We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pong”
Review of Villagg Tal-Fanal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villagg Tal-Fanal
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pong”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The second week of our visit [middle of September 2011] began with the local farmer dumping tons of pig manure and then spending the next week spreading it on his field [which is immediately behind the curtain wall at the back of the complex] It was impossible to sit outside as the smell was sickening! The smell was complimented by hoards of small biting flies which seemed to defy all know insect repellents. Servicing was poor - only once a week - towels and sheets needed changing more often. The ceiling fans [no air conditioning] were ineffective.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the field adjacent to the complex recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    41
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
49
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The complex is situated in a quiet part of Gozo. The external areas, including the swimming pool area were kept clear of rubbish and the self catering accommodation was spacious. Unfortunately, a number of issues let the accommodation down which, with a bit of effort from the management of the complex, could have made all the difference. For example, the floor to the ensuite bathroom was tiled but the design of the tiles resulted in the gap between the tiles a real trap for dirt - which took some scrubbing to remove! The bed linen and towels that were provided were clean but the sheets were very tired and should have been replaced some months if not years ago. Both the sheets and towels were discoloured from use. One of the gas hobs to the kitchen cooker did not work and the bottle trap to the kitchen sink had leaked onto the kitchen pans and bowls which were stored beneath the sink - although that didn't matter that much as the pans were in such a poor condition i.e. non stick coating to the frying pan worn away that we simply purchased new equipment! including a new clean can opener and a sharp kitchen knife. Some comfortable seating in our unit, as observed in other units, would have been welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CJsy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We planed to spend a family break in Gozo and opted for an apartment in Ghasri. However, when we arrived, we had to go down a bad lit flight of steps to the 'ground floor' apartment. The apartment was fitted with the bare minimum furniture with almost no furmishings whatsoever. The kitchen was a bad joke with no proper utensils-not even matches to light the gas burners-fridge was rusty and at night an insect feast! Shower was broken and toilet flushing leaking. The overall comment is very negative and I must say that we will never opt for a holiday here. Surely would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ghasri hotels

Valletta,Malta
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

.The units are very well located, spacious and peaceful but in our case, ours certainly lacked service and maintenance. Some examples which come to mind are: old & worn towels, Old & lack of pots and panskitchen tools and utensils , poor water pressure, bad water quality, torn insect nets, nowhere to hang clothes and towels outdoors, the tv buttons were broken and we were not given a tv remote control and most importantly is that we had to clean the apartment ourselves when we arrived as it was filthy.
We are very disappointed and we certainly won’t be returning back to this complex ..
there are much Better options in Gozo with the same price Ratio

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were a wedding group of over 80 persons from both families who stayed here in May for a wedding in Ta Frenc restaurant. Some stayed for 10 days, Others just a week. A really good time was had by all as we got to know everyone really well. We rented a car at quite reasonable rates as did some other groups during the stay. I would recommed this as there is no restaurant within walking distance and taxis to Malsaforn or Victoria could mount up every evening. (we did order 15 pizzas delivered from Victoria one evening, delicious). There is a reasonable supermarket within 400 metres.
Facilities were good, clean. Swimming pool was popular with the kids and elders!.
The two and three room apartments were spacious. Staff were helpful. Some pepople got access to Wi Fi near the office area.

Room Tip: Most appartments face onto central pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We spent a very relaxed two weeks in August-2010 at Villagg tal-Fanal.
Our overall review: our stay at Villagg tal-Fanal made our holiday perfect!

Gozitans are very welcoming and friendly. Gozo is an amazing place and you soon become accustomed to its relaxed pace of life. Villagg tal-Fanal provides the perfect stay if you want flexibility of a self-catering holiday.

We stayed in a very clean two-bedroom maisonette which was spacious with large kitchen diner, large lounge, family shower room and an on-suite bathroom. Outside, the private courtyard had patio chairs and table where our family could relax, sit and eat or simply listen to the distant church bells and chirping grasshoppers!
Staff were courteous and very helpful and during our stay all bed linen and towels were changed and accommodation cleaned, all with a friendly smile.
The complex has 26 apartments or maisonettes centred around a pool with sun loungers and shades. The Villagg was always clean and well maintained as was the pool clean and maintained with chlorinated water.

Gozo is a must visit destination. The Azure window has to be seen, especially in the evening for the spectacular sunset. There are many beautiful churches, Ta’ Pini and Victoria’s Citadel Catherdral to name a few. Ramla bay inspires with perfect sand and San Blas has its charm but prepare for the half mile descent to San Blas beach!
Car hire is a must if you want to go places on the island, although everywhere can be reached within a 15 minute journey!

Visit Gozo and stay at Villagg tal-Fanal - you’ll be pleased you did!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotpotatoes247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We spent ten days at the Villagg tal-Fanal and found it an excellent place to stay with our young boys. The location is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. The accommodation is set around a central pool area that has plenty of shade and sun loungers and well maintained gardens. The accommodation is spacious with most having access to a private balcony/courtyard. The accommodation is reasonably well furnished, but could benefit from a few more kitchen utensils! Cleaning is carried out once a week, clean towels provided etc. You will need a car to explore the island and free underground parking is available at the complex. A small local supermarket provides all your basic requirements. Take a chance you will not be dissapointed. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pugwashmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghasri
4.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,200 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
721 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gozo Village Holidays
Gozo Village Holidays
#3 of 4 in Victoria
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.5 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villagg Tal-Fanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagg Tal-Fanal

Property: Villagg Tal-Fanal
Address: Lighthouse Street, Ghasri, Island of Gozo, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Ghasri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ghasri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villagg Tal-Fanal 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villagg Tal-Fanal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagg Tal-Fanal Hotel Ghasri
Villagg Tal-Fanal Island Of Gozo/Ghasri, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing