We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We absolutely love this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pointe d'Esny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Oiseau du Paradis
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed in L'Oiseau du Paradis for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and returned there again at the end (first time we ever did that on our many travels!).

The most attractive thing about this b&b is probably its garden. It is small, but simply beautiful, lush and colorful, with lots of birds. There is a small swimming pool and several sofas and deck chairs for perfect lazy evenings.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and have a very homey feel. First time we stayed in a room with balcony. This room was spacious and the balcony is great. The second time we got a room without a balcony, which was also a bit small. The price of both is the same, so ask what you are getting. Both rooms have rain showers - very nice touch :)

The breakfast is simply amazing, there is a muesli bar, large selection of fruits, jams, cheese, toasts... And the warm soft croissants are brought to the tables.

The lady in charge, Stephanie, is a great friendly person, prepared to help in any way. We had some special requests prior to our arrival (needed some hand signed confirmations to obtain the visa...) and she was extremely helpful and sent us all we needed.

The b&b is located at Pointe d'Esny, which is a stretch of beautiful beach with houses dotted along the road. The beach is just across the street. The Blue Bay public beach is 3 minutes away on foot. Even though the Blue Bay public beach is not very appealing (it is pretty crowded), you have a great opportunity to mingle with locals there and to see and hear some sega music and dance.

The Blue Bay marine park offers AMAZING snorkling oportunities. To approach it you have to either arrange a boat, or walk to the end of the Blue Bay beach and swim a bit more (no worries, the fast boats are forbidden to approach the park and the slow boats are careful). You will see tons of beautiful tropic fish swimming between the corals, very unique experience.

Last but not least, across the street of L'Oiseau du Paradis there is a small restaurant called Chez Marryse. We loved the food and the atmosphere there. It is very homey and the food is perfect. There is also a nice bar/restaurant Blue Bamboo which also serves great international food (pizzas are terrific).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vedrana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 60 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed here two nights during our tour of the island. We loved the common areas with the flowers ,landscaping and birds. The rooms where small but comfortable and there was free wifi near the reception area . We used the owners beach front across the street and also the public beach at Blue Bay. We ate at the little creole table d'hote Chez Maryse across the street one night which was good; however we actually preferred the authentic street food sold by the little carts in the parking lot around Blue Bay public beach! Overall it was a great stay and the area is wonderfully low key and relaxing compared to the tourist meccas in the north of the island.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

If you want to sleep at night , consider to take a room with bath and not one of the rooms with a common bath. Breakfast is very nice as well as the reception.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007penelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

What a lovely relaxing place to stay - very laid back with very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms small but adequate and very clean, recommend room with a balcony which was surrounded by tropical birds. Although not directly on beach you are able to get to beach via private access opposite hotel - beach is absolutely stunning - lovely walk north to Point d'Esny although need to wade/paddle a couple of sections!! Just a few minutes walk south to Blue Bay and marine reserve - go early [0900] before others arrive and you will get your own person boat and guide and have the whole reef to yourself! In the evening we generally ate at the Blue Bamboo - just a 5 minute walk away - great food and the only place we stayed in Mauritius with loads of veggie options. Excellent bus service to Mahebourg - just flag down bus outside hotel - huge market on a Monday and interesting museum. Really had a great stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fysh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pierro97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerKos2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe d'Esny
0.4 mi away
Blue Beryl Guest House
Blue Beryl Guest House
#1 of 5 in Pointe d'Esny
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes
2.5 mi away
ONS Motel & Guest House Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astroea Beach Hotel
Astroea Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Mahebourg
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Explora Prestige
Explora Prestige
#6 of 7 in Blue Bay
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Oiseau du Paradis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oiseau du Paradis

Address: Coastal Road, Coastal Road, Pointe d'Esny, Mauritius 50815
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Pointe d'Esny
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pointe d'Esny
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested right in the middle of a tropical garden, "l'Oiseau du Paradis" is a pleasant and relaxing place to be. It is located next to the Blue Bay sea park, the most preserved ecosystem in Mauritius. The residence comprises 8 guest rooms, one bungalow, and one villa directly on the beach. People staying at "l'Oiseau du Paradis" will benefit from direct access to the wonderful beach of Pointe d'Esny, as well as the endless beach of Blue Bay which is protected from winds. The area will be perfect for peaceful holidays with the sound of the waves crushing on the reef. Our team will be delighted to welcome you into this pleasant place. You will be able to discover the Mauritian way of life... The guest house has been furnished to create a peaceful and restful environment. The guest rooms reflect the colours of the "Bird-of-paradise-flower" and will provide a tremendous setting for your tropical holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
L'Oiseau Du Paradis Mauritius/Pointe D'Esny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing