We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place with a very good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place with a very good service.”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

great place for the whole family. Really good atmosphere in amazing surroundings. bungalows were fine. great pool with a good atmosphere and nice bar. The restaurant did great food, especially at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimhorup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    22
    9
    28
See reviews for
11
74
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

disorganised, rude and Incompetent

Having booked a triple room through expedia, we arrived to an abrupt receptionist and given a room that didn't meet the criteria we'd paid extra for. The third person, which had been paid for in advance, didn't get the complimentary water, any bedding or breakfast. The reception staff were infuriatingly unhelpful when we pointed this out, they wanted us to pay an extra fee for an additional breakfast. The general manager was no where to be found, despite asking to speak with him several times. On previous trip advisor reviews we have noticed a response from the manager, not very helpful after you've checked out!

On top of this, we ordered some chicken spring rolls as a pool side snack which were raw. The kitchen staff and the pool side bar man were very friendly and replaced them but the incident seemed to add to our frustrating experience.

We were moved to the room we had paid for but still no bedding or breakfast for the third person was included.

When we did have breakfast, they finally relented (After numerous, lengthy complaints) they issued us with 3 breakfast vouchers worth 100 baht each, rather than 150 baht, which the initial 2 were allocated. It was NOT a breakfast 'buffet' as described. Our voucher entitled us to 2 bread buns each. 

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff had no understanding of customer service and made a situation much worse than it needed to be through their terrible, hostile attitude. 

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cschibli, Owner at Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
I am very sorry for the bad experience you had with us. I just have come accross your review now and have investigated what has happened.
First i would like to let you know, that i was always on site on your stay-date. I was not informed about your enquiries - once again sorry for that.
I have just found that information on expedia were loaded wrong. I have already got in contact with our market manager at expedia and requested him to change the information immediately.
Bedding for an extra person was in your room as i have checked in our records.

The information about the breakfast buffet on expedia is wrong. As I said already, this will be changed immediately. But i have to insist that the 100 Baht Breakfast Voucher entitles you to more than only 2 Bread Buns. For example a full thai breakfast, or our basic set which includes coffee, juice, crispy, freshly baked rolls, jam and butter. Eggs, Pancakes, Corn Flakes or other options are also possible.
We have already actioned on this and will raise the price a little bit to offer your guests a bigger breakfast option.

For the unhelpful staff problem, i will call in a immedieate meeting tomorrow moring with the staff to discuss that and take further action. That is not our standard.

Once again I am sorry for your bad experience and I will immediately take action to not let something like that happen anymore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mae Nam hotels

Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This was one of the only resorts in Thailand in which I booked in advance due to having vouchers from Thomas Cook and this being the cheapest that they offered. After reading other reviews I was apprehensive and upon arrival I can understand some of the concerns that said reviews voiced. One of which is the proximity of the 'girly bar' outside, however there was another entrance and it was a consideral distance from the resort anyway. The resort is in a quiet part of the island and idealy hiring a bike is the best option when staying here to make it easy to travel within the rest of Koh Samui. We stayed in a standard bungalow which was clean and well equipped. The outside toilet and shower was a nice touch and made it different from alot of the other resorts for a similar price. The pool is on the small side but usable with plenty of sun loungers. Koh Samui itself is easy to navigate being that one ringroad circles the entire island meaning that the location being a quiet one isn't a big deal if you want to get to the restaurants or bars. All in all our stay at the Tropical Garden Lounge was a pleasant one, however I would always pay for the room upon arrival in Thailand because the travel agents prices are around three times the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_A_B_1_9_8_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2011

After travelling around Australia for 8 months me and my boyfriend headed to Thailand for a nice peaceful holiday on the way back to England.

We stayed in Tropical Garden Lounge for a week and absolutely loved it. Ok its not 5* accomodation but thats not what we wanted, we wanted to live in a traditional Thai Bungalow for a week. The bed was lovely, the whole bungalow was great, pool was great for lounging around...topping up the tan and the nearby food places were good (we like to eat off the street vendors)

It is on a great location (just off the ring road) so you can get around the island very easily.

When I go back to Thailand later this year i'm definately going back here :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22hannah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerava, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

still stayin here, and NOTHING bad to say. Exellent place, friendly stuff, exellent location for looking to relax. If you are looking 5 star hotel, this may not be your place, but strongly recommand this hotel to partners who want relax and are not so interested the nightlife hell or 5 star hotel. nice bungalows with just lovely toilet and shower systems. nothing is better that take the morning shower in the sun shine or take your number one or 2 :) have to say, I LOVE THIS PLACE and will come again here next time when i will be in Ko Samui.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rontti79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had booked a weeks stay here but stayed just one night and left the next day to check into another resort.
Admittedly the rates mean that you do not expect a luxury hotel but we stayed at other places for less money and received far superior accommodation.
The resort and bungalows are very run down - suffering from damp and decay of the materials they are built of. On top of this they are not cleaned thoroughly and are coated in cobwebs and stains. The grounds are rough and uneven and very poorly lit at night. The approach to the resort is not attractive or welcoming in any way. On top of this the meal that we ate there was the worst that we had during our whole stay of 17 nights .
When we let the Manager know that we were leaving after just one night he did not seem surprised and did not question the reasons why.
All in all the resort needs a major overhaul!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttraveller012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cschibli, Owner at Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
I was surprised reading it. I remember very well as you checked in in one of our newly refurbished Tropic Club Bungalows. One can not only say from the price also from the photos and the descriptions that we are not a 5 Star Luxury Hotel but that is also not our goal. I know the Hotel you went after you checked out as you have told me and that's definitely not in any way comparable with us.
As you checked out, you have told me that you need to change the hotel as one of you is asthmatic and could not stay in these kind of bungalows (which you have know before, what kind of bungalow we offer). So i though that is the true reason and now i read something completely different and even have the "hear" that I did not ask why. Strange.
Our Bungalows are cleaned on a daily basis. Of course the grounds are rough or what do you expect on a Hillside property?
You should have told me that the meal was worse as I asked you that night in the restaurant. Then i would have checked what happened and arranged a new meal for you. That is not what we want.
I admit that the entryway of the Hotel is not very welcoming but we can almost not do anything about that as it is not belonging to our property, but i will take care of that point and see how we can improve that.
Thank you anyway for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We arrived and the girly bar out the front was a bit of a shocker.. But upon seeing the hotel it looked nice. The bungalow looked lovely when we first walked in but upon closer inspection: but of a shocker. The floor was broken in the middle and so the bungalow was on a lean on both sides. Although I must say I had a FANTASTIC sleep and that was lovely but the service was a shocker. Waited TWO HOURS for a meal at the restaurant (a Caesar salad, a hash brown and vegetable and cordon bleu) and the hotel receptionist was pretty useless. She really was just so unmotivated to be of any help whatsoever and would rather socialise with her boyfriend while your waiting for her. The path had no lighting so walking in the dark isn't advisable. It's a shame, this place has the potential to be a fantastic hotel but just didn't get it right

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomNomNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cschibli, Owner at Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
First I would like to thank you for your stay and mention that the bars and businesses in front of the hotel (about 100 meter away) are not connected nor operated by the Hotel!.
I know we have some problem with the Restaurant as we have just taken it over a month ago. We are working on Quality, Service and timings hard to get it under control. We are already performing much better now. I am sorry that you had to wait a long time. That can and will not be our standard of service.
I would also like to apology for the not 100% in working Order Bungalow which i have just now seen when i got your review. I have taken action on it, closed it for further operation and we will start to refurbish and repair it in a couple days.
That my staff did not pay attention and first did her chit chat with the boyfriend is as well not the kind or the standard of service we want. I will discuss that topic at the next Front Office Meeting and take appropriate action.

Once again thank you for your information!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
2.3 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#47 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
9.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel

Property: Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel
Address: 19/9 Moo 1, Mae Nam | SuratThani Samui, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Tropical Lounge welcomes you to Samui Island, the splendid tropical islet treasure found in Southern Thailand. We offer world class indigenous Thai-style bungalow accommodation as you explore the magic that the pristine white sandy beaches, overhanging coconut trees and the clear blue waters of the sea, best suited for diving and snorkeling has to offer. The Coconut Island, with its abundance of flourishing corals is a paradise best fit for snorkeling, swimming, and diving exploits. Shopping Spree and Vibrant NightlifeFor your supplies and shopping on your and stay at our cheap bungalows in Koh Samui, there is a wide range of shops, stalls and markets in almost every beach that makes shopping easy, fun and affordable. As the sun sets, casting its rays sharply on the waters of the sea, a relaxing and fun-filled nightlife takes over as bars and discos play their favorite collections of modern musical beats to the exhilaration of the patrons dining and wining. Relaxing lounges open their doors to guests whose main focus for the night is to relax and have a good time, all night long! Affordable Accommodation in Koh SamuiThe Garden Lounge Bungalows are built in classy but characteristic Southern Thai style architectural designs and surrounded by thriving tropical gardens. The environment offers utmost comfort and modern facilities for a comforting and memorable holiday in Samui Island. With professional, competent and hospitable management and staff, your comfort and satisfaction during your stay with us is guaranteed. Our services are customized for each guest and their happiness is our pride and success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropical Garden Lounge
Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing