We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management of Hotel & Bars should be sacked!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Tarhan Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Didim
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a beautiful resort but managed appallingly! Booked this hotel as had stayed at sister hotel last Oct, Majesty Club Tuana which was Fantastic hotel! Sadly Majesty Club Tarhan was a big disappointment !! On arrival not shown to room/no help with luggage! despite staff hanging around doing nothing.Food was always cold,except for fish & Kofta (mince meat burgers) which were served every lunch & evening meal for whole two weeks,& the omelettes for breakfast which was cooked in front of you.Don,t get me wrong I.have been to Turkey many times before, and do like their food, but cold recycled repetitive food!,Even got cold chips left over from poolside snacks served up in evening meal called vegetable casserole! Bar always running out of spirits & beer! Witnessed bar staff & manager of bar openly watering down spirits!Think they must all be on fiddle! Would never book this hotel ever again!!

Room Tip: Don,t even go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

we have just returned from this hotel,the grounds were beautiful.beach a few steps from the two pools,sandy beach+ shallow water.My 15yr old loved the pool slides Tennis courts good(they hire kit)We loved the food,but dont expect bacon +sausage or roast sunday dinner this is Turkey.masses of salads fresh bread,grilled fish and meat,there were the dreaded chips if thats what your into.Stick to local efes beer ,local wine or the wonderful Raki(aniseed drink) the rest were watered down.we found most of the staff very friendly, please and thankyou in turkish goes a long way,but a smile usually works.if you like strolling to different restaurants or shops,this place is not for you.there are lovely coastal walks and small grocery shops near by.be adventurous get on the local dolmus(minibus) and explore or soak up the sun in a great location.dont miss the temple of apollo at didim (5 mins by bus) if your into culture.Nice cafes and nick/nack/carpet shops there,also. dont bother bringing pool towels they are provided from reception twice a day if needed.

Room Tip: we were in the 470's short walk from main lobby but no noise nr tennis courts/crazy golf and cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

we went in october, i was concerned when i read reviews but we had a great time,, staff were lovely esprcially SERVAS, WHO WORKED IN BAR Serkan in resturant and ezoo. we have two girls 12 and 13 they had a great time, rooms were cleaned every day, the food can be repetative but there is plenty of it and if you dont like some food you can always choose something else. if you want a holiday to chill out and relax this is ideal. you can get to centre of resort by dolmus only 2 lire. we would definatly go again

Room Tip: we were 206 by the lobby, but could be noisy if place was busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Was told it is 5 star by a1travel, hotel brochure says 4 star, actually is 2.5 star. rooms are too small, entertainment rubbish, everyone had bad stomach aches after eating there so had to pay for meals elswhere. they started closing resort while we were still there!! Cats were pooing in plant pots in lobby. cats were pissing on sofas. management was rude and lied to customers when they complained. also threatened to evict people if they carried on complaining. no reps available for help. sauna temperature was turned down to save money!! Pool was never cleaned. full of flies. Food was left overs reheated every day. The lunch was exactly the same as evening meals. no ice cream. they were constantly running out of food and drink.
Found out that the seaside was shark infested after the kids did water sports!!
Avoid this resort at all costs

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank subvirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Good
The Hotel grounds are lovely, the rooms are dated but are kept clean by the housekeeping staff. Samantha the Rep was excellent, I really do not know how she did her job with this disgusting hotel, she deserves a medal!
The Bad
The common areas are not kept clean, The bar areas were never wiped down and you had to check cups left for self serve coffee as they were generally very dirty and quite often cracked, this also applied to the plates and cutlery in the dining room
The Ugly
Its difficult to know were to start and how much to include in this review. I have been going abroad for 38 years and I have never had to complain about a hotel before or be so desperate to leave. The Staff were so rude and uninterested in serving you unless you were very young and female. The hotel was 80% Russian and they would shout over your head to get a Vodka and would be served straight away, we ended up having to shout at the barmen so we eventually got a drink, when we got the drink e.g. Gin and Tonic it was so watered down it was like straight tonic. The manager is denying this and saying they have security on the bottles but we ordered a straight gin and it tasted like water that had a drip of gin in it, we also saw the bar staff stashing spirits away and saying they had run out! To top that the bar staff were too lazy to wash your glass and we saw them on numerous occasions pouring old drinks out of a glass and then filling it up again without washing it, one guest ordered a coke and when she drank it the glass had Raki in it as it had not been washed, this could have been given to a child.One day a barman got annoyed and threw 3 glasses at the wall in the bar, glass everywhere and then he carried on ! One Russian was drunk at 12.30 round the childrens pool and because he was told by a father to behave he forcibly kicked the sunbed that had his baby sleeping on, unbelievable, the bar staff just stood and watched it took a barmaid to try to get between them. I could tell you loads more but I will move on to the food.
The food was disgusting and we generally eat anything, but after a few days it was stomach churning and did not go into breakfast and lunch but tried to find something for our dinner.The BBQ was cooked in the dark and on two occasions chicken was completely raw inside and blood on the bone, they would cook kebabs about 90mins in advance and stack them up for dinner so they would be cold and tough. All the meals were cooked in advance left to go cold and then put in warm water baths so that all the bacteria could accumulate, many people had very bad stomachs. At one point we lived on cold soup and bread for 3 days then we were so hungry we caught a bus into town and had a decent meal it was heaven. The manager has tried to say they have inspections but I can assure you this food is the pits.
The male Customer liaison was the rudest manager, you would tell him your complaints and he would be looking out of the window or just looking round his office he could not give a dam, one day we were complaining about the bad staff attitude and he shouted to his friend out the window and then started a conversation with him! This holiday was a nightmare for 9 days and it was only through Samantha moving us 5 days before the end to the wonderful Venosa that we did not get a plane home
DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL THE MANAGER WILL SAY THAT HE TAKES EVERY COMPLAINT SERIOUSLY BUT WE ALL COMPLAINED AND NOTHING CHANGED, EVEN WHEN ALL THE BRITS TOLD THEM WHAT WAS GOING ON.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pauline-Burnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a fantastic time, a holiday is what you make it. We travelled in October 2012 and it was so hot! After reading such awful reviews, we were really worried about this hotel but needn't have been. We really liked the fact there was bottled watter in fridges around the hotel. It is a vast, beautiful complex so the bottled water was vital for us! Food was lovely and never eat chips so don't know about cold chips/cold food as if we wanted hot food there was a good selection of buffet Turkish food and if we wanted saladv/egs of course it would be cold?! Most of the hotels we have been in have all been the same!

Pools and beach were clean and lovely, which is what we went for so no worries there. We really liked the sea view gym! After a hearty lunch, was nice to go and have a light workout whilst taking in the sea air.

Room was very nice, definitely not 5 star but not yucky either. First time I am able to step into the shower with no flip flops! It was also the most quiet room we have ever had!

Our only worry is that there was no working phone in our room. We were in numbers 500's with a sea view so quite a way from reception and if there had been an emergency then that would have been quite terrible. We did inform Reception but it was not fixed.

Also the minibar was non-existent, which for a billed 5 star, this is not acceptable.

So, management/Mr Manager, please take note: some of us can speak fluent/a bit of turkish...so you really need to sort it out for next year 2013 especially if you are expecting an influx of all nationalities in the years to come. Cok tesekkur ederim.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincykib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efgan D, Genel Müdür at Club Tarhan Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Katie,

Thank you for being our valued guest and taking the time to share your input!

I'm so delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and you will come to visit us again. This season you will see some good changes at the Buffet and Kitchen area. I will update the pictures on tripadvisor, when all will be done.

See you soon and Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As many of the previous reviews have said, we booked this as a last minute break and then spent the last month panicking about all of the bad reviews the hotel had received. Thankfully we had a lovely time but I can see how bad it could have been if we had gone earlier in the summer when the hotel was busy. For breakfast there was one waiter cooking omlettes fresh and we would have a queue of two or three people but I can imagine this would have been a nightmare when the hotel was full.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but this suited us with a 2 year old as we had no intention of partying the night away. The pools are great and the beach was lovely and everywhere was very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet and chilled out time, especially if you have younger children but I would avoid this hotel in the peak summer months.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donnapink28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Didim hotels
5.5 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#3 of 30 in Altinkum
482 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
5.6 mi away
D-Marin Didim Marina Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Venosa Beach Resort & Spa
11.5 mi away
Aurum Exclusive Club
5.8 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tarhan Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tarhan Beach Hotel

Address: Mersindere Mevki Club Tarhan Tatil Koyu Didim Merkez, Didim 09270, Turkey (Formerly Majesty Club Tarhan Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Didim
#9 Spa Hotel in Didim
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Didim
#9 Luxury Hotel in Didim
Price Range: $59 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Tarhan Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea side holiday village with its own beach, suitable for families with children and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Tarhan Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarhan Didim Holiday Village Hotel Didim
Tarhan Hotel Didim
Club Tarhan Didim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing