We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem - just perfect”
Review of Maria's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria's B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Ghasri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got back from an 11 night stay at Ta Maria in Ghasri - it has been just perfect.
The B&B is in a large farmhouse with a lovely courtyard setting for breakfast and a welcome pool for that late afternoon dip on your return from a day out. Sonia has it down to a fine art making guests feel at home, creating a welcoming home away from home. Guest have the use of the kitchen along with a fridge which enables you to either cook at the B&B or keep your drinks cool either way its a welcome extra. The breakfast Sonia provides covers all tastes from a "Full English!" to the continental offering of meats cheese fruit yoghurts etc and to add to all this are Sonia's home baking her cakes are all delicious and the kitchen is the first stop for all on their return from a day out as she leaves cake available for you to help yourself, a lovely touch to a perfect B&B. Our room #4 was huge with a double bed and a single in and enough room to put more beds if needed, it was kept spotless by Sonia's daily help who were lovely ladies always a smile on their faces. We would come back after eating out and sit out on the top veranda and just absorb the view and the peace and quiet and enjoy a glass of wine before going to bed, this is one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever been on and will no doubt be returning to Ta Maria again. Nothing was too much trouble for Sonia and it was lovely to see the family involved in the business as both her sister, son and dad were around at various times - such a lovely family. Gozo has found a little niche in our hearts and we shall be back. We made use of the large parasol that was available which enabled us to enjoy the local feel of Dhalet Qurrot, a lovely little bay but with no shade! Even though we had a car,the day bus ticket is excellent value for money as for €5.20 for the two of us, we could use as many buses as we wanted in day, all were on time and ran hourly up to about 11pm.We did not see all of the island and look forward to coming back and more exploring and of course a further stay at Ta Maria - thanks Mandy & Dave

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinnydiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Mandy & Dave,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience at Maria's BnB.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you home again in the near future !

Greetings,

Sonia & All

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had an amazing week at Maria's, the location is beautiful in a very rural setting. Maria and Sonia were incredibly welcoming and house is beautiful, with a lovely pool and a shady courtyard with loungers, chairs and tables. There is a very well appointed kitchen and plenty of cool indoor space for really hot days. Everything is spotlessly clean without feeling sterile.

Breakfast is fantastic, Sonia's baking is fantastic and she caters for gluten free diets too (as do many of the restaurants around Gozo) and the range of fresh fruit a real bonus. If you don't fancy self-catering, there are a number of good restaurants in Victoria/Rabat which is only a 10 minute bus ride away (the buses run hourly and are very reliable). The supply of beach towels and snorkels was a lovely touch.

All in all we couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Effie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Effie W,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience with other TA travelers.

We do our best to ensure guests satisfaction while enjoying their stay at Maria's BnB.

Looking forward to welcoming both home again in the near future.

Greetings,

Sonia & Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have spent ten wonderfull days in Maria B&B on June 2013.
If you intend to visit Maltes islands, just choose Gozo; if you choose Gozo, just choose Ghasri village, if you choose Ghasri, just choose Maria B&B.
Gozo has kept the original beauty of mediterraneen islands. Ghasri is a typical country village which is the starting point of marvellous walks and Maria B&B is an exceptionnal building, with a very nice swimming pool.
Most of all, the familial team delivers fabulous services. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michel Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Giraud M,

Many thanks for posting a lovely review on Trip Advisor.

It is always our aim to ensure our guests a comfortable and a pleasant stay as much as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you both home again when you are back on the Island of Gozo.

Greetings,

Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A wonderfully restored village house. Sonia was welcoming, helpful and cooked a superb breakfast! We had a lovely stay here and enjoyed the tranquility of this oasis on our daily returns from seeing the sights. Although there are no restaurants in Ghasri, Gharb is within easy driving diatance where there are 3, and there are cooking facilities at the BnB which you are free to use if you don't want to set off out again in the evening.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have the room at the top of the block which had a huge terrace with panoramic v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucket_list68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Bucket_list68,

Many thanks for posting a lovely review on Trip Advisor.

We all look forward to welcoming you home again in the future.

Regards,

Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My better half and I needed a good "break from it all" so we booked at this little b&b in the village of Ghasri. It was quite secluded but only about 7 mins by car away from Victoria.

It was our first Gozitan b&b experience so I didn't know what to expect-and was more than pleasantly surprised. The room was lovely and clean, nice ensuite shower, comfy bed, tastefully decorated in 'old' chic to go with the building (farmhouse/house of character). Breakfast was served everyday, fresh and made to order (unlike mass produced hotel breakfasts). And while you enjoy your tea and freshly baked cake, your room is being done up so when you go upstairs you can either go out or sleep a little bit more.

What I really liked about the place is, that although it is 'manned' - you have breakfast & house keeping services - you have the feeling that you are actually self catering, so unobtrusive the owners are. They even allow use of the kitchen to prepare snacks/meals, and a nice cake and tea/coffee facilities for those who fancy a sweet treat. I think it's a really great combination; you have the comforts of a hotel, plus the liberty of self-catering.

The building itself, especially the lounge/dining room are really great for chilling out with a tea and a book; and there is also an outdoor pool in the courtyard with plenty of loungers, pool towels etc.

I travel extensively for work and have had my run of hotels (including some five star resorts); so I know a good experience when I see one. Excellent value for money, truly homely service, a genuine restful weekend. Hope we'll be back soon.

Thanks for the experience.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank amandadeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear amandadeba,

Many thanks for posting such a positive review !

We try to do our best to ensure guests satisfaction throughout their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you both home again in the near future.

Regards,

Sonia & All

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Maria's B&B last year over the summer in August. This was the first time I stayed in accommodation outside from staying with family members in Gozo. We are booking again as we enjoyed our stay so much. Maria is extremely welcoming and the accommodation is of a fantastic quality. Very clean, fantastic facilities for a farm house, breakfast amazing and the hospitality outstanding. We hired a car (which you need to do in Gozo) and the location is central however you do feel like you are away from it all which is what I look for when on holiday. It only takes 10 min to drive into Victoria (the main town in Gozo) and 15-20 to get to pretty much anywhere on the island. Loved it and looking forward to staying here again in August.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berniemac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Berniemac81,

Many thanks for sharing your holiday experience at Maria's BnB with other TripAdvisor travelers.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both home again in August.

Regards,

Maria & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

That was our last holiday with my wife as she's having our second baby next July. The first good thing (because there were many) on our arrival is that we phoned for we were a bit lost and Sonia came to fetch us with her car at the Il-Fanal bus station. I want to say that we had a car. The place itself is very well kept. The room we had was the biggest and we had ample blankets for the room was a bit fresh for us.
In the morning while you're having your breakfast, your room is being cleaned. This means that if you want to go back to bed after breakfast like we did for we needed a big rest; you can do so.
Breakfast is very good as HenrikST said with egg cooked according to your preference. Home-baked cakes which they leave in the fridge for your convenience if you need a snack in the afternoon for instance.
It's the perfect place if you need to relax. The terrace is nice if you want to read, doze, etc...A supermarket is not too far and you can find there I believe everything you need. They even have a butcher's stand. This means that if you don't want to move outside Ghasri, you can do so.

Buses are regular but if you want to be fully independant, rent a car even if you're not used to drive on the left side of the road like us.

Room Tip: If you're a couple try to ask for room 4, it's the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Anthony H,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience at Maria's BnB with other Trip Advisor travelers.

It is always our aim to ensure that all our guests enjoy a pleasant and an enjoyable holiday as much as possible.

Wishing you all the very best and looking forward to welcoming you as well as your children home again in the future.

Greetings,

Sonia & Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghasri
11.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.8 mi away
Casa Gemelli Boutique Guesthouse
2.1 mi away
Maria Giovanna Guest House
Maria Giovanna Guest House
#1 of 5 in Marsalforn
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lellux Bed and Breakfast Gozo
2.4 mi away
Ellie Boo Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Ta' Matmura Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's B&B

Address: 31 Triq Il-Muxrabija, Ghasri, Island of Gozo GSR 1251, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Ghasri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ghasri
Price Range: $73 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ta' Maria B&B is a farmhouse of the 19th century. Set in the open countryside, it is located in Ghasri, the smallest village in Gozo. In 7 minutes, you can walk to the bus stop for links with Victoria. Ta' Maria offers 2 terraces with tables and chairs, and an outdoor swimming pool, open all year. The rooms are furnished with antiques, and offer a private bathroom. Some rooms have air condition which is at an extra daily charge. Free Wi-Fi is available at reception. A sweet and savory buffet is served daily, in the former mill with fireplace, or by the pool. Cakes and jams are homemade, by the pastry chef. Bus 308 connects the village with Victoria, 3 km away. From Victoria, it is a 15-minute ride on bus 301 to reach Mgarr ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maria's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria's B&B Island Of Gozo/Ghasri, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing