We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and welcoming, tasty food”
Review of Munchy Monkey

Munchy Monkey
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Xemxija
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
East Sussex, U.K.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very friendly and welcoming, tasty food”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a take-away with several outside tables overlooking the bay.
Upon our first visit for lunch, we had good sized filled bagettes with a generous portion of potato crisps on the side. Before serving, the owner came to table and asked if we would like butter on the cheese and ham bagette - appreciated as without a spread might be a little dry.
Visited again a few days later for a take-away and the owner came out and gave me my driving license which I had no idea that I had dropped on previous visit. He had even gone to the trouble of going up the hill to a local hotel to see if I was staying there (I wasn't), he said had I not have returned he would have mailed it to the UK. What fantastic service and honesty!
Final visit for lunch of beef burger with chips and salad, again substantial tasty and filling.
Excellent value for money and will definately return next time in Malta.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sidleyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best ever pizza!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Try their Green Munky if u are tomatoe lover or Havajian or any other.. if u are meat lover try meaty fest.. my husband loved the amount of toppings on pizzas.I loved size of it and price too . 16 inch is enouh to eat for two so no need to spend more :) staff is friendly. Place is simple but pizzas are top class!

Helpful?
Thank ironia-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most delicious pizza of all!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you really want to taste a good pizza, it must be the one at Munchy Moose at Xemxija. It's big enough to share by two or three, full of ingredients and has a nice ,thin pizza dough. The owner/staff is friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Besides, prices are very reasonable, if not cheaper, compared to other eateries. Do go and try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“horrible”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

we ordered a pizza and when it got here it was cold, it was very undercooked and overall terrible. I will never eat from there again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta,Malta
Level Contributor
226 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great Value... would return.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

For a Couple that are starters/inexperiance in the catering industry, they are really doing a great job..

Keep in mind that this is a small Cafeteria/Pizzeria, which only have about 10 tables all of them outside..

Service is quick & very Friendly,
Prices are very reasonable & are great value of what you will have.
Food is fresh & taste very good... while the Pizza is very huge & very good as well.

It`s a great place to stop by for a quick lunch or informal dinner... a very relaxed place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munchy Monkey also viewed

Xemxija, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 
Xemxija, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Munchy Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing