We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wardija Hilltop Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wardija
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very basic accomodation”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked a 6 person room. No TV, no washing machine, ants a big problem therefore everything had to be put in fridge. Air con was 3 bedroom fans which were noisy but worked, difficult to sleep with. Arrived 10pm for holiday but not worried as it said there was a bar and mini market. no on site mini market, bar was shut by 10pm so we had no water or drinks. We had no car but found a path leading down to shops took 25 mins and an uphill climb. no buses , due to road works when we were there, but the stop is a fair way and definatley need a car. Positives? the staff helpful and friendly but when the accomodation is so basic there is not much they can help with. Pool very clean and good but wifi is very expensive to buy, only one free wifi hotspot near poor, found in last few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived and within 4 hours had found an alternative place to stay....why? Well, we were NOT expecting anything luxury, that we knew...but the apartment was very smelly like it hadnt been used for quite some time and the bathroom shower was broken, split tiles and not even one star quality.............better off going to a campsite

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen3566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wardija hotels

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We rented two four bedroom apartments.
The apartments are huge and comfortable
The apartments were very basic having only bare essentials
showers were a little bit of a pain
but when ever we had a problem with something they were very quick to solve the problem :)
The pool was always clean and was amazing to swim in
it was very peaceful (until we showed up)
certainly need a car as it takes 30/40 mins to walk to shop
a great place for socializing
I would suggest that they update their kitchen facilities such as ovens, toasters ect
I would also suggest the service provide more fresh clean towels as towels got very dirty very quickly in Malta
We did have a great time there and would go again

Room Tip: Take your own beach towels and maybe even bath towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

fantastic location if you want to be away from it all.car a must unless you love walking. there were only three apartments occupied when we stayed in june so it was like having our own personal complex which we enjoyed. the apartment was not serviced at all in a week which we did not like. no clean sheets or towels.we did get one set of fresh towels when we managed to track the maids down. there never seemed to be any one around and we were not able to book any trips from the site. there are no cleaning materials in kitchen but the supermarket is well stocked. no air con it was hot in june so would not like to be there in july or august.good value for money.views to die for.excellent pool.large airy rather dated apartments which could do with new bathrooms but on the whole would recommend

Room Tip: room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonnestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have been travelling to Malta for our family holiday for the past 25 years (sometimes twice in a year, most recently June & Sept 2011), each time staying at Wardija Hilltop Village and we would not consider staying anywhere else. With friendly and courteous staff, who are always happy to help, a spacious private swimming pool (with safe children’s area), private bar with games room, internet facilities and well maintained apartments, Wardija Hilltop has always made for a fantastic home from home for us in Malta. The apartments as described in other postings are not as luxurious as perhaps the Radisson or the Hilton, but everything that you need for a self-catering holiday is provided and the facilities are always kept immaculately clean. All of the apartments are incredibly spacious and are all individual, which gives the feel of living in your own small private village and you are left to relax and enjoy Malta at your own pace. The peaceful location of Wardija Hilltop commands exceptional views of the countryside of northern Malta, enabling you to see both sides of the Island from Golden Sands Resort to St. Paul’s Island and Bay, with Gozo in the distance (on clear days you may also be able to see Sicily if you look very carefully). A car is a must, but car hire and airport transfers are all well organised by the staff, so there is no need for you to book these yourself. With the nearest main road a short drive away and a new bus route a short walk from the apartments, it is easy to get to the nearest supermarket and to make your way around and explore the Islands.

Room Tip: All apartments a spacious and unlike a lot of other holiday accommodation, you are provided with ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bath-Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

For several years together with my wife and on occasion family members, we have had the pleasure of self catering holidays at Wardija Hilltop Village. Well organised by Mr Joseph Mamo and capably looked after by Anna and the girls, we have always been well satisfied with our accommodation and with the attention given by the staff to any problems that might have arisen. As with any self catering facility one doesn't expect hotel standards, what we have is clean, comfortable and spacious apartments, the necessary kitchen facilities and adequate hygiene arrangements. The swimming pool is clean and an excellent facility, whilst the all round views from the village which is some four hundred feet above sea level are beautiful. The recent growth of Scotts Supermarket in nearby Burmarrad gives a wide choice of food and goods for the self caterer, whilst the small bar in the village complex is a good social meeting place. Having a car for the duration of our stay makes travel fairly simple and is a necessity. Certainly I would not hesitate to recommend Wardija to my friends for an enjoyable and memorable holiday destination. Norrie Radcliffe

Room Tip: A purely personal choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We have been visiting Wardija Hiltop Village for a long time now. We go each summer for at least two weeks and we have had the most lovely holidays. When our son was young he used to accompany us, sometimes with a friend and it is a lovely place for a family holiday. You need to be able to drive a car as the site is high and isolated. The apartments are basic but very spacious and the views are gorgeous. The bar, internet room and games room on site are very useful when you dont want to drive. But the lively Bugibba Resort is only 10 mins away by car. The staff are friendly and helpful and the apartments are always very clean. The pool is large and has a safe area for children, but most of all the peace and tranquility are beyond compare.

Room Tip: Each apartment is individual and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BainbridgeLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wardija
0.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
1.4 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
4.7 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wardija Hilltop Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wardija Hilltop Village

Property: Wardija Hilltop Village
Address: Balut Road, Wardija, Island of Malta WRD001, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Wardija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wardija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wardija Hilltop Village 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wardija Hilltop Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wardija Hilltop Village Hotel Wardija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing