We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50 Years Old and Still improving with age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corinthia Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Congratulations to The Corinthia Group on the 50th Aniversary of their opening of the Villa Corinthia,we were fortunate to be in residence when the celebrations took place as we had again booked our stay to co- incide with the Lighting Ceremony which included a wonderful gala dinner.

As I had previously said in my review last year I described the hotel as being and running like a Rolls Royce. Well the old lady has a new chaufeur Mr David Woodward and although small changes have been made it is in the hands of a very fine driver. He also has a wonderful management team with him, nothing and I mean nothing was to much trouble for them day or night.

My wife was a little upset that the silver clouches are no longer used in the restaurant covering the dinner plates whilst they were being served ,also she couldn`t have any of her favourite Maltese bread at breakfast. They are the only two little moans she had.

Mr Woodward very kindly upgraded us which helped my wife who has some mobility problems. Thank you very much for this kind gesture it made a big difference to her holiday.

The front of house staff as usual where fantastic a big thank you to Martin for helping us with our room move.The housekeeping staff where superb thanks Sandra, the barstaff and Lizio in particular could not be faulted cheers.

Raymond Vella and all his staff in the Villa Corinthia thank you so very much for all the consideration that you showed to us and in particular to my wife it was greatly appreciated. The food was stunning.as was the food in The Rickshaw.

I would recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone who likes the nice things in life and very laid back entertainment i.e.Keyboard player /singer Chris Rhea style and other keyboard players. It is not a place to stay if you want loud and raucous entertainment ,niether is it suitable for children they will get bored because there is no entertainment for them. If you want to discover the art of conversation you will enjoy your stay here.

So finally I would suggest if you like good food, good service and a quiet setting stay here. If you want to be in the middle of the entertainment area and by the sea and still get good food and service I would say stay at their sister hotel the San George at St Georges.

Cann`t wait to return

Room Tip: They are all good ,what little traffic noise there is is at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikePlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. My team and I are indeed delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and that we helped to make your stay with us a pleasant one.

It is a particularly warming experience to receive comments such as yours, and gratifying to know that you were pleased with our efforts to provide superior service and exceptional food. We believe that the loyalty of guests who take the time to post such feedback is our greatest asset in maintaining quality and hence I have taken the liberty of placing a copy of your review on our staff noticeboard.

Meantime, my staff and I are always at your disposal and we very much look forward to seeing you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

When looking at past reviews before I went over I was a bit concerned but when I arrived I was pleasantly surprised its got 4 amazing restaurants in the hotel each had great food... Staff are lovely especially Martin lovely man. The pool is great but not as nice as its sister Hotel at St George's Bay... But I loved the gym was great... I would definitely not fault it i got great deal for ten nights and I will be going back for sure

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel, we have picked up your comments through Trip Advisor and would like to thank you for your encouraging and complimentary comments.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com if I can be of any assistance.

Thank you once again.
David Woodward - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is 5* so is what you expect for the rating, it was a 'thankyou' from our daughter, and what a gift it was, the staff at this hotel were wonderful, couldn't be more helpful on the whole, some more so than others, but the hotel, rooms, service was excellent. It is in a residential area of San Anton - away from the nightlife etc, but within easy reach if wanted. The room-service was excellent and although this hotel is slightly more expensive than most, the food was first rate, we had Bed and Breakfast, but the breakfast was like a banquet, there would be nothing you could want that was not there and you can eat as much as you like, as it is buffet style-there was also a courtesy bus to three different parts of the island, which you did not pay for, so this was a bonus as you could go into the 'nightlife' and come back to the peace of your hotel. There is also San Anton gardens just across the road, which is well worth a quiet walk around in the late afternoon, and a small cafe with good value snacks to eat. The only minus at this hotel was - we went in early October and although in the brochure it advertised all the amenities until the end of October, they were not all open, ie the Pasta/pizza food area by the pool, and the restuarant/drink are beside the pool was only open for a few hours, so snacks were restricted.They also provide towels for the pool area on a daily basis, so all the little extras really help with the whole package of this hotel. Staff were best ever...

Room Tip: second floor or above is best.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlossWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Guest Services at Corinthia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you most sincerely for posting your kind feedback on Trip Advisor following your visit to the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.
 
We are very pleased to note that we lived up to your expectations and that you found our luscious buffet breakfast and courtesy coach service to you satisfaction.

Kindly note that although we try to keep our summer operation going up to the end of October, in view of weather conditions, sometimes this is not possible.

Please be assured that we are always at your disposal and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa in the very near future.

Anna Alexandrova - Guest Services
obo Mr David A Woodward - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The joinery from windows and doors accesing balcony is made from iron and has no garnish to seal. This affects sleep quality because it doesn't stop the noise and the wind. Because of this temperature inside room is also affected and during night it can be low and you have no posibility to turn on heat from air conditioner sistem because it is locked on cool.
The hotel is clean and you can find a varied food in breakfast.
Location is not so good because there are no shops in neighborhood and I couldn't find nothing to visit, but I was in business travel..
Spa I did not use it so I can not say about it.

Room Tip: some rooms are equiped with old type tv, others with LCD tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IonVictorIonStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by very polite reception staff and this level of curtesy was shown to us throughout the holiday. We were half board and as previous reviewers have already said, the breakfasts are the best anywhere. The choice is very wide and varied, something for everyone.

We found that most people dressed for dinner, some even in bow ties!! The food is top class with a small 'chefs compliment' to start, followed by starter, pasta course, main course and dessert. All top quality food, even if the main course portions were rather small. Again, service in the restaurant was second to none.

The rooms were lovely and big with a 6' bed, telvision with multiply stations, mini bar etc. The grounds were immaculate as was the pool area. Being out of season there was no pool service though.

My only grumble would maybe be the hotel's taxi service. We were charged 20 euro for a short rise to the golf course.

There is nothing much in the area itself. There are no shops but the bus service is cheap and frequent. For just a couple of euro, you can ride on any bus for the whole day. We went to lots of small villages, all very interesting.

As for the hotel, it truly justifies its 5* status and I would have no hesitation in reccommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor overlooking the front gardens. We heard traffic, but nothing much else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieSeptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned after another stay here at our favourite Malta hotel,although it may be away from other peoples choices of say, a sea front hotel,we keep returning here for the peace and tranquility of every day life in the towns of Attard and Balzan.The hotel has most things you want in a good hotel,large comfortable rooms with good air con,excellent food choices,good pools and plenty comfortable sun beds,clean public areas including all toilets.The one thing though that stands out is the service and attention from all staff,the previous manager Mr Rota has moved to head office, but with the new man at the helm the standards will not alter.Outside of the hotel ,even in the non summer months numerous wine bars and restaurants are open,don't be mislead that there are no options away from the hotel,maybe you need to know where they are,but they are there.Over the road there are the lovely San Anton gardens where a nice stroll is in order,food and drink facilities are there too.The silent city of Mdina is 10 minutes by car or hotel taxi,or if you fancy a short bus journey where you can spend best part of the day,Valletta is approx the same distance,so are most places to visit,also the airport is a very short hike away so no long journey after a flight.If you fancy it shop around for a good deal or go direct with your own flights and book direct with the hotel like we always do and get a good rate from them,it's always worked out cheaper for us.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have a few little extras,try to get a free upgrade or barter the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelSunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Searching for a little late September sun brought us to Malta and the Corinthia Palace Hotel. Booked as a late season package we found it a very....very expensive week away.
The Hotel its self is a lovely building and has retained some elements of grandeur. We found the location too quiet, there was very little within walking distance, however the bus service was good and you were able to get around easily enough.

The room was a decent size with a large comfortable bed, the bathroom on the other hand was tiny. Breakfast was very good with just about everything you can imagine and plenty of it, they were also very keen to cater for my Gluten allergy although sometimes the offerings were inedible, but the thought was certainly there.

The outdoor pool was lovely and always plenty of beds up for grabs, a lot of the pool area was in shade most of the day but you could always find a sunny spot if that’s what you wanted.

A couple of things lacking, the fact there is no free Wi-Fi, only basic TV no movies or radio, no complimentary bottled water in the rooms (you can’t drink the tap water) and you couldn’t get a Mojito in the cocktail bar as they couldn’t get hold of mint!! Simple things you would expect from a 5 star hotel. On a positive note the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The best part of the holiday was our trip to Mdina which is a short bus ride from the hotel and Xlendi on the Island of Gozo.

Over all I thought the holiday was poor value for money and the hotel fell just a little short of being a 5*

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anton
3.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,921 reviews
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,380 reviews
3.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,190 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel

Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range: $106 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the island of Malta, adjacent to the Presidential Palace and public San Anton botanical gardens, the 147-room five-star Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa exudes authentic grace and classical charm. The Villa Corinthia, a century-old restored residential villa, is the main restaurant and social event venue, where warmth, personal attention and traditional elegance abound. Guests can also enjoy The Summer Kitchen, our seasonal al fresco brasserie or a cocktail at the Caprice Lounge prior to dining at the exclusive Far Eastern restaurant Rickshaw, where Asian tastes are passionately served. The Athenaeum Spa provides its guests with an extensive range of wellness facilities, complete with a wide selection of revitalising treatments where precision is the call of the day, a fitness centre, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta/San Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing