We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Panormos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panormos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Didim
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks.
We had booked 2 rooms, one for four people and the other for two as I'd gone with my brother and nephew but was given two rooms of three and they wouldn't change us to another room so my son had to sleep in with my brother and nephew.
As other reviews say it is tired and old fashioned but clean.
Some of the staff were friendly but the two girls behind reception were awful and nasty. They are very strict on not taking food into rooms. They took food off you but gave it back if you asked.
The women made my 14 year old daughter go out of the hotel grounds to eat a bag of crisps that they didn't sell in the hotel, she's a fussy eater and didn't like what they sold. As we were buying ice cream and drinks from the bar I found this very petty as I've stayed in turkey before and staff usually turn a blind eye to the odd bit of food being taken into rooms as long as your buying from them too. I'd describe the staff as friendlyish but not fun.
We didn't eat much in the hotel because of their pettiness but breakfast was good and the odd meal we did have was very nice. Bar prices were a bit on the pricey side so people go next door to the supermarket to buy water and ice creams at less than half the price of the hotel.
We were on the 4th floor and didn't have towels changed for the first 4 days but after making a complaint they were changed every other day. People who were staying on lower floors said they had theirs changed everyday so maybe the cleaners ran out of time.
The owners of the hotel were constantly watching staff and you could feel the tension.
The pool seemed clean enough but my son ended up with an ear infection which the doctor said was probably caused from bacteria from the pool. Women were allowed to bathe topless by the pool which is ok but not in a family hotel.
The hotel is located about a mile from the beach but is quite a pleasant walk with lots of bars and shops on the way. The bus stop is outside the hotel and the most it costs is 2 lira each to go anywhere.
I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    56
    33
    8
    15
See reviews for
55
63
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Returned today after 1 week at the Panormos Hotel. The Hotel is very tired and old fashioned. The staff are really helpful, polite and friendly. They even left an envelope in the room for the tip. There are no fridges in the rooms. The temperature reached 46 degrees on three days and we needed cold drinks. Only water bought from the bar is allowed in the rooms, anything else is taken from you. Twice I had to have the bedding changed because it was ripped and had holes in it.The shower was a rubber hand held one and a lot of the tiles were cracked or broken. Water didn't drain out of the broken outlet and pooled in the corner. The Hotel is in a good position on a main road and the Dolmus (local bus) stops nearby. I recommend using the Dolmus which are very cheap and go just about everywhere.
Very clean pool and plenty of sunbeds, very few umbrellas though. The food is fresh and plentiful and well cooked.
Very cheap accommodation but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berylh852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester city centre
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just got back from staying at this hotel. only there 6 days on property buying trip. The hotel is in a great possition and ideal for local bars and restauraunts and local bus which stops right outside. The hotel is basic but very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Aircon in room was an extra £4 a day but well worth the extra taking into account the very cheap cost of staying there. Definatley would stay there again and infact will book again this Oct for a few nights when we are back to furnish the apt we bought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Me and my partner went on holiday recently to Turkey... we had read some good and bad reviews... I have to say that all in all the holidsy was OK..

The hotel is a little tired and there could be some simple things done to make the place far more pleasant such as tidying paint-work BUT when you pay lemonade prices you cant expect champagne treatment!

You are not allowed any food or drink (apart from water) in the rooms which is a total pain if you fancy a quiet drink on the balcony, but I found that most people including myself would just sneak food and drink in in our beach bags- not the ideal thing to have to do on a holiday but rules are rules.

The rooms were basic, but were cleaned regularly and clean towels every other day, the staff were pleasant..

The hotel was a fair walk from the beach... a stroll would take about 10-15 minutes, but its a nice walk, there is a slight incline on the walk back but not steep like an other review suggests.

the breakfast is included which is repetative but nice..... the other food they sell is quite nice!

The pool is very clean and never a shortage of sunbeds :-)

All in all for the price we paid it was very reasonable and good value for money

I would go back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have been going to the Panormos Hotel in Didim for years and I would honestly say it is the friendliest and best hotel in Altinkum. The owners Ferda and Tulay make you feel so special and welcome, the staff are good the food is excellent and the pool is the best in Altinkum. Book the Panormos you won't be disappointed.

Maureen and John, Dundee

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISTANBUL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

very reasonable rate, great value very friendly owners and staff. rooms are decorated basic but we are quite satisfied. the pool is big and very clean. this was my 6th time and i will come back..

Room Tip: rooms on the notheast are much quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank BRIDGEOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Arrived late. No problem - staff made sure we had a drink and they took our cases to our very nice, comfortable room. Fourteen days of relaxation with staff attentive at all times. One of the best hotel pools with full dining and drinking facilities - all at reasonable prices. This is the place to stop for a reasonably priced holiday - and within distances of all local attractions. Shame about the state of Altinkum's seafront but it will be finished eventually. Places to dine - The Hotel itself, Moby Dick's for that extra special fish & chips and Cafe More. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms have been completely renovated. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Didim hotels
1.5 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#2 of 30 in Altinkum
469 reviews
0.9 mi away
Altinersan Hotel
Altinersan Hotel
#7 of 30 in Altinkum
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mutlu Apartments
Mutlu Apartments
#9 of 30 in Altinkum
360 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mood Beach Hotel
Mood Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Altinkum
68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dolunay Apart Otel
Dolunay Apart Otel
#5 of 30 in Altinkum
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panormos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panormos Hotel

Property: Panormos Hotel
Address: Ataturk Bulv. No 126, Didim 09270, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Didim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panormos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Panormos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing