We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza in Gozo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maxokk

Maxokk
Ranked #2 of 3 Bakeries in Nadur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Iklin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Gozo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

As the title says...best pizza in Gozo. Very well valued and of course...really delicious. This can't be compared to any fast food pizza joint or even Pizza Hut. This is simply a bakery that sells pizzas and Gozitan ftiras which again are really good. The pizzas are all hand made and authentic. I suggest you call before to place an order and then pick up the pizza when it's ready. No sitting area as this is a bakery as I mentioned before not a restaurant...but...just some meters away from the bakery there are some benches so problem solved :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuanDingli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    51
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marsalforn, Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“omg...really delicuous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

omg.....I tasted for the first time in my life the "ftira" with traditional Gozitan cheese and i loved it from the very first bite :) if you are in Gozo you must taste this traditional delicious ;)

Helpful?
Thank Anthon87
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Nadur!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem in Nadur. They prepare delicious pizzas baked freshly in their ancient wood-fired oven! The taste is just second to none. Highly recommended but if you are in a rush do phone them in advance and place your order for collection. They make everything fresh and it takes 30 mins to prepare! Well worth the wait.

Helpful?
Thank Kringl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT Gozo Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

An amazing place. Book your pizza beforehand. They are delicious. Even the frozen pizza to take home is great. Great to take to the beach and enjoy with company.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RBTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Ftiras (pizza)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have been here many times over the years and i have to say that there were years when the ftira was better then other times. I just hope they keep the traditional cooking and way of doing things so as not to lose the taste to this special Pizza. Otherwise i think they are probably the best anywhere. I would try and focus more on service and punctuality. Since its an order and pick up type of place i think that they need to either be more organised and surely more polite/friendly if they want to keep up their good business as most people are not willing to order and be told to go at a certain time only to arrive and have to wait for 30-45mins anyway.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NPD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxokk also viewed

 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Maxokk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing