We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our happy, friendly, easy holiday on the...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Zebbug, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
cassid51
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our happy, friendly, easy holiday on the beautiful island of Gozo”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Mary and Andrew made us so welcome on our arrival on Gozo. We were greeted with local snacks which were well received after our journey from England. After a tour of the lovely quirky house, Mary and Andrew gave us lots of information about the island's attractions. Gozo's history is complex and interesting and there are indications of its changeable past everywhere you go. The bus service is brilliant and so cheap, we used it all the time going from one end of Gozo to the other with ease. The friendly atmosphere on Gozo made us feel very relaxed, we became regulars at the local pizzaria where the food is good and the wine is cheap and also good!
Il Forn is beautifully renovated, we were very comfortable.The roof terrace has amazing views, we used it a lot .Everything was spotless , the beds were good, we felt at home immediately and hope very much to return one day. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: roof terrace
Liked least: nothing.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
264paul
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Andrew and Mary are great hosts - they were very knowledgeable, responsive and helpful before and during our stay - they gave us an extensive tour of the house and its amenities on our arrival, and helped us to arrange various trips around the island during the week. The house has been beautifully restored and is very well kept, with an amazing old baking oven downstairs. One of the outstanding aspects is the roof terrace, with views of the sea and across to the neighbouring villages. Zeebug is small and quiet, with excellent bus services giving access to all parts of the island, and has a couple of great pizzerias! Gozo is a beautiful island with an interesting history, and many things to see and do.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof terrace, the distinctive features of the house
Liked least: If anything at all, it would be that there are no good beaches within walking distance
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2015
Thank you so much for your great and much appreciated review! We would be very happy to host you once again in our restored bakery because you were really outstanding hosts.

Take care and wish you both a Happy Easter.

Mary & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian58
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment, very friendly owners on a lovely island.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Il Forn for a week in the first week of April. The apartment is beautifully restored from an old bakery with the oven still in situ downstairs. Lovely views from the roof terrace. The owners were truly hospitable and gave us lots of suggestions of things to do on the island. They even cooked us a local dish one night, which was very tasty. Although the island is small, there was lots to do and see. We particularly enjoyed our walks and the wild flowers were beautiful at this time of year. The sea is everywhere which makes for wonderful views and great walks. Don't expect a great night life, but if you'd like a relaxing holiday, this is great.

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2014
Dear friends, thank you so much for your excellent review about our house and about us! Your kind words are truly appreciated! Our guests mean so much to us and we are constantly doing our very best to make them have a comfortable and memorable stay.

Take care of each other and hope to meet you once again in the near future!

Saħħa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElinaMcC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, cosy and convenient!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a few days exploring Gozo and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at il-Forn. The rooftop terrace is just wonderful for dining in the evening, with fantastic views of Zebbug, the sea and the countryside. The weather was still cool when we went, so we didn't use the downstairs area very much, but I imagine that it must be a great respite when the summer heat starts. Il-Forn is equipped with absolutely everything you might need, even for a long stay. Our hosts were warm and welcoming and can tell you a lot about places to go and things to do. Booking a self-catering place is really the best because this way, you can fully enjoy the lovely fresh bread, vegetables and fish available every day, brought by hawkers with their trucks nearly to your doorstep. The owners have obviously put a lot of loving care and thought into renovating this place and have preserved its unique charm and features. I'll be recommending it to all my friends!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique features of the old bakery, beautifully preserved and renovated
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your outstanding review. The place enjoys unspoilt views from the roof terrace especially during the winter months when the valley below is all green, or in spring with the blooming flowers which resemble colourful carpets. Winters here are very mild with temperatures about 13 degrees on average and at night about 10 degrees. This makes it ideal to go for walks in our unique countryside and along the exceptionally beautiful coastline.

Besides being served at you door by the hawkers is a unique experience! You truly live like the locals!

Heartfelt thanks to you and hope to see again soon:))

Always in our hearts
Mary & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia L
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday conditions”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spend 10 sunny and relaxed days at Il Forn.
Everything was comfortable and we especially enjoyed the view from the roof terrace – so every evening after pizza at “Francesco” we had a glass of wine on the terrace.
Mary and Andrew are a very friendly and helpful couple, they organized the transfer from airport Malta to Zebbug-Gozo and a boat trip to Comino – perfect holiday conditions.
Thank you very much!

Claudia and Eva

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from roof terrace
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2014
Dear friends, thank you so much for your outstanding review. It is always a pleasure knowing that you achieved what you came for - peace and tranquillity and a relaxing stay!

Hope to meet you again but this time with your larger families - would be a real pleasure for us!

Take Care and wish you luck with your profession!

Mary & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2013
Dearest friends we have no words to thank you enough for your exceptional review. You left us speechless!!!!

It is so nice to hear that our lovely guests from the other continent had such a wonderful time at "il-Forn" and on Gozo. Talking to you was so nice and we thank you for all your precious time you shared with us. Both of you are incredibly warm persons and it would be such an honour if we'll have the time to meet you and host you once again here in our tranquil village of Zebbug.

Take Care of yourselves and all the very best of luck:)))

Until we meet again you will always be in our hearts
Mary & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denmark
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2013
Dearest family from Denmark, it is such a pleasure knowing that you found yourselves comfortable in the house and that you had everything that you needed available for you.

We would really like to thank you for joining us to the BBQ by the beach and we will surely treasure this moment forever. It was so nice talking about our ways of living and it is always so interesting knowing about other cultures.

Give a big hug to all the children and it would be an honour for us to host you all once again here in Zebbug.

Always in our hearts
Mary, Andrew, Davida & Jeremy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing