We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4-night stay at Chant au Vent in June. It sits steps away from the lagoon and it was lovely to hear the faint sound of waves at night. The staff were very friendly and breakfast consisting of warm bread and home-made jam was something to look forward to. As we just spent a week hiking all over Reunion Island this was a right place to relax and soak up the sun before returning home.

It's location, however, is not ideal for long stays as there isnt much to do around. The nearest supermarket is about an hour walk away, not entirely unpleasant if strolling along the beautiful beach. But eventually the beach becomes blocked by a private residence and one must continue to walk along the road. Busses are inconsistent but cheap and almost serve as an attraction on their own- old Tatas rattling and beeping on through the town, stopping frequently at imaginary bus stops - surprisingly fun!

As we wanted to go further on our own, we asked the staff if we could rent bicycles and were promised they will be ready when we arrived, only to find out later that it couldn't be arranged. So after snorkeling in the lagoon from a glass boat (a must!) we ran out of entertainment options and rented a car for a day, which the staff helped to arrange, and drove to the other side of the island.

Bottom line, if you only have a day or two in Mauritius, this is the place to stay as its close to the airport and the views will take your breath away.

Room Tip: Ground floor studios facing the ocean have direct beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 255 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

I spent a night at Chantauvent and it was perfect - excellent snorkeling, a nice beach to wander, nice people, attractive clean room, sea breeze, a short walk to an outdoor restaurant. I highly recommend this guest house....

Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank rich p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

we went all the way from hong kong to mauritius, as we expected we are the only asian in the guesthouse for the whole trip. But to be specific, the staff and the owner were so friendly and helpful in all related areas regarding to our late check out time, excursion, transports... its a wonderful journey i should say.

Moreover, just a little note that the location is very close to the beach if you like to enjoy that much, just one thing need to consider is you may need to drive or taxi out for some supplyment stock/ snack etc for the trip/day.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We spent a couple of days at Chantauvent, changing rooms regularly since we hadn't booked in advance.
The service was very good & friendly, there's a perfect location for snorkeling right outside the garden.
There was no air conditioning in most rooms facing the sea, but the breeze eased any problems arising from that. There are two nice restaurants in close distance.
Since we drove around the whole island at a later time, we're fully convinced that there's hardly any nicer spot than the area around Blue Bay, especially if you don't like the big resorts.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

With a name like chantauvent one would expect to hear nature's sounds. This is the case, the guest house is right on the beach so benefits from the breeze of the coast which make otherwise hot days very pleasant. Also, the reef is quite close in to the shore so one constantly hears the constant rumble of the waves breaking on the reef - also a nice sound although loud!
For those senstive of hearing though, be warned that the guest house is right under the flight path, very close to the airport. So you get intimate views of plane's underbellies and the deafening roar that goes with.
Otherwise, the guest house was ok - friendly, well located, small.
I found our room a bit lacking cleanliness-wise (the cushions, curtains and bedspread were a bit whiffy and could have done with a good clea).
And for what it was, the price was a tad too high.
But otherwise, it's an ok place and convenient for the airport, good swimming and the town of Mahebourg.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

the rooms are big and clean, very nice people, amazing beach 2 min, the best place near blue bay. just don't order the car from them beacuse they are taking extra charge.

Room Tip: suites number 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hagarbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This was not the first nor the last time i have been to Chantauvent and each time it enchants me further. This delightful, tranquil and yet bubbly guesthouse has a charm exclusive to its own. Apart from having its own beach, it stands metres away from a public one, where both marathons can attempt the deep and children are safe in the shallows and further along is one of the best snorkling spot on the island, a protected marine park. Near by, the village of Mahebourg is one of the most vibrant and very typical of the local community; where we love to browse. The Staff, with their friendly and warm approach is surely an added plus. This is definitely our stop over when we visit Mauritius.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owl2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe d'Esny
0 mi away
Blue Beryl Guest House
Blue Beryl Guest House
#1 of 5 in Pointe d'Esny
88 reviews
31.2 mi away
Mon Choisy Beach R.
Mon Choisy Beach R.
#1 of 8 in Mont Choisy
527 reviews
30.2 mi away
Voile Bleue
Voile Bleue
#1 of 3 in Pointe Aux Piments
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.1 mi away
Bleu De Toi Boutique Guest House
29.1 mi away
La Margarita
La Margarita
#2 of 3 in Pointe Aux Piments
72 reviews
32.6 mi away
Toparadis
Toparadis
#4 of 10 in Pereybere
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes

Address: Coastal Road, Pointe d'Esny, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Pointe d'Esny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pointe d'Esny
Price Range: $59 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a breathtaking lagoon, Chantauvent is a charming guesthouse situated in Pointe d'Esny, near Mahebourg, on the South East coast of Mauritius. Mahebourg is a colorful and lively town, steeped in Mauritian history. Fisherman and shopkeepers ply the streets, adding to the rich and dynamic atmosphere of this coastal treasure.Dark volcanic rock makes for a stark contrast to the bright white coral sand on the long and open beaches of Pointe d'Esny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d`Hotes Hotel Pointe d`Esny
Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison D'Hotes Mauritius/Pointe D'Esny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing