight.
The restaurant was not open so we had to travel for food.
Location is remote, girlie bars at entrance so not a nice welcome for families and a road with commercial shops. Fishermans Village is worth a trip but you must haggle with taxi (unless they get the courtesy bus back).
The beach is not worth the walk, much better at Chaweng or Lamai.
Claudio has no customer service skills but Thai staff are friendly.
On leaving we paid for a taxi with Claudio for 04:30, this never turned up and the contact number was switched off, there is no reception staff to help and we ended up having to flag down a passing bus on the road, we only just made our flight with 10 minutes to spare, this could have been a disaster as we had connecting international flight.
Claudio, conveniently never answered his phone when we tried calling him from BKK to complain and I doubt he will refund our money or compensate us for the stress caused.
I advise you not to bother with this resort, pay a little more and get a better location and standard.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Firedog187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mae Nam hotels

Baden, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We have stayed for a week at Tropical Garden on Samui, beginning of December and it was really nice.

We have seen how they transformed in a couple days the Area back into a beautiful Hotel-Resort which has been a bit damaged by heavy rain.

The Bungalows are nicely furnished. We had one with an Outdoor Bathroom which was special but we liked it. The Pool is small but nice for a swim
and the Swim-up bar has a good selection of cheap Cocktails and Drinks. They just reopened the restaurant which looked very nice. We ate twice there and it was tasty.

Some improvements need to be made, but the Manager told us that’s already planned and will be done within 2 weeks.

The Staff is very friendly and helpful, we never had a Problem and they booked us taxis and the ferry to Koh Phangan which worked wonderful.

We would recommend this hotel to all who don’t need a luxury 5*- accommodation but don’t want to stay in a Backpacker Hostel. The price was very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansi-sunnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We booked for 1 month and ended up staying for 2 months. We were in a newly upgraded bungalow with outside bathroom and were very impressed with the layout and size. The kettle and fridge were very useful. Internet speed was good. Claudio and his staff are always friendly and helpful. Mae Nam beach is only 5 mins walk away and Fishermans Village with lots a lovely restaurants and bars on the beach is 5 mins by scooter or Song Taew. There is plenty of places to eat within walking distance of Tropical Garden. I would highly recommend Tropical Garden and will likely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

First I want to thank Claudio for wonderful holiday that me and my wife had at tropical garden lounge. Nice, clean thai bungalows are something that we could only imagine.
Everything was perfect. Nice staff free soft drinks, coffee, 2 bottles of water, every day changing linen and towels excellent king bad. Location is perfect. Only 3 min by scooter to the beach. All perfect places on samui are easily reached by scooter from tropical garden lounge.
What can I say? Perfect place for good price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mika35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2010

My boyfreind and I, stayed at Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel for 25 nights. And I must say it was a very plesent stay. And we will be back next year, trust me !!!
We pick'd this place, because of the positive reviews here on Tripadvisor. And we were not dissapointet. Lovely manager, lovely staff. Okay the staff don't speak very good english, but we are i Thailand. Not United Kingdom, No problems when you show them what you want. They always service you whit a big smile.

The bungalow was very nice ,romantic, and cheap. Normaly quality and price stick together. But not here, the quality is better than you can expect to that price. For us a very traditional thai style bungalow.
We got clean'd every day, fresh tavels every day, and clean glasses and cup's. There was nothing to complaine about.

The pool is a bit small, but still a lovely place to chill out. The beach is very beatiful, only 2 -3 min away on a scooter.

We only have positive things to say/write about this place.

Best regards from Kenneth and Jeanette, Denmark

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
2.3 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
9.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel

Property: Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel
Address: 19/9 Moo 1, Mae Nam | SuratThani Samui, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Tropical Lounge welcomes you to Samui Island, the splendid tropical islet treasure found in Southern Thailand. We offer world class indigenous Thai-style bungalow accommodation as you explore the magic that the pristine white sandy beaches, overhanging coconut trees and the clear blue waters of the sea, best suited for diving and snorkeling has to offer. The Coconut Island, with its abundance of flourishing corals is a paradise best fit for snorkeling, swimming, and diving exploits. Shopping Spree and Vibrant NightlifeFor your supplies and shopping on your and stay at our cheap bungalows in Koh Samui, there is a wide range of shops, stalls and markets in almost every beach that makes shopping easy, fun and affordable. As the sun sets, casting its rays sharply on the waters of the sea, a relaxing and fun-filled nightlife takes over as bars and discos play their favorite collections of modern musical beats to the exhilaration of the patrons dining and wining. Relaxing lounges open their doors to guests whose main focus for the night is to relax and have a good time, all night long! Affordable Accommodation in Koh SamuiThe Garden Lounge Bungalows are built in classy but characteristic Southern Thai style architectural designs and surrounded by thriving tropical gardens. The environment offers utmost comfort and modern facilities for a comforting and memorable holiday in Samui Island. With professional, competent and hospitable management and staff, your comfort and satisfaction during your stay with us is guaranteed. Our services are customized for each guest and their happiness is our pride and success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropical Garden Lounge
Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing